Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you got the guts?
A great book which I have to admit I haven't finished yet as it would seem to only really be of use when you have a serious new venture under-way or in the offing (which I don't). Whether it be writing an album or starting a business this book is a handy companion to keep you on track. Those expecting a detailed step-by-step manual for success will be disappointed though.
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by Johnny Boy

versus
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Endless collection of truisms
This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Simply a collection of truisms, flat words and ideas thrown at the reader. A serious lack of helpful ideas. Just a series of stupid sentences like:
"Resistance is the shadow cast by the innovative self's sun"
"The enemy is Resistance"
"Break the sheet of foolscap into three parts: beginning, middle, and...
Published on 27 April 2011 by Rusen Ciprian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Endless collection of truisms, 27 April 2011
By 
Rusen Ciprian (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Simply a collection of truisms, flat words and ideas thrown at the reader. A serious lack of helpful ideas. Just a series of stupid sentences like:
"Resistance is the shadow cast by the innovative self's sun"
"The enemy is Resistance"
"Break the sheet of foolscap into three parts: beginning, middle, and end."
It felt like an endless series of encouragements with no value: You can do it, do it, resistance is the enemy, fight the resistance, do it. And worst of all the book encourages people not to plan, not to think, not to prepare. Just DO IT!
That's how many companies went bankrupt - they did not think, they just did it. In the stupidest possible ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good advice but not too deep!, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Hardcover)
Good advice about how to approach writing a play. Not so useful if you're trying to write a book! I felt as if I was being shouted at - in a good way if that's possible - through a series of one-liners. These were very practical, but all the time I wanted to know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some people will find it inspirational, 26 April 2011
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
It is very good of the author and Seth Godin to offer this for free on the Kindle.

Many people have found Steven Pressfield's book " The war of Art" to be very useful in overcoming resistance or procrastination and " Do the work" is basically a distillation of that book.

I do have very mixed feelings about his approach. For overcoming writers block I have found it to be somewhat useful . Even successful and prolific writers sometimes have problems and seeing this resistance as something to be fought and overcome can be quite helpful.

However I did find the writing to be overwrought, self-dramatising and often very inconsistent. Also it seemed a bit too personal to the author.

I have found books that give far more practical advice to be a lot more useful. Pressfield's approach only seems to deal with one possible reason for procrastination.

The psychologist Albert Ellis in his Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy approach has a lot of methods to deal with "Low Frustration Tolerance" (which seems similar to resistance) and these seem to be much more useful than the mystical approach that book uses.

For areas other than dealing with a writer's block I think that his ideas might actually be harmful and de-motivating. He makes everything seem really difficult and not really enjoyable. It hardly makes you want to start work on a potentially difficult project!

Edit: I wrote this review when it was available for a free download and gave it three stars. It is currently very poor value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you got the guts?, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Do the Work (Hardcover)
A great book which I have to admit I haven't finished yet as it would seem to only really be of use when you have a serious new venture under-way or in the offing (which I don't). Whether it be writing an album or starting a business this book is a handy companion to keep you on track. Those expecting a detailed step-by-step manual for success will be disappointed though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short motivational book, 26 Oct 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
It's a fact that there are some people that can quickly get to grips with new plans, and within a short period they can be well on their way within a given project. Others find it much harder to get started and may take considerable time to do much more than the most basic steps if they achieve anything at all. For all of the second group of people, this book tries to help you get yourself into the swing of things as quickly as possible.

As far as it goes, it's not too bad; I found some of the aphorisms quite useful. However, I wouldn't describe it as unique; there are many other books (some much longer and more detailed) that I feel provide better advice and much more of it. However, the most important thing is if the reader finds it of value, and that comes down to personal taste.

I downloaded it when it was free, but it seems that it now comes with a price tag, and I'm not entirely sure that I feel it worth even the relatively low price currently listed. However, I did enjoy reading it, so I still feel comfortable giving it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but could have been 100 pages shorter, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
couple of good points to take away - a lot of waffle and superfluous info, the salient points coould have been expressed in a much more refined, shorter book. the book only took me 40 minutes to read though so worth it if you need a quick kick up the backside on a train journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and interesting, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading this book....good concepts, powerfully written and inspiring! Useful for anyone stuck in their lives or wishing to move a project forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sassy, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read,straight to the point no messing ! I read it in a day and should of read it years ago, wow it all makes sense now. Thanks Steven... Get your butt to Stockport do a workshop or something , I love your sense of humour !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do The Work, One of THOSE books well worth Reading, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do the Work (Hardcover)
What's stopping you from achieving the things in life that you need/want.

This book, which is an easy read has short sharp sentences with highlighted phrases that makes sense to the reader It makes clear just what the problem is and how it can be overcome. It's the book you have been looking for, get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truest of books, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Do the Work (Kindle Edition)
I love this book. As soon as it was delivered I read it from start to end without putting it down! The 'home truths' in it really hit home! Everyone should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do the Work
Do the Work by Steven Pressfield (Hardcover - 20 April 2011)
6.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews