Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow's Sci-Fi Classic, Today
I am an avid fan of Sci-Fi and Space Operas. However, in so many books the "aliens" seem to always be either bipedal humanoids, or bug-eyed monsters (BEM's), intent on destroying Earth. They also always seem to be light years ahead of us in space technology. "The Frozen Sky" by the accomplished author, Jeff Carlson, turns that stereotype on its head and shakes it up quite...
Published 17 months ago by Grampy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur hour!
Wanted very much to like this book. It seemed right up my alley. The premise of life on Europa is exiting. But in this book, as mankinds greatest discovery is made - alien life in our own solar system: No mystery is told. No suspense. No intrigue. Uninteresting cardboard charaters. Actually it worse than a B movie! The low budget movie "Europa Report" does...
Published 1 month ago by Peregrine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow's Sci-Fi Classic, Today, 26 Mar 2013
I am an avid fan of Sci-Fi and Space Operas. However, in so many books the "aliens" seem to always be either bipedal humanoids, or bug-eyed monsters (BEM's), intent on destroying Earth. They also always seem to be light years ahead of us in space technology. "The Frozen Sky" by the accomplished author, Jeff Carlson, turns that stereotype on its head and shakes it up quite a bit.

This story takes place on and inside Jupiter's super-frozen moon, Europa. Earth has been mining the ice to extract deuterium for use as fuel in various vessels and to power outlying extra-planetary colonies. One day a probe becomes fouled with dirt particles which subsequently are determined to be extremely small fossil bugs.

That discovery prompts a new interest in the moon, leading to a Chinese rover accidently finding what appears to be repetitious designs carved in the ice, indicating the possible presence of intelligent beings, either now or in the past. THAT discovery presages a significant uptick in interest in Europa.

Numerous Earth nations, coalitions and alliances, send multi-disciplinary teams to "cooperatively" explore the satellite. Unfortunately, "cooperative" on Earth has a different meaning on Europa, and each group tries to sabotage the others, so they can claim the lion's share of glory for themselves, assuming some proof of sentient life awaits them.

Jeff is a master creator of believable, realistic Science Fiction. His aliens are unique in the Sci-Fi genre, which, if you think about it, they would be on Europa or any other orb suited to the existence of life. There are no BEM's in Jeff's world. But there ARE alien life forms, with a measure of intelligence.

Back on Earth, the politicians and various pharmaceutical giants are seeing dollar signs as they consider how the alien life forms can be exploited... harvested, if you want the ugly truth. Only by placing her career and her future, and possibly her freedom, on the line, can one woman plead a case on behalf of the aliens. Her challenge? To convince the world these aliens are sentient beings, not simply dumb animals.

"The Frozen Sky" is a brilliant, realistic panorama of how Earth's powers might very well treat an alien species. It is also a thought-provoking story which will pull you right in with the force of ten G's, and not let you go until the final conflict has been resolved. "The Frozen Sky" may be tomorrow's classic Science Fiction work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi as it's meant to be, 31 Oct 2012
By 
This is excellent Sci-Fi, a real page turner from start to finish. Jeff Carlson has constructed a believable world set a hundred years or so in the future. It deals with first contact with an alien race, sunfish, on the frozen landscape of Jupiters moon, Europa. The setting works brilliantly, creating a sense of isolation from civilisation, and later on in the story meaning the politics back on Earth don't become overwhelming.

The Sunfish are a beautifully realised creation, alien in their way of thinking unlike most typical sci-fi creations. There has clearly been a lot of thought put into them, and they are definitly one of the highlights of the novel. Without wanting to give too much away the theories behind their evolution, and how they have progressed to their current point, is brilliant. Decisions they make that would seem cold hearted to most people make sense giving the hostile enviroment they grew up in. And Europa is definitly a hostile enviroment.

The technology, whilst clearly far in advance of our own, is still relatable so at no point did I find myself wondering just what was going on, or feel the need for a big infodump to explain it all to me.

Some of the basic themes behind the story aren't particularly original, such as first contact, and it takes a rather negative view of humanity as a whole. But then I would say it's fairly true with that assessment, and there are more than enough original ideas in there to stop this being an issue. The stories absolutely cracking and any little niggles like this don't matter.

And I loved the idea of trying to figure out whether or not the Sunfish were intelligent, and it made me question what it is that makes humans intelligent, as opposed to animals. See, there's even a bit of philosophy in there.

It's when reading novels like this which have been self-published I am absolutely blown away by the level of talent that is out there.

Highly recommend this one to fans of science fiction novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent scifi adventure, 20 Oct 2012
I really enjoyed The Frozen Sky. A genuine page turner that was reminiscent of the intelligent writing of Crichton. I thought the action got off to an explosive start and chucked me right in. Then, when I later began to worry if the pace was slackening Carlson slammed the gear right up again. Characters were solid and believsble and whilst the politicsl background back on Earth was less than fleshed out I didn't have a problem with it as for me it neatly mirrored the cut off feeling I understood the characters were experiencing so far trom home.
At times the story did come close to being s little preachy, particularly with its obvious parallels with earth's unfortunate domestic history of bloody first contacts with new cultures, but ultimately I think it trod the line well. If I was to pick any holes it would just be the convenience of Lam. Although this element was neatly led into from the start so was not at all a jarring part of the narrative. All in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi at its best, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent opening sequence, chase scene was brilliantly written. The alien species were magnificently described and very much not your typical envisaged alien. Many new ideas throughout. Loved it. Buy it. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE FROZEN SKY: HIGHLY-ENTERTAINING NOVEL ABOUT "EUROPA" AND "FIRST CONTACT", 28 July 2014
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Five ICY Stars. Jeff Carlson's "Frozen Sky" is a marvelous feat of science fiction writing creating a remarkable world on Jupiter's moon, Europa, populated with opposing camps of people, aliens, "mech", artificial intelligence, human conflict, and political intrigue. In the 22nd Century, mankind has colonized the moon and Mars and is now mining Europa for 'water ice' components needed for fusion drives. When dead "bugs" are discovered in the ice by robotic mining equipment, the rush is on to field human teams to investigate. As the novel opens, in riveting prose, ESA astronaut "Vonnie" Vonderash becomes the first human to make "First Contact" with alien life forms which immediately attack her; she fights them off, killing 9. Now, they are in hot pursuit, under the ice which is their "frozen sky", as she is bloodied, dazed, and battling for her life. When more human forces arrive from different nations and interests, there is much political gamesmanship, conflicting motives, and questionable decisions. The question is what to do about these aliens? And then an attack occurs, changing everything. Along the way we encounter: alien artifacts, the Ensley 2 disaster, 'mem file' ghosts, superhuman armor suits, World War III, Ash and Koebsch, Tom and Charlotte and Brigit, and lots of vividly described action beneath the unstable ice in the alien "Frozen Sky". A great science-fiction adventure novel that really needed an epilogue but nonetheless is Highly Recommended. Five IMPRESSIVE Stars! (348 pages, reviewed in Kindle text and text-to-speech. NOTE: the author went me 'one better', he skipped an epilogue and wrote "The Frozen Sky 2": thank you, Jeff Carlson.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first kindle book I have given 5 stars to, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can be a bit picky when it comes to awarding 5 stars but this one hit everything I could think of and more.

From start to end it held me enthralled, loosing myself in the icy wastes of a frozen moon orbiting our solar system's largest planet. The turmoil of the moon itself is nothing compared to the turmoil happening beneath its surface, from the very beginning where the heroine Von is trapped beneath the ice being hunted by malevolent alien creatures to her escape and having to fit in with other humans who she doesn't know or trust , to fighting against simple human greed and stupidity. You really feel for this woman and urge her to succeed.

My only criticism of this book is I want a follow up as I haven't enjoyed reading and loosing myself in a book this much in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent writer, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Sky: A Novel (Paperback)
I'm just loving Jeff Carlson's work. I picked up one of his Plague Year books, and immediately felt that warm, happy glow that told me I'd found another favourite author to collect.

I don't read a lot of Sci-Fi because I usually find it too slow, too dry, or all ideas and no characters. But this is Jeff Carlson - and he gets the balance exactly right - action, science, characters, ideas, plot. I engaged straight away with the main character, and the future technology is so well developed that Jeff should take out a patent. The aliens are fascinating too. There's nothing one-dimensional here, the motivations of humans and aliens alike are nuanced and complex.

A well written, impeccably researched, characterised and intelligent read - what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science fiction thriller that is hard to put down, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Andy Pieters "x_terminat_or_3" (Plymouth, Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Frozen Sky: A Novel (Paperback)
The Frozen Sky is a fast paced science fiction novel that is well researched and knows what it is talking about when it talks about its science. Join Alexis Vonderach - Vonnie, on an adventure on Jupiter's frozen moon Europa, where she discovers, under miles of ice and rock, a sentient life form that does not quite appreciate man's intrusion into their territory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur hour!, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frozen Sky: A Novel (Paperback)
Wanted very much to like this book. It seemed right up my alley. The premise of life on Europa is exiting. But in this book, as mankinds greatest discovery is made - alien life in our own solar system: No mystery is told. No suspense. No intrigue. Uninteresting cardboard charaters. Actually it worse than a B movie! The low budget movie "Europa Report" does everything this author fails to do (and a hundered times better) to create mystery, wonder and awe in the face of extrateresstial life in our own planetary neighbourhood.

Its very, very rare that I don't manage to finish a book out of boredom - but this was one of them. How can an author manage to make a good premise so uninteresting and a complete bore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keeps you reading from start to finish. Always making you want to turn the page to see what will happen next. This is my first book I've read by Carlson but I'm sure it won't be my last. I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Frozen Sky: A Novel
The Frozen Sky: A Novel by Jeff Carlson (Paperback - 15 Sep 2012)
5.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews