Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise yet thorough
Just been invited to project manage an IT team using SCRUM. This book clearly outlines its merits and methodolgy. I'm now very confident and excited to lead the team.
Published on 12 July 2012 by Mr. Geoffrey Newman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet.
I needed a quick overview. It does what it says on the tin. Nice job. Definitely worth it a good read.
Published 8 months ago by Alexandra Jane Pearson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise yet thorough, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just been invited to project manage an IT team using SCRUM. This book clearly outlines its merits and methodolgy. I'm now very confident and excited to lead the team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Small easy to read book with excellent descriptions of Scrum.
I bought it to research Agile and Scrum before I went on a course and it has helped immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for newbies and many seasoned developers, 2 July 2013
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrum: a Breathtakingly Brief and Agile Introduction (Paperback)
I've been working as a Team Member on a SCRUM team for 15+ months. Whilst I've read various books about Agile practices, covering different aspects of the development lifecycle (estimating, testing etc), I've not read one as concise as this before. Somebody I know who keeps hearing me talk about Agile bought this book to get an overview. I borrowed it and read it in half an hour (yes, it really is that short). Did I learn anything from it? No. However, it did remind me of a couple of aspects of SCRUM that the team I am part of doesn't practice. It also reminded me to address the definition of Done again, which is vital to things working smoothly. So, this tiny little book was useful for me as a seasoned software engineer (30+ years) who has been working with SCRUM for the last 15+ months. For anybody new to SCRUM and Agile, I suspect this book will also be useful, but mainly to trigger asking pertinent questions. This book is not enough on its own to suddenly convert a "waterfall" style team to SCRUM/Agile. It is, however, useful, accessible and short!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A succinct introduction, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never heard of Agile or Scrum before, but after reading this quick and informative overview, it's an approach I've been using intuitively in my own software development. It makes sense. No need for complicated documents and dependency diagrams as in SSADM, yet rigorous enough to get things done and stick to the requirements (even if they tend to change during development as they inevitably do).

There's no discussion about the disadvantages and inherent pitfalls, but that's not necessary in this short treatise. I imagine it's something one would have to look into when working with Scrum in practice. Even for a large-scale project, it would probably be useful to break it down into smaller projects and use Scrum as a way to manage the development cycle.

What seems to be the most salient feature of Scrum is that developers work in small teams of around 7-9 people, with regular but highly focused planning and status meetings for each iteration of the product life cycle; and this keeps the communication tight and clear between members. And the client gets to see the progress milestones more frequently also, with real working results at each iteration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Does what is written on the cover., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've suspected for a long time that agile development is the right way to work in the short term. This little book explains why, and introduced me to the roles. I now know what a scrum master does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed a quick overview. It does what it says on the tin. Nice job. Definitely worth it a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Introduction, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty okay for a short introduction to the concept of the Scrum methodology. Quite short, but it gives a decent outline of the major points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short, but Useful, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Niall (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a basic introduction or reference, this is good. If you want any detail I'd recommend something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and to the point, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect book for me as a reminder of key Agile meetings and concepts. Handy guide to have to hand. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very worthwhile - sure, you can find this information on the internet, but this presents it in a nice, quick to read format. I actually read this on the way to my Certified Scrum Master course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrum: a Breathtakingly Brief and Agile Introduction
Scrum: a Breathtakingly Brief and Agile Introduction by Hillary Louise Johnson (Paperback - 3 April 2012)
5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews