Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2014
David Stein recounts how he acquired the library of holocaust revisionist David McCalden in the 1980s and how private study took him to a scaled back functionalist view of the holocaust, which confined it to Aktion Reinhard (i.e. the Treblinka, Sobibor, Belzec and Chelmo camps) and early Einsatzgruppen killings of Soviet Jews. He debated his ideas on TV with Michael Shermer, who claimed in Denying History (2000) that Stein's work did not affect the general "convergence of evidence" on the holocaust. However, Shermer was surprised that senior academics were unable to answer Stein's detailed questions. Stein expresses a dislike of "nutty" Professor Robert Faurisson, who rejects the received history outright. He points out that Faurisson's knowledge of the Einsatzgruppen issue was shown to be weak in a Canadian court case.

Stein next describes how intimidation led him to publicly recant his real views and change his name (he was formerly David Cole) in the late 1990s. He then developed a career in film editing and distribution in California based on his knowledge of World War 2 film history. He describes some irregular temporary relationships with women dazzled by the bright lights of Hollywood. His politics are broadly libertarian and neo-conservative. In the Obama years, he again developed a public profile in Republican political fundraising and networking events and through journalism. This led in April 2013 to his "outing" as David Cole the holocaust denier. He describes acutely how the story broke privately, then online, then through the Guardian Newspaper in the UK and the subsequent ostracism.

In the final section, he rises to some almost prophetic passages when he argues that American Jews are imposing a fossilised view of their history on themselves and others and that Israel's fate does not depend on rejection of his brand of holocaust revisionism. The intake of alcoholic spirits he admits to though, must be bad news for a man in his 40s. This preceded his current outcast status and is perhaps the result of a man divided against himself. The book thus ends on a cliffhanger: is it a manifesto or a suicide note? Stein perhaps underestimates the potential significance of his inadequately evaluated ideas for modern Jews.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
You might think that if you're not interested in Republican Party politics or historical revisionsm then you wouldn't find this book interesting at all. BIG MISTAKE! This book is a pure masterpiece. Both tragic and laugh out loud funny, you certainly will NOT be disappointed, and a real eye opener. I mean a REAL eye opener. This book introduces you to what one man has had to do to save his skin from having a bounty put on his head because of a controversial opinion, amd much else besides. This book will truly open your eyes to that which the establishment and controlled media do not want you to know. Honestly, purchase this book and be amazed!

After reading this book and you are intereted to know more, then purchase or freely and legally download the academic books, 'Lectures on the Holocaust' and 'Dissecting the Holocaust' by Germar Rudolf, another man the establishement terrorised to shut him up. You can download these for free from his website, holocausthandbooks, and also watch some groundbreaking and earth shattering documentaries there too, including David Cole (Steins) forbidden documentary.

It might further interest you to know that you can be imprisoned in many European countries for reading these scholarly books. Truth does not need laws to uohold it as such. Banning books clearly shows something is triying to be hidden from public knowledge.

Read more reviews of this book on Amazon.COM.

My only criticism is with his views on Treblinka.

On page 34 he writes, "And at a camp like Treblinka, there is a massively strong circumstantial case to be made that the Jews who were sent there were sent there to be killed. "It's circumstantial because very little remains in the way of documentation, and zero remains in the way of physical evidence. "But revisionists have never produced an alternate explanation of the fate met by the Jews sent to camps like Treblinka and Sobibor, with empty trains returning."

In light of this, and in the fact that he has been out of revisionism for some time, I would be interested to know his views on the below amd recommend others view them in regard to Treblinka:

Documentary

* The Treblinka Archaeology Hoax, 2nd, revised edition (May 2014) - Available to view for free online.

Publications

* Treblinka: Extermination Camp or Transit Camp? - Available to read for free online or purchase here on Amazon.

* Debating the Holocaust: A New Look At Both Sides by Thomas Dalton, PhD - Available to purchase on Amazon.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Sorry, but if you're looking for a book promoting Holocaust Denial you need to go find something by Robert Faurisson or someone like that because David Cole is not a Holocaust Denier. David Cole does not deny that Jews and other groups suffered a great tragedy during WW2 in which millions were killed at the hands of the Nazis purely for belonging to the wrong group.

But David Cole is a Holocaust Revisionist whose research has led him to question certain aspects of the official Holocaust story. His contention that Auschwitz was not an extermination camp is probably what has landed him in the most hot water. But Cole is always prepared to give reasoning and evidence for why he has reached his conclusions, and he's also willing to admit that he could be wrong. All he asks is that if he's wrong he wants to be shown why he's wrong with evidence.

David's exact views on the Holocaust are all covered in detail in the appendix of the book. The appendix is a great introduction to Holocaust Revisionism and Holocaust Deniers will be disappointed with it as David believes that Treblinka, Sobibor, Belzec and Chelmno were all extermination camps (Holocaust Deniers will never admit that any camp was used to exterminate people).

But the Holocaust stuff is only one part of this book. We also get a detailed account of how David Cole disappeared off the radar after making a deal with the JDL to get the $25,000 bounty off his head, and how he survived in the meantime while he tried to build a new life for himself. This part is quite fascinating because we see David started working in Hollywood making "safe" Holocaust films that represented the official Holocaust narrative. The irony! He would eventually settle on the name "David Stein" which would become his new identity so that he could work in Hollywood and not be tied to his past.

We read about David Stein's involvement in politics and his entry into the Hollywood Conservative underground with Gary Sinise's Friends Of Abe, and then the founding of Republican Party Animals, David's group for those looking for less conventional and formal Conservative gatherings in Hollywood (i.e. booze up parties). Republican Party Animals would put on regular shindigs that would attract some big names in both Hollywood and in the Republican Party. This section of the book was harder for me to follow because I'm so unfamiliar with the world of Hollywood and American politics, but David still makes it interesting enough that I still wanted to keep on reading. But if you have a big interest in all things Hollywood and/or in Conservative politics in America then you will love reading this part of the book because some of the dirt that's revealed about individuals as well as the insider's look at how the whole sordid scene runs is very interesting and entertaining.

This all leads up to David Stein's "outing" as David Cole the evil Holocaust Revisionist from way back in the early 90s, and the fallout from that revelation. By the end of the book it's hard not to like David. He writes with wit and charm, and with lots of self-deprecating humour which I've always found to be an endearing trait. In summation this is a great read. The best book I've read this year easily. Give it a read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Looking for something good to read this summer , I'd recommend this for you , take yourself on a adventure with David Cole as he looks into his past and present. Funny , engaging , well written and certainly not your average auto biography . You don't need to be interested in Historical revisionism or Republican party politics to enjoy this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Cole isn't afraid to air his Laundry in public.he is candid and courageous in many ways,but I get the impression that he still feels the need to toady to the lobby by pointing out his Zionism and anti Muslim bigotry.in the end he still feels he can get back in by pointing out his nastier rightest
beliefs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
I'm not going to go into the details of the book, as others have done that far better than I can. What I will say, after years of wondering "what happened to David Cole?", is that I now have those answers. And I was so glad to hear he's still with us!

This book explains why he vanished and the path his life has taken. It's a funny, interesting and insightful read into his less than ordinary life. I've given copies to people who had no idea who David was/is, and they enjoyed reading it. In fact . . . we're all hoping he writes another book or two. For now my curiosity for David's views, his wit and straight talking is met by his excellent articles. They're worth looking up too.

If you're thinking about it, then you won't regret buying it. I'm looking forward to re-reading it at some point too. That's a sign of a good book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Great guy, with great sense of humour, courage and integrity. But with some understanding needed about the world around him. :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
It's about time for the holocaust to be exposed and to hear what really happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)