Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars72
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2013
Miko Peled's credentials are impeccable; he was a captain in the Israeli Defence Force, his father was a General in the IDF and his grand father took part in the declaration of Israeli independence. Despite all of that he has now turned his back on Zionism and explains in the book, with humility and humanity his reasons for doing so. After conducting his own research he also discredits many of the Zionist myths, including the background to the 1967 war and the true circumstances behind the Palestinians leaving their homes and homeland. Probably because of its explosive contents, this book has had little coverage in the UK media, all the more reason to read it.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
I couldn't put this book down. Since I know the political background from personal experience, this book gives a different perspective from the grandson of one of the signatories of the founding of the State of Israel. It revealed how the high hopes of the Zionist founders have become so corrupted by the humiliating and degrading behaviour of its army that a peaceful solution of two States is no longer possible. The author prophesies that one day the Zionists will have to suffer the same humiliations that they currently inflict on the Palestinians.
11 comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Miko Peled is the son of a famous Israeli general, hero of the 1967 war. This is a moving story of a man who has taken the baton from his father in confronting the cost to both Israelis and the Palestinians of the brutal occupation of Palestinian lands. Miko served in the IDF himself so he is no naive peacenik. While the 'two state solution' is still theoretically on the table, Miko rigorously challenges the feasibility of such an option as Israeli settlements continue to be built to scupper any possibility of a viable Palestinian state. He demolishes the deceptions around Israel's talk of 'security' in whose name violence continues to be perpetrated. As a Jew he has reached out to 'the other' and found common cause with all those who want a just peace in this troubled land where so many continue to be humiliated and dispossessed.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
From a perspective of a Palestinian living in exile, this book explained a lot about the time between 1948-1967. It also shows the other side of the story. Worth reading because it makes you think a lot about what's next and analyze why we reached the stalemate of peace talks.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
I expect like most I previously hadn't thought too much about the history of Israel or as it turns out, the arcane, arrogant attitudes of the leadership of the Israeli people. This book through the personal story of Miko Peled gave me an insight to both and opened my eyes to the real situation in place today between Israel and Palestine and its people. My views are now more refined and lead me to believe that the Israeli government has serious questions to answer and much for which to atone.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Well worth reading.
Mico Peled's personal journey from Israeli nationalism to an understanding of the injustices inflicted on the Palestinian people and a desire to do something about it. Most remarkable is his retelling of the story of his father- a senior general and war hero in the Israeli Defence Force- who, seeing the suffering of the Palestinians, worked alongside Palestinians in attempts to bring a just and lasting peace.
Mico Peled comes to understand more about his late father as he learns about a massacre of Palestinian men and boys by the IDF in the '67 war which may have been a turning point for the general. General Peled had tried to investigate the massacre, to get some sort of justice for those who suffered and to prevent his beloved IDF from degenerating into a brutal and cynical army of occupation, but was stonewalled by the most senior Israeli military and politicians.
Later, the general helped to bring peace talks about, only to see agreements cynically ignored by successive Israeli governments- as seems to continue to this day.
There is a note of hope in the stories of Israelis who object to what their government does in their name, and have come alongside the Palestinians in the struggle to bring peace with justice to Israel/Palestine.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Miko Peled takes the reader on a journey across the divide of hate created by Zionism in both Israel and Palestine. In tackling the apocalyptic cruelty of extreme far-right statehood and racial supremacism, his touching humanity towards his Middle Eastern brothers shines through.
Great read.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
One of the best political books I ever read show the true story of Palestine, great person, I respected him so much and really enjoy reading the book and see you tube videos about it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Finally, the truth is told about the Palestinian ordeal - and by an Israeli! It is a MUST READ for everyone, written by a remarkable man. I sincerely recommend it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This book originates from an unusual source i.e. an Israeli Generals son both of whom were involved in the establishing of the State of Israel but came to see that the Palestinian people have a right to independence. Their peace making/keeping is truly inspirational. The involvement of the Rotary movement is also very illuminating. Read it! Get others to read it too.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)