Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have Book for digital photographers
Digital photographers who want to progress beyond the scope of simple computer software for digital editing to that of highly advanced software should read this book; it describes simply and clearly in "tutorial-style" how to use the best known open source, multi-platform digital editing programme "GIMP". Many sample photographs are provided on the...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. James Slinger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have liked a bit more in easy to follow instructions
As a beginner I found it a bit confusing. Would have liked a bit more in easy to follow instructions.
Maybe it will come into its own when I know more but it is now I need clear simple instructions.
Published 4 months ago by Clicker Trainer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have Book for digital photographers, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
Digital photographers who want to progress beyond the scope of simple computer software for digital editing to that of highly advanced software should read this book; it describes simply and clearly in "tutorial-style" how to use the best known open source, multi-platform digital editing programme "GIMP". Many sample photographs are provided on the attached DVD for use in following the tutorials. The disk also contains the GIMP software and various extensions to it. Be aware, however, that as with all advanced software there is a "steep learning curve" so even with this book it will take a determined effort to become modestly proficient. Even so, I am sure that the book will be worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. When I first started reading it I thought it was a bit basic but the more I read the more detailed it becomes and I've learnt all manner of small but incredibly useful tips. Best buy of my year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Publication, 7 April 2014
By 
Mr. P. K. Bonnick (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
A must for Gimp users, I wont pretend it is easy to get my head around it, but keep at it, it will all become clear in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent alternative to Adobe, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
Having read this informative book about Gimp it explains in detail how this software works and it is a powerful programme indeed. Well worth the twenty pounds that I paid for the book (it includes a cd of the free software).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimp 2.8, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
Well written and informative with good clear detailed instructions.
Recommended for anyone wishing to use something else other than photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gimp 2.8, 23 May 2014
By 
Barry Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
It'll be a long time before I get to the end of this book [if ever] but so far it's been informative and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
Great stuff. Will provide what I need without the expense of Photoshop. Clear lucid explanations that fulfill my requirements. Cannot praise this highly enough. It couldn't be better for someone who isn't too good at having to cope with complex instructions. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Would have liked a bit more in easy to follow instructions, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
As a beginner I found it a bit confusing. Would have liked a bit more in easy to follow instructions.
Maybe it will come into its own when I know more but it is now I need clear simple instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book explaining how to do just about anything with a photograph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software (Paperback)
Many thanks, the book certainly lives up to my expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GIMP 2.8 for Photographers: Image Editing with Open Source Software
£23.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews