Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series sadly comes to an end
As the fourth, and apparently final, book in Fantasy/Romance `The Edge' series, Steel's Edge takes a darker tone than the previous three books. The humour (and banter) that characterised the earlier stories is still there, but the main protagonists in Steel's Edge, Charlotte and Richard, are very damaged characters who are, essentially, on a quest to end a human...
Published 17 months ago by Caroline

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I really liked this book. it was a good one. Ilona and Richard Andrews did a great job! From reading the other edge books, especially the one from Kaldar's view, i would have never guessed that Richard was so graphic and awesome. I am not normally an action in a book girl but i loved the action scenes in this book, and there were lots of them. Both Richard and Charlotte...
Published 16 months ago by tinex8


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series sadly comes to an end, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
As the fourth, and apparently final, book in Fantasy/Romance `The Edge' series, Steel's Edge takes a darker tone than the previous three books. The humour (and banter) that characterised the earlier stories is still there, but the main protagonists in Steel's Edge, Charlotte and Richard, are very damaged characters who are, essentially, on a quest to end a human trafficking network. As Richard's brother, Kaldar, puts it (to Richard) `you finally managed to find a woman as tragically noble as yourself'.
Giving plot details would be spoiling the fun, because this is a very engrossing book, albeit one that is best read after having read the earlier Edge books. In short, the husband and wife team, Ilona Andrews, have pulled off yet another great book: I think that it would be fair to say that I devoured it, rather than read it (and was sufficiently motivated to post my first Amazon review). If you are unfamiliar with their work, then you might start with having a look at some of the free fiction available on their blog (e.g. [...]), but I can fully recommend both the Edge Series (on the Edge, Bayou Moon, Fate's Edge and now Steel's Edge), as well as the Kate Daniels urban fantasy series that they are best known for (Magic Bites, Magic Burns, Magic Strikes, Magic Bleeds and Magic Slays). UK publishing issues mean that it has been difficult to get ebook versions of their books, but that is now changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love anything ilona Andrews writes and this was no exception it brought a new dimension to the edge books and hooked me from the start .this is apparently the last book in the series which makes me sad as I would.like it to go on to tell the children's stories . I read it in 1 sitting then promptly read it again. Just in case I had missed anything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end!, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Philda (LONDON ,UK) - See all my reviews
I was sad to read the swan song of this wonderful series.I have loved it and the families who were born and raised in the Edge.this book is about life and the choices made and most of all living with things that once done have to be lived with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Dec 2012
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really liked this book. it was a good one. Ilona and Richard Andrews did a great job! From reading the other edge books, especially the one from Kaldar's view, i would have never guessed that Richard was so graphic and awesome. I am not normally an action in a book girl but i loved the action scenes in this book, and there were lots of them. Both Richard and Charlotte kicked ass!

In short, the book is about two characters, Richard, previously known from book 2 and 3 of the edge series, and Charlotte, a new, wonderful delight. Charlotte is a noble blueblood in the Weird, whom just having got out of a traumatizing relationship, wants to escape the pity and pressure o her society, so she decided to go to the edge (as you do). She is also the greatest healer of her generation, and a fantastic heroine in my view, Being a hero isn't jut about being able to kick ass, it's also about being compassionate, and she is definitely that. She then meets Eleanor in the edge, and that's generally how she meet Richard. Richard, is a fighter, a strong manly fighter with a sword(!). He wants to right the errors of his past by ending the horror slave trade being clever, he decided he needs to chop the head off the snake, in layman terms, kill the head of the whole organisation.

What i really enjoyed about this book, is how despite its violence (believe me, its pretty dark and violent), it interweaves a brilliant plot as well, Richard and Charlotte are incredible characters who are smart, they use both their magical powers and elegance, grace and the secrets rules of society to achieve their goals. Compared to the rest of the edge books, i would say this doesn't have as much romance, but it is bursting to the full with vibrant, colorful secondary characters, As expected, Jack and George are present, as well, as Sophie (Lark), Eleanor (previously mentioned), Rose, Duncan, Kaldar, and lots more! I personally love the boys (George and Jack), and despite Andrews saying this is the last of the series, hope to God they will decide to do one of them, or two or three. As many as they can deliver.

Overall, another great addition. It gets a three because much as i liked it, i don't love it, not like the first book of the series, and whilst its a nice neat way to end it, i wanted a bit more romance. Great book though, and definite recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoy reading the books by Ilona Andrews and Steel's Edge is a great read. The characters are engaging and the story is fast paced with a touch of humour. Definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A young patricia briggs in the making?, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Have number of her books,think possibly 3 or 4 different series and enjoyed them all,little more straight forward than P.B and probably easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A but of fun, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fun romantic series based around a family, but not nearly as well written or gripping as the Kate Daniels. Still quite addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book 4 of the Edge, 7 Dec 2013
By 
J. R. Bedford (Huddersfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This fourth book in the Edge series brings earlier stories together and resolves one of the story arcs begun in the second book, bringing back supporting characters in the first two books to be support characters in this one as well, in particular, Rose's Grandma and her brothers George and Jack from the first and third books, and Sophie from the second one, plus the antagonist, The Spider.

But the main characters are Richard, the Hunter, related to the Mar family of the second book, and Charlotte, a powerful healer elevated to Blue Blood status and brought up in The Weird.

To reacap: The Broken is our magic-free world, the Weird is where magic is an everyday occurrence, and the Edge is the buffer zone between the two where magic is reduced and life is hard.

Charlotte, having been dumped by her Blue Blood husband, gets away from the Weird and settles to life as a healer in the Edge (with Rose's grandmother from the first Edge book). He life is disrupted when Richard, fatally injured after a clash with a slaver gang, is dumped on her. Charlotte saves Richard, but the slavers wreak havoc and so she swears to put a stop to their activities. Teaming up with Richard she goes against all her training to use her healing magic to kill, knowing that she risks turning into an abomination - a plague-bringer and believing herself beyond redemption.

The slaver gangs are working for someone powerful and after striking against the heart the operation Richard and Charlotte are determined to go after the head, but corruption runs at the highest level and they have to return to Blue Blood society to carry out their plans.

There's a strong romantic element as Richard and Charlotte are drawn to each other despite their differences in background, but there's also magic, action and intrigue making this an excellent page-turner. Richard and Charlotte are sympathetic, if flawed, characters and it's good to see George and Jack now in command of their skills. They get to resolve their missing father problems. Hopefully they'll get a book of their own some day. Sophie, the damaged youngster from the second book, gets to finish her business with The Spider, the evil villain who killed her mother, though to be honest this section of the plot feels a bit like an optional extra as it's not foreshadowed in the early part of the book.

There's a price to pay for Charlotte using her magic to kill and this is a constant threat - finally mitigated, but not completely averted, by the power of love.

This can be read as a standalone, but I do recommend reading these Edge books in order for the full benefit of meeting some of the recurring characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, can't wait for more, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another adventure for Kate & Curran, I've read all the edge novels & feel with IIona descriptions I can visualise the people & places, she does not go overboard like some writers. The adventure is all about obtaining panacea which stops the teenagers from going loop and the team chosen to take up a the challenge from the European shape shifters who create the panacea, to protect a women who is expecting twins which are from two different fathers and who father wants her & the children dead, as the first born child will inherit an important mountain pass. With the prize being a large amount of Panacea the pack must take the challenge although they know it is a trap.There are so many twists in this story & where members of the pack are damaged or killed during a battle where a new species has arrived to destroy all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too romantic ending, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this and it makes a reasonably fitting end to this part of the Edge novels. However, I found the romance a bit overpowering and felt it was laid on too thick in comparison with the other novels in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d12600)

This product

Steel's Edge (Edge Novels)
Steel's Edge (Edge Novels) by Ilona Andrews (Mass Market Paperback - 27 Nov 2012)
4.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews