Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Nightside Novel, 16 Jan 2012
By 
J. C. Edwards (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bride Wore Black Leather (Nightside) (Hardcover)
Mr Green has given us another chapter in his popular Nightside series. Anyone who has read his previous books in this series will know exactly what to expect. Its got a few twists and turns but nothing out of the usual.
If your a fan, get it. If you have never read any of this series in the past you should probably try to read them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Nightside may be a spiritual cesspit, but it's our spiritual cesspit." (SPOILERS), 5 Jan 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bride Wore Black Leather (Nightside) (Hardcover)
John Taylor's personal life has completely changed... but the Nightside really hasn't. And Simon R. Green gives us a rather bittersweet farewell to the Nightside series in "The Bride Wore Black," the final installment of his bestselling urban fantasy series -- one last detective story, wrapped up in the creepy, surreal atmosphere of London's dark side.

John Taylor is now the Walker, Suzie is pregnant, and they're about to be married. His new life doesn't really allow him to be a private eye, so he asks Cathy to find him one last case before he retires from PI work. His last case: find an immortality elixir stolen from the Anonymous Gentleman. But while he's prowling around the Ball of Forever, the King of Skin is murdered with a magical weapon.

But the night isn't over. A self-righteous hippie god left over from the 1960s is trying to make the sun rise over the Nightside, and the Authorities are determined to stop it. With the help of Julien Advent, John must find the Sun King and somehow stop him -- but when the Sun King turns the entire Nightside against John Taylor, he finds that saving the world might just get him killed this time.

There's a bittersweet quality to "The Bride Wore Black Leather" -- not only is the series ending, but a good chunk of the plot is devoted to John leaving his old life behind. And as he winds down the series, Green brings back a lot of favorite characters (Dead Boy, Razor Eddie, Cathy, the Bride of Frankenstein, Alex, Julien Advent and even a familiar dead face) and homages everything from X-Men to J.R.R. Tolkien.

And Green takes us on one last tour of the Nightside, with all the bizarre people (the Very Righteous Sisters of the Holy Druids), dangerous powers and wild places (The H. P. Lovecraft Memorial Library) he can dream up. And he still dreams up plenty of fun, snappy dialogue ("I don't think I'll leave the coat on its own. I haven't fed it recently"), as well as Lovecraftian horrors that could give you nightmares.

But the story twists in a darker direction after the stop by the hospice, when he shows the uglier side of the hippy-dippy Sun King, and John is forced to do something truly terrible. It all builds up to a final clash that is definitely one of Green's best pieces of writing.

John Taylor still occasionally name drops himself (which is a bit annoying). But for the most part he simply discovers that he can still hit rock bottom -- he learns the hard way that being the Walker and/or John Taylor may not be enough to protect him when he needs it most. It's not quite the most epic conflict we've seen in the Nightside, but it's a decent finale.

It's a little sad to say goodbye to all the weird, wild, disgusting stuff going on in the Nightside, but "The Bride Wore Black Leather" is a pretty enjoyable, satisfying farewell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as always . . . . ., 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bride Wore Black Leather (Nightside) (Hardcover)
a brilliant end to a fantastic set of books [at least i think it is the last installment]. from begining to end the characters are enjoyable in everyway, you want the good guys to 'win' and the bad guys/things/beings to lose, and in a very satisfying manner, they always do lose, but not in the way you expect. the nightside is a great idea, brilliantly brought to life by a very skilled author, note to some other writers slowly crawling up your own bottoms; you do not have to write thousands of pages over lots and lots of books to be entertaining [that is, afterall, why we read fiction]. thank you Mr Green you've provided me with lots of enjoyable reading over many years. also, if you like this story try his earlier work 'A Blue Moon Rising'; brilliant. thanks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i want more, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all things Nightside and really had to psych myself up to read this knowing it is the final instalment. I was not disappointed in terms of the feel of the book. However, I did feel that this story could have been longer. The battles were not as epic as they have been in previous books. Maybe I'm just being greedy. John Taylor will be sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rip roaring tale from the nightside, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Taylor is charming and dangerous and there are some great plot moments. As you would expect the wedding is very much an epilogue and not the main feature with Susie Shooter very much in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This can't be the Last!!!, 10 Jun 2013
By 
S. FORGAN (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a great fan of this series and always looked forward to the next story. Now I can't do this as this is the last one. Ever. The characters have always been interesting and the setting is something that I'd like to see made into film, someone buy the rights. This book ties everything up nicely I suppose but I'd like to think that somewhere down the line the Nightside may resurface? Til then I'll keep reading the excellent secret histories series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Final book does not disapoint, 27 Jan 2013
By 
J. H. Grunill (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having come fairly late to the Nightside (not having a single book till last year) I have read my way through them enjoying them thoroughly. I was interested to see how Simon R. Green would end the series and this book worked as a final volume. John Taylor has been through a lot in the various volumes and this book was no different, don't believe what you read on the back is the main plot though as him being hunted by his friends makes up a very small part of the tale. If you have enjoyed the other books in the series this is worth a read, some of my favourite characters get a bit more to do especially Julian Advent and it's always good to see Walker again.

If you read the Secret Histories tales as well there are one or two spoilers for those contained within this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tidying up loose ends, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome book. Makes for a lovely tidying up of loose ends in the Nightside universe.
A great read from one of my favourate authers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get him to the church on time, 12 May 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Latest, twelfth and - seemingly - final volume in the Nightside series. A run of urban fantasy novels about John Taylor, a private investigator in the Nightside, a strange city beyond London.

Whilst you might be able to pick this up easily enough if you've not read any of the previous volumes, it doesn't really make sense to start this far into a series. Not least because of the amount of backstory and history the characters have built up along the way. Start with Something from the Nightside instead.

Regular readers, read on. It's impossible to review this without mild spoilers for book eleven, but they're on the blurb of this one anyhow.

This volume runs for three hundred and ten pages. It's divided into eleven chapters.

It sees John about to get married to Suzie. And his life is changing in other ways. Because now he's the Walker it's time to move on to the responsibilities which go with that role, and leave the private detective life behind.

Looking for one last case leads to a murder investigation at a strange club. Then discovering a threat to all of reality which could be his biggest problem yet, not least because it turns him into a wanted man.

There's some occasional strong language, and a few gruesome moments.

But this is one of the strongest in the series. It deals very well with John's changing responsibilities. It once again shows us amazing invention in new characters and places, which as ever pack a lot of detail into a couple of lines of narrative. It also brings in lots of familiar characters. Most of whom it's very nice to see again.

Although the story may seem to go in a different direction after the first third, it does all tie together very well in the end.

Suzie barely appears, but there is a good reason for that. Although John's secretary Cathy does get to appear more and do a lot more than she has done for a while. There are also a few references to other series by the writer, in a way that does tie them all together nicely without confusing anyone who hasn't read them.

This is a very pleasing read for fan of the series. A fond reunion with favourite characters and a chance to watch them change their lives. If it's the end, then it's a great book to go out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Johnny Walker or the Walker papers, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All in all reasonable, not as good as some of the earlier volumes but still readable. I expected more of Suzie than was present given the title but... There is an increasing tendency to repeat phrases, e.g., concerning the murderous traffic - I think this series has not much further to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bride Wore Black Leather (Nightside)
The Bride Wore Black Leather (Nightside) by Simon R. Green (Hardcover - 3 Jan 2012)
15.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews