Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb value for money
it is definitely a book to read for every person that is looking for inspiration, or that need a little push to start in the business world
Published 10 months ago by moaad el khalifi

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming
As much of Seth Godin's book encourages you to stop procrastinating and act, what better time to write my first Amazon review. I think Seth has followed his own advice in writing this book and just got started, although maybe his actions were ahead of his thoughts. Sadly, it could have done with a few more ideas, better examples and a lot less nonsense. For example,...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by The Philosophical Materialist


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Poke the Box (Kindle Edition)
As much of Seth Godin's book encourages you to stop procrastinating and act, what better time to write my first Amazon review. I think Seth has followed his own advice in writing this book and just got started, although maybe his actions were ahead of his thoughts. Sadly, it could have done with a few more ideas, better examples and a lot less nonsense. For example, Seth describes how the `lizard brain', fearful of being wrong, will discourage implementing some new innovative idea, and how we should always act if the cost of inaction outweighs the cost of action; fine so far. But in his example he states that the cost of being wrong in almost any sales, marketing, human resources, software or management innovation is less than the cost of inaction. Is that so? Is he being naïve here or simply oversimplifying to try to hammer home a point? This happens in too many places, and overall the book has the feeling of being ill though through, lacking in real experience and has the smell of the self-help, snake oil salesman that sends me running for the hills.

While some may benefit from a book which endlessly repeats a few simple ideas, I sadly do not. There is real skill in reducing complex ideas to simple principles, however, I would say that Seth lacks this skill and simply misunderstands or deliberately distorts any complexity in decision making and demonstrates this repeatedly in his writing. Unfortunately, this all serves to undermine some simple and worthy ideas that underlie this rather tedious and patronising text, such as the virtues of being an initiator, an innovator, overcoming fear of failure, etc.

This is certainly not worth the reduced price of 99p, or indeed worth spending any time reading. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zero substance, 22 Mar 2011
By 
M. Henderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Hardcover)
I have a pretty high tolerance for generalisations and unsubstantiated claims in management books. Usually they have enough concrete information to fill an HBR article then the author spreads it out with fluff to fill a book. But this book breaks new ground with a fluff to fact ratio of about 99% (though it is true I can't be bothered substantiating my claim...). If you are into self help books maybe you'll love it - it is basically watered down Tony Robbins.

Here is a typically profound excerpt from a section titled 'How to Walk to Cleveland':

'You decide to walk to Cleveland. So you take a first step in the right direction. That's starting. You spend the rest of the day walking toward Cleveland, one step at a time, picking your feet up and putting them down. At the end of the day, twenty miles later, you stop at a hotel. And what happens the next morning? Either you quit the project or you start again, walking to Cleveland. In fact, every step is a new beginning. Sure, you're closer than you were yesterday or last week, but you're still heading toward Cleveland. Keep starting until you finish.'

If you found that excerpt inspiring, I thoroughly recommend the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More management consultancy spiel than you can ever stomach, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Poke the Box (MP3 CD)
I have been compelled to read this book as part of a training session run by the company I work for. I am an avid reader and tend to be reasonably resilient to management fluff, but this book takes the biscuit as it's also hugely patronising in its approach. And how contradictory could it be that a book aimed at non conformity could end up being made a compulsory tool for a training course? I know this isn't the author's fault (at least I hope not...), but it does demonstrate that no matter what one could possibly write about his own life's journey and how to ideally break out of the mold, somewhere, somehow a poor bastard will hit his head against the brick wall of daily reality. Poke away if you like this sort of stuff, and I know there must be loads of Seth's fans out there, but I certainly will run a mile if I see another book from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb value for money, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Hardcover)
it is definitely a book to read for every person that is looking for inspiration, or that need a little push to start in the business world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a quick likeable read, 16 Aug 2014
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Kindle Edition)
Kindle version -

Seth Godin is one of those people that if he did not exist, he would surely be invented by central casting. With his on trend shaven head and constant querying of the traditional way of looking at things, he is a familiar figure on the internet of Ted Talks and Wired articles. He produces a remarkably frequent and lively blog that is well worth subscribing. He is also a regular speaker at the sort of marketing / Shoreditch trendy web events, where he is an engaging and likeable speaker. Indeed once you have heard him speak, it is easy to imagine him reading the book aloud to you.

His books are generally fairly short, and what they lack in research or analytical depth, they make up for in vigour. Fair to say that his stuff is all fairly one note, and if you really don’t like it, fair enough.

Fittingly for a marketing man, this is a call to action, to be unconventional, and to make things happen. It is upbeat and cheery, and within its limits it is a quick and thought provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Kindle Edition)
This book is brilliant. It gets you motivated. It helps you eliminate the fear of failure. A must read for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I should have bought this book before, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Kindle Edition)
What else to expect from Seth Godin but disruptive ideas, new angles, expert advice and a good kick up the bottom? Loved it. Some quotes are priceless. Thanks, Seth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Godin has great advice to give, 15 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Poke the Box (Hardcover)
As always with Seth Godin, the idea behind Poke the Box is simple – your organisation needs to take the initiative and ‘poke the box’, to start experimenting with things to breathe life in to the company and push things forward. Godin has great advice to give, and you’d do well to listen to it, even if it seems pretty basic in comparison to his other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get Started, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Kindle Edition)
One of my favourite pieces of advice is "write a bad first draft, because you can't edit a blank piece of paper". Seth takes this further. You can't do anything if you don't start. Great re
Ad and thought provoking. Don't read it if you are not prepared to do something about those thoughts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, succinctly expressed., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poke the Box (Kindle Edition)
I'm working on a business plan and came across this. It was inexpensive and seemed relevant. It was much more than that. It is a rallying call to all would be business people to make the leap and do it! The essence of the book is that we learn from failure if we are sensible, so the fear of failure is misplaced. We still need to think about what we are doing, but worrying about failure should not be the sole reason for inaction. As Picasso put it in a different context - I am always doing things I can't do, that's how I get to do them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poke the Box
Poke the Box by Seth Godin (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2011)
£8.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews