Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Art and Story !
Beautiful drawings, great Color when needed, An EXPRESSIONIST WORK OF ART rather than a "Comic" book !
Great buy and a collector item no doubt ! Well packed, well received.
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by Boudewyn Van Dyck

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unholy Mess!
This is a very disappointing book which unfortunately does exactly what it says on the tin. Frank Miller promised a piece of propaganda and that's what you get: a one dimensional blast at the forces of evil that dared attack the USA.

The story reads like a precocious eleven year olds response to 9/11. The heroic superhero leaps over buildings and lands guns...
Published on 23 Nov. 2011 by O. george


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unholy Mess!, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
This is a very disappointing book which unfortunately does exactly what it says on the tin. Frank Miller promised a piece of propaganda and that's what you get: a one dimensional blast at the forces of evil that dared attack the USA.

The story reads like a precocious eleven year olds response to 9/11. The heroic superhero leaps over buildings and lands guns blazing to shoot, torture and kill the faceless suicidal drones of Islam. His girl friend fights by him cooing at his bloodlust-`Lets get some killing done'-only disagreeing when he refuses to let her satisfy her own.

Miller's eye for a innovative panel lay out appears in flashes. But the overall design of the book is confused. Standard comic book pages seem to have been shoe horned into the 300 book format. The art has its moments though: there are some line portraits and figure drawings that recall David Stone Martin and some of the early Andy Warhol jazz LP covers.

Miller hates censorship but this stance seems to have extended over the years to include editing of any kind or even self evaluation of his drawings (apparently he believes, `There are no mistakes only instincts'). Which means there are several double page spreads some of which recall earlier Miller compositions others that are eligible? The pages are often painted with broad black brush marks that Miller must consider `expressionist' but just look like broad black brush marks. For some reason it is vital to the look of the book and the flow of the story that the cat burglar's shoes are bright red.

This is a long self indulgent work made worse by the bits that recall the best of Frank Miller's earlier works.

Damn! I paid for this when I could have bought Darwyn Cooke's `The Hunter'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SO - SO, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
as a fan of Mr Miller i find myself a little bit confused over this graphic novel. OK i know i'm a bit of a philistine but i much prefer the 'Sin City' series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holy Terror - Frank Miller, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
There are a lot of opinions about Holy Terror floating around, they generally fall under the: how dare he category of cometary, of course nearly all these come from sources that haven't examined the work. So what's it really like? Let's start by trying to describe my visceral reaction to what is an extremely visceral work. It's no exaggeration to say that it made me feel sick, truly sick, I didn't lose my breakfast or anything but it engendered a palpable nausea that lingered uncomfortably. That's a pretty astonishing achievement for any work I can say. Holly Terror is literally unlike any comic I've ever read and I wasn't prepared for it, superficially the notion of merging real world threats with the superhero genre has historical precedents, Captain America and Wonder Woman are examples that spring to mind. Holy Terror couldn't be more different from these predecessors, they were exercises in reassurance, cosy fantasies to send the kids to bed with dreams of the omnipotence granted through supernatural powers. There are no such assurances granted in Holy Terror. There's nothing super about The Fixer, the costumed protagonist, no invulnerability, no cute sidekicks to alleviate the drama, just The Cat Burglar both garbed in crumpled customs in a world bereft of figure hugging one piece suits, unfeasible stilettos and physiques enhanced beyond the abilities of any worldly pharmacist.

Miller's drawing style has always had more chiaroscuro than normal for the super hero genre of American comics. His work is sometimes reminiscent of the old Battle Picture Library in that way, although he's always demonstrated great spontaneity. In Holy Terror he's pushed back the boundaries of what can be achieved with such an approach much further than I can ever have imagined, both in the use of expansive blacks and the spontaneity with which it is executed. It is a truly astonishing piece of work and Miller conveys more than is comfortable through the strident vigour of the line work. It's executed almost entirely in black and white with some colour, reproduced in what look to be spot colour but at a much higher degree of fidelity than normal for such, so that every tiny speck and splatter is faithfully reproduced. The starkly contrasting black and white makes reading it slightly uncomfortable, there's no moderating of the blacks or easing of the whites which a gently yellowing pulp would give. What little colour there is, is applied with a calculated crudity that does nothing to ease your eyes' journey across the pages either.

The reaction to 9/11 in the US, aside from the war on terror, has been to seek a restoration in the faith of the good of human nature. This reaction has seen atrocities censored from public view, reality is too insane, too hard to comprehend or stomach. Miller deliberately references such atrocities both graphically and subliminally, not something most people read comics for and not something that has been reflected in other media. To appreciate the significance of Holy Terror you need to examine how 9/11 has been portrayed in other Media, things like the films World Trade Center or Flight 93. These examples epitomize the desperate need to see the nobility of humanity. How accurate the nobility and heroism they depict is questionable but irrelevant because they represent a flight from the horror and terror. With Holy Terror, Miller has refused to acquiesce to this need and it's something for which he deserves recognition, terror is on the last page.

Holy Terror is never going garner great approval from many quarters, it offends too many sensibilities, rubs too many noses in the soil and what's true of the hypocrites who've condemned it is also true of me to a degree. It was just too much for me take take in, In a way I loath it, it really appalls me and makes me shudder. It's the same loathing you experience the first time you read Wilfred Owen's Dulce et Decorum Est and I suspect it was borne from the same frustration and disgust that inspired Owen to condemn the hypocrisy that ennobled senseless slaughter. I'm not qualified to comment on the state of humanity but if there is nobility within man it lies within our ability to confront the the truth. So...

...is it any good then? Yes.

Do I want to read it again in a hurry? No.

Is it worth reading? Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How the mighty have fallen..., 19 Oct. 2011
By 
Tom Alaerts "avid book reader" (Antwerp, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
I'm reading Frank Miller's comics since his The Dark Knight Returns period and often loved what he did. For example, his 300 was a perfect macho story about what it takes to be a hero. And now... this. Very superficially also a story about heroism, but in essence nasty, simplistic and even borderline racist in a few places. The art? Yes, some pages are great, in that Sin City way. However many drawings come over as overly hasty and can be difficult to decipher, as if he didn't care himself to do a good job.
All in all a major disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure un-biased bigotry, 6 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
How to start this review from 20 pages into this book i started to feel nauseous the subject matter is just plain wrong and feels like someone with a deep hatred for muslims has written this book. The art work though exceptional sometimes could be a little clearer as in some places i couldnt work out what was going on.

I think on the whole Frank Miller should never have written this book it has its own propaganda that misses the mark and come's of as racism.

I think DC got lucky that this was'nt Batman because they wouldnt want to be associated with this subject matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bigoted, racist, juvenile, simplistic, incomprehensible, vacuous garbage., 6 Nov. 2011
By 
Imran Ali "Imran Ali" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
I first read Dark Knight as a 15-year old teenager in 1989, falling in love with Miller's writing and later being consumed by Give Me Liberty, Year One and 300.

But this? This is garbage. Bigoted, racist, juvenile, simplistic, incomprehensible, vacuous garbage.

As a Miller fan, I'm disappointed and embarrassed. As a Muslim, offended no this piece of bigotry passes for art.

But as a lover of humanity's diverse cultures, I am proud to see Miller fans of all walks of life roundly condemning his latest work. Reviews are almost unanimously negative, indicating to me that we've come a long way from simplistic, cartoon propaganda and live in a word where even a celebrated and established artist's bigotry is called out by his fans.

Want a subtle, nuanced and cultured graphic novel on Muslims - find yourself a copy of Marjane Satrapi's sublime Persepolis or Craig Thompson's Habibi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Holy Horror!, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Wright "Indicium" (Beccles Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
I bought this book just from looking at the Art work and because I love Millers work and everythiing he has done.
I Wish I hadn't. This is truly a awful. The art work has gone beyond the start beauty of Sim City to be a plain mess.
The story is just boring and obvious and quite frankly distasteful.
I will be more careful buying Millers work in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak story, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
P. Rö "Pale Rider" (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
The art i Holy Terror is blury black and white. The cat burglar woman are drawn in classic bondage poses with handcuffs and ropes. It's OK, but not as good as Sin City. The story is about two super heroes fighting jihadists. The Fixer and the Cat Burglar are killing them while the terrorists are blowing up the city with razor bombs. The text is pompous, but not in a cool way as in 300. I don't recommend Holy Terror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wholly Terrible, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
This is a truly dreadful book. It is very poorly drawn with a weak plot. Miller doesn't seem to understand that by distorting a horribly complicated world problem his book is no more than a right wing polemic.. As for his solution to terrorism, words fail me.
The dedication to Van Gogh is shall we say somewhat misguided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To fully appreciate this, imagine Holy Terror as another Sin City yarn., 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Terror (Hardcover)
What can I say that hasn't been said before. They've all complained about the messy art, rushed storyline and a failed attempt at propaganda. But despite all this, and me being a Muslim, I still find this work quite entertaining. There's no doubt that Frank Miller's ability has greatly diminished in these years but if you consider this story as another Sin City yarn then it'll be much easier to digest and appreciated. The artwork is messy at times yet jaw-dropping in others. I hope he really picks up his game for his next endeavour.

For the sake of Dark Knight Returns and his earlier works, lets forgive Frank miller for this and hope this comic serves as a wake up call

(And when you think about it, it ain't as bad as All-Star Batman)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Terror
Holy Terror by Frank Miller (Hardcover - 11 Oct. 2011)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews