Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect land?
To be able to read this piece of whimsy and philosophical or political fancy by Henry VIIIs greatest chancellor seems to me to be a singular experience. Whimsy it may be but written in an age when books were not commonplace, pre Shakespeare or Milton, it feels like a text that should be honoured yet not treated too reverently. More would have wanted us to argue with him,...
Published 16 months ago by Tweedledum

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit heavy going
Starts slow and doesn't speed up! You can see why there isn't really anywhere as Utopian as the place described! One of those books that you read just to say you've read it!
Published 11 months ago by GT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect land?, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
To be able to read this piece of whimsy and philosophical or political fancy by Henry VIIIs greatest chancellor seems to me to be a singular experience. Whimsy it may be but written in an age when books were not commonplace, pre Shakespeare or Milton, it feels like a text that should be honoured yet not treated too reverently. More would have wanted us to argue with him, tear it apart make crazy suggestions if only to give him the opportunity to argue with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit heavy going, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
Starts slow and doesn't speed up! You can see why there isn't really anywhere as Utopian as the place described! One of those books that you read just to say you've read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books are Books, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
This is by far the best way of carrying around a 16th century book to read, I had to read this for uni and this was absolutely a good get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utopia, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia: Thomas More (Paperback)
excellent book. I had already read it but the friend I boguht it for loves it too No more to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good clean version of the text, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Paperback)
I read this for a class and it was a very good read. If you make it to the second half it gets quite fascinating - although I decided I'd rather not live in "Utopia". (The first half is pretty dull and half the time I couldn't tell who was speaking.)
This version of the text is nice and clean, not a scholarly edition, I suppose, because of its lack of footnotes. I regretted the lack of footnotes eventually, but whilst reading it, their absence made the page less distracting.
It's a thin, light copy - good to carry around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utopia Classic and Free, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
New to Kindle App on my laptop, I started off with free books, to see how it worked for me. Utopia written by Thomas Moore in 1516, is really a critque of people of his own time, a book that has influenced much of society. The tale is based around a imaginery character called Raphael Hythloday, whom Moore meets and who tells him about his travels to a distant place called Utopia, and it is this that Moore bases his book on.

The community of Utopia is based on the idea that everything is shared, both social and political. There is no private wealth, and everything is shared, so all men and woman capable of working, must contribute to the community, by doing their fair share of work. Those that will not work, yet are capable are punished. The idea is one of sharing and exchanging items to make sure everyone has what they need to live simply. There is no money within Utopia.
There is an equality of men and woman and the opportunity to educate themselves, People are allowed to worship any religion, all of them are equal in Utopia. Utopia is a democratic and equal society, where everyone can grow, both mentally and as a community, working together.
In many ways the book Utopia opened peoples eyes to new ideas and ways of working together.

This book deserves to be read, I defiantly reccomend it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just over 100 pages of tedium, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
I got around 70% into this book so I feel justified in giving it a rating and review but I absolutely could not finish it. Tedious and repetitive throughout. I had hoped this would prove an interesting prelude to books I have previously read, such as The Communist Manifesto but, instead, it turned out to be a poorly written account when it had so much potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on socialism, 4 Mar 2014
By 
David J. Dunmore "Gadget Freak" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
Very clear translation of an interesting variation on the usual socialist paradigm. Emphasizes co-operation and grass-roots democracy with minimal higher level administration. Continual personal development, and a balance of personal and shared responsibility are also considered. Our politicians of all parties ans persuasions ought to read and take time to understand the essential humanity of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Failed to deliver Utopian Ideals, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was going to be a little more equitable and far reaching in it's overall ambition for a fairer "commonwealth"!!
I also considered it very strange that slaves could still be an option in Utopia. It reminded me in so many aspects of religious sect commune or hippy colony but not quite as cool!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Utopia (Kindle Edition)
A must read,a classic it is on Amazon's free books
So all the credit to Amazon I hope they make more
Titles available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

Utopia
Utopia by Thomas More (Paperback - 20 Dec 2010)
4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews