Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, not just clarity, about cholesterol, 31 Aug 2013
By 
This book does what it says it will do - it sets out the history, beliefs and nonsense about the cholesterol hypothesis with real clarity.

The book is beautifully written and laid out. The expert panel is second to none - 29 global experts all made available via this book - that's Jimmy doing what he does best - interviewing thought leaders and sharing their wisdom. Jimmy and Eric cleverly join the narrative and expert comments together, as they tackle all the key cholesterol topics that you need to know about:

What is cholesterol and why do you need it? Where does inflammation fit in? What about statins and side effects? What are all the numbers in the cholesterol test and what do they mean? Does diet make any difference and if so how? What is way more important to know than your cholesterol numbers? Why don't all doctors know what the expert panel knows?

Some of the comments are funny (Dr Malcolm Kendrick is in there - what do you expect?!) Some are shocking - all are highly informative and rational.

This is a must read for anyone who worries about their cholesterol or, worse still, anyone who thinks that statins are fit for human consumption. If your doctor has not updated his/her view on a myth from decades ago, then you should.

Dr William Davis captures the essence of the book perfectly when he says: "Isn't it funny that people are turning to people like Jimmy Moore for answers to their health problems rather than their own doctors because the doctors have no damn idea what's going on?"

Find out what's going on - in plain and simple English - read this book and share it with friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Moore takes a complex subject and breaks it into easy to dijest chunks of information., 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. J. Tomlinson "Jamie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an absolute must for anyone worried about high cholesterol and their next doctors appointment. Not only does it make the whole subject easy to understand but it is based on the research and expertise of some of the worlds top medical professionals on the subject. It also provides you with a natural, drug free route to tackle the real cause of heart disease and to stop getting so stressed about your cholsteral numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a must read for everyone, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Cholesterol Clarity: What the Hdl is Wrong with My Numbers (Hardcover)
This book does exactly as the title states and gives the much needed clarity surrounding a very misinformed area of cholesterol.

It is excellently laid out and well written with great narrative from both Jimmy and Eric. What is so amazing about this book is that not only does it contain a massive amount of information from extremely credible and knowledgeable experts, it is broken down in such a way that can be understood by all.

As more and more people are questioning the conventional wisdom and looking to get away from taking medications such as statins, this book will be an extremely useful and powerful tool in doing this. Not only does it increase your knowledge in the area, it will also increase your confidence in talking about it with family and friends or even your own doctor.

I have long been trying to educate my clients who have come to me concerned about their total cholesterol level, so I for one am very excited that a book like this now exists.

Not only would I encourage individual clients to read this book, but also all health professionals alike. The information and wisdom contained within this book is second to none and it will certainly offer extremely insightful points and facts about cholesterol, that may not have been known before; it may also make you think twice about finding the underlying cause of raised cholesterol and what can be done to help it, other than simply pushing statins on everyone.

A huge well done and thank you to Jimmy for writing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Refreshing and informative as to the how's and whys of why we are all being taken in on the Great Cholesterol Con. If you are wondering whether it's necessary to take drugs to lower your Cholesterol, this gives you the chance to make a very well informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Turns the conventional cholesterol world upside down, invaluable information in a world of misinformation. I would and have recommend this book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth, The Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth!, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Donald Scott (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cholesterol Clarity: What the Hdl is Wrong with My Numbers (Hardcover)
There are already a number of books on the emotive subject of cholesterol and its role in heart disease and chronic illness. The interpretations that arise from the way we look at nutrition on health are central to the confusion. It's no surprise that those who (quite reasonably) ask their doctors the question "Is cholesterol bad for me, and do I really need to take a statin to ensure my blood levels of cholesterol stay as low as possible?" remain in the dark. Patients are becoming customers and need to take a level of responsibility for making decisions for themselves. This means getting educated on the subject.

This really fine book addresses all of the reasons why GP's, nutritionists and others in healthcare look at the subject differently, and come up with conflicting responses. I think that mainstream medicine needs to entirely re-think the way it educates doctors to prevent them from simply being drugs reps, promoting only the pharmacological option when someone presents with an illness.

One of the main reasons why the current diagnostic and treatment process needs to change is because it fails to address the underlying causes of illness. That needs lifestyle change and patient education skills to deliver better outcomes in the long term. The other reason for changing the system is that drugs are becoming more and more expensive and the NHS pharma bill is now out of control, escalating 3-4 times the rate of inflation (2013). We simply cannot afford the cost with such poor results.

The authors have some of the best authorities in the business contributing to their book. This makes for a concise and up to date cover of the subject for anyone wanting to get up to speed and get educated on nutrition in general, and cholesterol in particular.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Carl Keeling (Douglas, Isle Of Man. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cholesterol Clarity: What the Hdl is Wrong with My Numbers (Hardcover)
We'll done Jimmy, an awful lot of work gone into this. Some very expert contributors to your book.
Will help anyone who wants to know more about the cholesterol myth :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you're healthy or otherwise, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very accessible and honest evaluation of all the data around cholesterol. It does an excellent job of simplifying what can be an overwhelmingly complex subject. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Setting the records straight, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book that helps you understand the importance of the correct Cholesterol markers. I think all doctors should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity on Cholesterol, 24 Oct 2013
Jimmy Moore cuts to the chase with an excellent reference - whether you are a lay person or knowledgable about the subject.

In summary:

Why saturated fat has been demonised and why that hypothesis was flawed right from the start?
What aspects of blood work are indicators of good and poor health and why?
What the cholesterol numbers actually mean?
Discussion and opinion from leading experts in their field.
Why statins are not the silver-bullet we are told to put our faith in.
The relevance of inflammation rather than total cholesterol as a determinant of health concerns in relation to heart health.

I would highly recommend this book, it is pitched just about right for anyone who has the pleasure to read it and who wants to make a more informed decision in relation to saturated fat/cholesterol and their health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2245b8)

This product

Cholesterol Clarity: What the Hdl is Wrong with My Numbers
Cholesterol Clarity: What the Hdl is Wrong with My Numbers by Eric C. Westman (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2013)
24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews