Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm never buying powerbars again ...
Really straightforward recipes that are designed either to be made in a hotel / while touring, with minimal kit, and / or made to be wrapped and carried while cycling. Much preferable to your average gloopy / sticky / expensive / branded energy bar!
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not one for UK users
Good book but spoiled by the daft US measurements system used in all the recipes, a cup of flour or rice is fine but cups of butter or onions is silly! It would have been easy to provide conversions, there is a conversion chart in the back but UK users won't find it much help as it's Imperial and misses cup to fluid conversions. Same goes for cooking temps in the oven,...
Published 3 months ago by Iantomo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm never buying powerbars again ..., 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
Really straightforward recipes that are designed either to be made in a hotel / while touring, with minimal kit, and / or made to be wrapped and carried while cycling. Much preferable to your average gloopy / sticky / expensive / branded energy bar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great endurance athletes who like to cook., 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
When I found out that the authors of "The Feed Zone Cookbook" had released another book focusing on portable food I didn't think twice about it and ordered it immediately. There is a great variety of portable foods that work great for cycling (and any other endurance sport), from rice cakes to pies or muffins that are easy to make and taste better and are much more easily digested than pre-packaged sports bars (and cheaper too). It is also easy to adapt the recepies to personal preferences, and they also included a lot of recepies and suggestions for gluten and lactose intolerants.

I am also pleased with the hard cover and the quality of the printing and pictures in the book, especially considering it is reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
The recipes in this book are so good that lots of mums are asking for them! The book is well laid out, the photos are clear and the recipes are so easy to follow.

One of my most recommended books for parents or coaches trying to make sure their team or kids eat right during tournaments or cycle rides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
A really excellent book, with a very good initial section on calories and your body's limits; followed by a selection of fantastic mini food recipes. Loved the layout and structure and as you would expect very good nutritional guide for all the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feed Zone Portables, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
I bought this book at the request of my son who is a very cyclist and member of a club who regularly take on the challenge our high mountain passes in the Lake District as well as long distance rides. Nutrition is such a big part of creating stamina and recovery times. These recipes provide exactly what is needed as well as being really tasty. A good book for any athlete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper food on the move., 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Mme Jennings (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
This book is just the ticket because, as a keen cyclist, I loath energy gels (like taking cough mixture) and energy bars are expensive. Also I never feel like I'm eating proper 'food'. I live in rural France and you can never rely on bakeries, cafes etc being open & 3 hours plus in the saddle can leave you feeling terrible when you can't replace the burned calories.

These little parcels of proper food are terrific, prepared in advance and stored in the fridge, you can make enough for several days training. They are all pretty simple, not huge lists of ingredients, some items are clearly American, but they are available online. I've made the Denver Rice Cakes on page 72 and I have to stop myself from scoffing the lot! Some recipes are made in a baking tray, then cut up and wrapped in foil, others use a muffin tin to create mini portions. All in all, one of the most useful books I've bought in ages.

There are many pages around the science of nutrition in sport and I can't say that I'll be absorbing all that info any time soon. but still, it's there if I want to train harder or progress in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing for the long distance runner in our family, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
A Christmas gift for our Son in Law he thinks this is helping already with his stamina on longer runs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
Good nutrition information. Interesting recipes for endurance athletes providing a real alternative to gels.Nicely photographed. A few more savoury vegetarian recipes would have been good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of healthy snack fuel, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes (Hardcover)
Some great ideas for healthy snacks and lots of gluten free suggestions. Full amounts can be a lot for 1 person not doing an ironman to get through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy recipes, delicious results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feed Zone Portables: A Cookbook of On-The-Go Food for Athletes
£17.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews