Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. Highly recommended
This is a very good book on Direct3D 11. I have used Direct3D 9 in the past and have been struggling for a while to understand how Direct3D 11 works. The 2 APIs are quite different and this book helped a lot. The author does a great job at explaining 3D concepts in a very clear manner. You should definitely buy it if you are new to Direct3D or if you have used another...
Published 3 months ago by Octavian

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
All images printed in B/W, lot of code but not to many high level explanation. Really teach more the programming API instead of the ideas behind that API.
Published 1 month ago by lorenzo belli


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. Highly recommended, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 (Paperback)
This is a very good book on Direct3D 11. I have used Direct3D 9 in the past and have been struggling for a while to understand how Direct3D 11 works. The 2 APIs are quite different and this book helped a lot. The author does a great job at explaining 3D concepts in a very clear manner. You should definitely buy it if you are new to Direct3D or if you have used another version of the API in the past!

Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 (Paperback)
Guides through all new features of D3D11 with an emphasis on the most commonly used parts of the graphics pipeline.
Maintains an excellent balance of depth and completeness of explanation.
Highly recommended for programmers new to D3D11 and especially for amateurs in graphics who want to use the latest version of DirectX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to DirectX and Direct Compute, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm fairly new to C++ but still found this book great; a no nonsense guide to getting started with 3D graphics. It assumes no prior knowledge of gpu programming and takes the reader from the basics of device initialization up to more fancy Directx 11 features such as tessellation and direct compute. A basic knowledge of C++ is essential - though I've never worked with COM objects I got along just fine. It helps if your linear and vector algebra is up to scratch, but there are a couple of refresh chapters if you are rusty. There are nicely illustrated diagrams throughout the book to help visualize the effects of some of the algorithms. All the example code is well commented, clean and compiles successfully under the free version of Visual studio 2010 (Remember to get the microsoft windows sdk, it is not included in the free version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice reference book, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 (Paperback)
I wanted a book specific on DX11 and I found the Mr Luna had a long history in DX books, reading the comment on the previous editions of his books I bought it and I reccomend it as well organized manual about DX11. It also covers some basic concepts related with Computer Graphic. It requires a basic knowledge of C++ but if you are familiar with COM, it's better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 (Paperback)
All images printed in B/W, lot of code but not to many high level explanation. Really teach more the programming API instead of the ideas behind that API.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 (Paperback)
A pressie for my son studying computing at uni. It arrived on time well packaged and my son said it was as it was described. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good if your PC supports DirectX 11, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to learn about how to use DirectX in game programming, however the book failed to warn me that my PC need's to be able to support DirectX 11 and all of the example coding strictly requires this and will not run unless you go into the source code yourself to make allowances for systems that only support DX10 or 9.

I strongly urge potential buyers to check their systems and make sure their graphics cards support DX11 because otherwise, this is pretty much a waste of money. The book boasts about having an online community with a forum to ask Frank Luna himself some questions about coding, however I asked him for help 4 or 5 weeks ago and nobody's replied to my post as of yet.

Very unsatisfied with this product at the moment, I will probably have to try again once I have a PC with a more powerful graphics card and by then I bet DX11 will be outdated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11
Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Directx 11 by Frank D. Luna (Paperback - 21 April 2012)
32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews