Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book for winter warmers
I've been waiting a while for this book, and was pleased when it finally arrived.
As with all my craft/pattern/reference/source books, there are some styles in here I just wouldn't make or wear.
Most patterns are basic chunky, quick knit and warm, with a few delicate neck cowls and some more "dressy" ideas.
All in all a good source reference and I can play...
Published on 22 Nov. 2010 by Jayceeme

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I only knitted one cowl from this
This is an american book, knitted mainly on circular needles. The patterns were ok but the wool isn't really available. I sold it on after knitting one item.
Published 16 months ago by Ms. R. E. Tedstone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book for winter warmers, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
Jayceeme "jayceeme" (YARM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
I've been waiting a while for this book, and was pleased when it finally arrived.
As with all my craft/pattern/reference/source books, there are some styles in here I just wouldn't make or wear.
Most patterns are basic chunky, quick knit and warm, with a few delicate neck cowls and some more "dressy" ideas.
All in all a good source reference and I can play about with the styles by changing yarn weights.
Obviously as it's US printed the yarns are not always available, but any good knitter can easily substitute for what is in your stash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for cowlgirls, 23 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Most of the patterns are worth doing though some are just outright bizzare. The big problem I have with this book is the recommended yarns are so very very expensive. I priced one cowl and it would have cost me 78 quid to make it using the yarn that they used!!!!! Shop around and it turns out quite ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely,fun pattern book, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
This is a great little pattern book, little in the sense that the only patterns in it are for neckwarmers, aka cowls. Perhaps not for the novice knitter as the patterns require the knitter to be able to use the four needle method. The pattens are for the most part easy as far as the stitch technique goes and where the patterns are slightly more complex the author relies on the written word and not the chart method. There are around 42 patterns in this book and quite a few use thick wool so are fast and satisfying to knit, before you know it you have a completed accessory! Its a good way to learn the four needle method and to use up bits of wool or simply dip your toe in the world of knitting without committing to a complicated pattern, or the purchase of loads of wool, which can seem daunting to someone who has started knitting but is'nt ready for a jumper or a more complex pattern. Recommended and good start for being creative with your own ideas and interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of ideas, 15 May 2014
By 
Seaside Sue (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
Beautifully produced book with a large variety of patterns. Right at the beginning different types of cowl are described with the measurements which is particularly useful for knitters who like to make their own patterns. The only reason I took off one star is that the yarns used are expensive/difficult to get and though gauge is given so you can substitute other yarns, the actual fabric produced is so important for cowls - ie how drapey is it? - there could be difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good selection, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
Bought this as I had the good intention of making lots of Christmas presents.

Really good selection of patterns .some would suit a complete beginner at knitting and others are more complicated.have knitted a couple and they match anything you can buy in a shop.good investment as you can always adapt a pattern with different wool e t c
Yes.I would say a really good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I only knitted one cowl from this, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Ms. R. E. Tedstone "swirl21uk" (West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
This is an american book, knitted mainly on circular needles. The patterns were ok but the wool isn't really available. I sold it on after knitting one item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant book, 29 May 2011
By 
S. Booker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
I bought this book, and was really looking forward to receiving it. Unfortunately there were only two patterns in the whole book that I would actually knit. Everyone has different tastes, so there is a big selection in here. The instructions are well written, and the photographs are good. If I had looked through it first I may not have bought it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did not like it, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
Designed for the American market. Irritating to try to convert the instructions and recommended wool not available in local wool shops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cowgirls, 14 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
received on time good condition but the patterns were a bit too modern for me good value though will order sometime soon
thanks anyway pat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great designs!, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) (Paperback)
I was looking for some designs for smallish projects and this book is perfect! Lots of variety and knits for all occasions! Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection)
Cowl Girls (Cathy Carron Collection) by Cathy Carron (Paperback - 7 Dec. 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews