Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting photographs, well presented
A superb book. Mike Brodie's travels as a punk-esque train hopper are beautifully recorded by him. Warm, intimate images that immediately draw you into his world.

The book is quite large, and feels really well-made. Very well printed, with images all landscape format on single pages. Wonderfully minimal, matter-of-fact bit of text by Brodie at the end that...
Published 15 months ago by TM Bradley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, bad layout
Beautiful and thought provocative images. I could write a novel to each and single one picture. Although the print is good and the book is large in dimensions, the pictures themselves are printed disappointingly small, with too much whitespace (around 60%) around each image. Sadly I find the images lose most of their appeal, compared to the large front image, and the ones...
Published 6 months ago by tommyno


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting photographs, well presented, 17 Jun 2013
By 
TM Bradley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity (Hardcover)
A superb book. Mike Brodie's travels as a punk-esque train hopper are beautifully recorded by him. Warm, intimate images that immediately draw you into his world.

The book is quite large, and feels really well-made. Very well printed, with images all landscape format on single pages. Wonderfully minimal, matter-of-fact bit of text by Brodie at the end that makes the book truly whole and satisfying.

I would put it among my favourite photographic books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 21 Jan 2014
By 
S. F. Spooner "sfspooner" (sheffield,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity (Hardcover)
I bought this following a glowing review in the Observer newspaper. All the photographs seem to look into a secret world that otherwise we would never have the opportunity to see. The subject matter could be grim and Mike Brodie has painted his subjects with incredible honesty but his love and respect for them have given them great dignity. The boy hanging off the back of the tailgate giving us the finger is a real iconic image. There is nothing comfortable in this book of photographs of people on the run from something but for once let a book of photographs stir and disturb you. The people in it are not wearing calvin klein and are incredibly alive, a lot of them need a good wash but you want to hear their story first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BATTLESHIP, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity (Hardcover)
Hello Found the book to exceptionally good in its whole entirety,a most excellent publication,picture format outstanding,and the colour photos are superb,depicting life on the rails,makes you feel you are there with the people depicted.
Thank you .
Mr G F Fagan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snapshots of a Jack Kerouac world., 18 Jun 2014
By 
Michael J. Law "eurolease" (Teulada Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity (Hardcover)
A highly atmospheric & gritty pictorial collection of the hobo life, photographed by a young hobo. Mike Brodie's rather dysfunctional upbringing took him travelling rough in that most American of ways, riding railcars. It's hard not to reflect " Who are three people? What is their story? Where will they finally end up?." I suppose too " There but for the grace of God…" Mike Brodie first published this work in 2012, from what I understand his life has taken a totally different direction. He now lives far from his beginnings and has settled in happening Oakland. A city I love. The book is discounted from its original fairly high price, and is now more accessible. I bought my copy via an Amazon retailer, and it was despatched from US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, bad layout, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity (Hardcover)
Beautiful and thought provocative images. I could write a novel to each and single one picture. Although the print is good and the book is large in dimensions, the pictures themselves are printed disappointingly small, with too much whitespace (around 60%) around each image. Sadly I find the images lose most of their appeal, compared to the large front image, and the ones I've seen in magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present for my boyfriend, and he absolutely loved it, thought it was brilliant, couldn't even wait till christmas to open it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity
Mike Brodie - a Period of Juvenile Prosperity by Mike Brodie (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2013)
£48.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews