Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh so lovely - ordered yarn straightaway
There are some great things in this book - most of the best using the Regia Hand dyed effect yarns and the space dyed sock yarns. One could use other similar sock yarns though I am sure. I've taken the idea from the Hyacinth scarf and started on a blanket and ordered the yarn for the poppies stole. My daughter loves the striped scarves. However there are just as nice...
Published on 14 Feb. 2012 by I. Stratton

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but!
Lovely patterns but much of the wool required discontinued and no substitute recommended on manufacturers website.Will have to go to wool shop and try to get alternatives but obviously will not end up with Kaffe Fassetts colour know how.
Published 21 months ago by Mrs Jennifer A Macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh so lovely - ordered yarn straightaway, 14 Feb. 2012
By 
I. Stratton (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
There are some great things in this book - most of the best using the Regia Hand dyed effect yarns and the space dyed sock yarns. One could use other similar sock yarns though I am sure. I've taken the idea from the Hyacinth scarf and started on a blanket and ordered the yarn for the poppies stole. My daughter loves the striped scarves. However there are just as nice patterns in the booklet from Regia also designed by the same chaps.... Many of the ideas are not complicated but good use of yarns - though some will be very expensive, unless you have yarns in your stash some of the stoles and blankets are going to cost over £100 to make.

now a month later ...... makinng the poppies stole in the Regia Hand dye effect yarn, the yarn is a nightmare..... slippy and gets tangled all the time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with nice patterns - a rare combination, 2 April 2012
By 
B. Hetherington (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced book showing off not just the work of Kaffe Fassett and Brandon Mably but also gorgeous photographs of the things that inspire them - from nature, from pottery, from textiles. This is what I would term a coffee table book as it is wonderful just to look at the glorious photography and read about what inspires their design processes but often such books aren't really very practical with few if any patterns that you would really want to knit. This is what sets this book apart from the rest - it is full of some very doable ideas and patterns for both the beginner and the experienced knitter and encourages you to experiment and push your boundaries with the use of colour and texture. I am already on my second Hyacinth Scarf which is so easy, so quick to make but so effective using one 100g ball of Regia Stripe and one 20g ball of Rowan Kidsilk Haze. It is worth noting that the patterns are all for accessories such as scarves, stoles, throws, hats etc and not for actual garments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but!, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
Lovely patterns but much of the wool required discontinued and no substitute recommended on manufacturers website.Will have to go to wool shop and try to get alternatives but obviously will not end up with Kaffe Fassetts colour know how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
Cushions, throws and scarves; the simplest projects.
Stripes and more stripes. Often the main colour theme is produced by variegated yarn.
Not artistic, not thrilling or inspiring. 'Glorious knitting' was his best book, unfortunately the garments are very dated now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Color guys, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
I have found this book extremely useful as a source of ideas for colour knitting and well worth the Amazon price. Will have fun with its ideas when I start a new project!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Book, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
Really went for this book because of the authors, but it was even better than I expected. Great patterns from the easy to the more adventurous and really gorgeous photographs. It is one I keep going back to and there are several patterns I will definitely be trying out.
I can definitely recommend this book whether you have already bought any of Kaffe Fassett's and/or Brandon Mably's books or if this is your first one, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great ideas, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
as the book's subtitle says, inspiration. I probably won't knit any of the projects exactly as they are in the book but it gives you ideas and confidence to try your own creations and colour combinations. The only slightly disappointing thing is that all the patterns are for scarves, shawls, throws and cushions, no jumpers or cardigans. Lovely photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idea inspiring, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
I eagerly awaited this book and wasn't disappointed when it arrived .... Beautiful pictures , lovely stories behind the designs and well written patterns ..... So much warmth comes through on each page and you're literally inspired to knit with each page read .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing since sliced bread., 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, full of wonderful colour and lovely patterns that make your fingers itch to get started. I love to just look thro it, it brightens my day. It is my 4th book of Faffe Fassets and if the house was afire I would be sure to grab them as I fled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Gorgeous!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting with The Color Guys (Hardcover)
beautiful, amazing patterns suitable for knitters of all abilities. Start on the easy projects and work your way up to the challenges of the harder ones. You will learn something from this book and will be really pleased with the results of your knits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting with The Color Guys
Knitting with The Color Guys by Brandon Mably (Hardcover - 4 Jan. 2012)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews