Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wealth of inspiration, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
Up to now I'd resisted buying the original books by Nicky Epstein about decorative knitted edges - mainly because I could never decide which one I wanted most. This compilation brings together in one book, the best designs from all the others. Good photos, clear accurate pattern instructions .This book is a great reference book as well as inspirational 'eye candy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
I love Nicky Epstein, she is a really good designer and know's her stuff. This book is very useful, sometimes the ideas just don't come to your head at the right time and place when you need it to. So when that happens, you can look up this book and decide for yourself what you want to use.
Or if your not confident enough to come up with it yourself, this has so many ideas you can use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew edging could be so addictive?, 4 Feb 2014
By 
G. Roche "bilbobooks" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
A glorious collection of edgings. I found myself looking for any excuse to knit them. They are the perfect finish to blankets, cardis, gloves, everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
Great book to dip in and out of when creating ones own knitting patterns. Trying different edges can change an item of knit wear and this book gives you those ideas. It arrived in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a good book BUT it is so wide., 28 April 2014
By 
K. A. Newton (North West England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
I have a shelf full of craft books, well more than one shelf. This book is so wide it won't fit in the normal way - I will have to lie the book on the shelf and stand smaller books on the top.

Unopened the book is 21cm high (8 and a bit inches) and 29cm wide (nearly 12"). Fully open the landscape book is nearly 60cm (24" wide). Too wide for on the lap or to hold so it needs to lie on a table or desk in front of you.

There are coloured and monotone photographs. The monotone photographs are actually better than black and white photographs as both white and black can hide stitch details.

Listed on the contents page are -

An introduction, a couple of pages discussing Texture, a couple discussing size ie. thin yarn to very thick yarn

Some notes about using the book which includes a useful conversion chart of yarn thicknesses and the suggested size needles for them. Both yarn type and needles include US and UK thicknesses and metric and US needle size. (Not old English sizes).

Ten titles of chapters - each a type of edging. There is a glossary which gives details of words, some sewing up stitches and techniques.

Two pages of alphabetical index.

The first chapter Ribs and Fringes are exactly that. I occasionally put cables on ribs to add a little something to a plain sweater and there are quite a few examples of this.

The next chapter Ruffles, includes some you can use as the cast on edge of the bottom of a garment but also has some you could add to the neck.

There are more than 10 pages of Picot type hems including a folded hem.

I once did a folded hem with a line of picot at the bottom and a line of holes in the front of the hem. The back of the folded hem was knitted in the same yarn but a different colour so the colour showed through the holes. Very effective on my little girl's sleeves and hem of a sweater. There is none similar to this in the book but there you go.

I especially like the little Fairisle borders to use instead of ribs which would look good on a child garment provided it did not need to stretch. I could do a little train going around the hem of a sweater for my grandson. Yes. my daughter is all grown up now and does not knit.

Most of the edges have written pattern rows listed next to them and there are charts for the fairisle designs.

Intermingled in the designs in the chapters are edgings which curve caused by the knitting. Ideal for armholes and bottoms of skirts etc.

At the beginning of the book the author has arranged for arrowheads to appear on each edge showing the direction of the knitting whether the garment is knitted from the bottom up or top down incorporating the edging.

Some edgings are suitable for adding to the garment once it has been constructed by picking up stitches or grafting the edging on.

I have a Kindle Fire and would have preferred to buy a Kindle edition but with the size of the pages it is perhaps as well that there was not a Kindle edtion listed when I bought this book.

Some of the edgings are suitable for a beginner at knitting but the rest are perfect for such as myself. I like the garments I make to be a one-off and not just like the garment on the front of a paper pattern.

Definitely a book of ideas for garments and household things. Tiebacks on curtains or adding something extra to a knitted cushion.

Yes, definitely an ideas book. I am delighted with it and it is well worth the money I paid for it.

Note there are no patterns for garments included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
I have not tried any of these patterns but there are many I will definitely be knitting many of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my mum, she who loves it and plans to make everything in it. Loads of patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully inspiring!, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
Such an inspiring book.. all you ever need to do an edge on absolutely anything.. great designs, written patterns and photos.. can't wait to start knitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a selection, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
Not too sure how many I will actually make and use but it is a beautiful book to look at and the ideas are wonderful. Might have been nice to have some pictures with the edgings actually incorporated into a garment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how good is this, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders (Hardcover)
this is really nice, It shows how to make ribs on garments a bit more interesting, I particularly like the way Nicky tells you how many stitches and rows the patterns are worked over rather than saying "do it in this weight yarn" so you then have to knit many swatches to convert to the weight yarn you're using
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nicky Epstein the Essential Edgings Collection: 500 of Her Favorite Original Borders
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews