Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I know where Baja, California is
Actually, I did know but I'd no idea what it was like and this book puts it all into perspective. It's an excellent story, filled with over the top characters who bring this part of the world vibrantly alive.

Whether tuna filled with dope is the best way to smuggle drugs is one thing but rather too much information on the processing of canned tuna is making me...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by Michael Watson

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keystone cops on the high seas, or something like that.
As inevitable as the way in which idiotic mendacious fictional characters try to rip off powerful and dangerous drug lords is the way that Wahoo Rhapsody by Shaun Morey will be compared to Carl Hiaasen .Indeed a couple of reviews on here have done so already . The comparison is apt in style and tone , but alas ,not in quality .
Atticus Fish, a mega-rich American...
Published on 8 July 2011 by russell clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keystone cops on the high seas, or something like that., 8 July 2011
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As inevitable as the way in which idiotic mendacious fictional characters try to rip off powerful and dangerous drug lords is the way that Wahoo Rhapsody by Shaun Morey will be compared to Carl Hiaasen .Indeed a couple of reviews on here have done so already . The comparison is apt in style and tone , but alas ,not in quality .
Atticus Fish, a mega-rich American expatriate , a man who sued god and won , owns a fishing boat left in the competent hands of old friend Captain Winston (who once saved Atticus's life). Unfortunately, the first mate, the marvellously monikered Weevil decides to secretly run marijuana for a Mexican drug lord ,and then if that is not stupid enough decides to rip off said drug dealer while engaging in childish pranks involving fish hooks on the boats grad student Pike. Before you can shout Tuna , unpleasant goons under orders from the mysterious drug lord known only as "La Cucaracha" descend upon the Wahoo Rhapsody in order to find out what happened to the missing drugs .
The book does have it's moments of inspiration and to his credit the author writes in a zippy and humorously sharp manner .He does rely on Keystone Cops type pratfalls too often though .The books lead character , Attricus Fish ,is by far the most interesting thing about the book .His code of maritime justice is often brilliantly conceived and morally admirable . However the plot meanders, not unlike a trawler looking for the most profitable fishing grounds ,and there are numerous stereotypes employed , especially with the female characters . It feels the plot is heading towards some magnificent high farce conclusion but as it is, it all trudges towards a somewhat mundane damp squib climax.
Wahoo Rhapsody is certainly worth a read , and the author does show promise , but he will need to develop more complex plot's ,three dimensional characterisation throughout the novel entire, and more consistency if he is to be compared to Carl Hiaasen( not that Shaun Morey may want to ) with any ringing validity .As it is this book reads a bit Hiaasen -lite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I know where Baja, California is, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Actually, I did know but I'd no idea what it was like and this book puts it all into perspective. It's an excellent story, filled with over the top characters who bring this part of the world vibrantly alive.

Whether tuna filled with dope is the best way to smuggle drugs is one thing but rather too much information on the processing of canned tuna is making me wonder if I'll ever eat the stuff again. However, this excellent and very funny story - in parts - centres around Atticus Fish (lovers of 'To Kill A Mockingbird' may well be shocked) who, thanks to his very successful litigation against God, escaped to Baja with his billions to live the simple life.

Part of this was to buy a fishing boat for his friend, Captain Winston, who had earlier saved him from a watery grave, hence the title of the book. Unfortunately, other people get in the way of his laid back existence, not least a serious drug dealer suitably nicknamed La Cucaracha and the heavies who carry out the dirty work. Now that Fish's friends are caught up in this mess, he sets out to deal with the problem. It's a glorious tale of slapstick characters with suitably slapstick names but underlying is the nasty side of Mexican drug dealers and their even nastier ways of dealing with those who would steal their goods.

I really enjoyed this book, chortling aloud in places and some of Fish's one-liners are memorable, to say the least. Shaun Morey has created a cast of, well a few who could well feature in another story and should this ever be made into a film, the results should be a sure-fire winner. I really hope that Fish returns and I really hope this book becomes a success and all credit to Amazon for helping to promote such talented authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining read, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So hard to put this sort of book into any kind of genre - anyone who has read Carl Hiaasen's books will be at home with this one and should enjoy it. On this side of the Atlantic Chris Brookmyre's work probably comes closest and anyone who likes Brookmyre would do well to check out both Shaun Morey (this book's author) and Hiaassen. There is real dark madness at times here with smuggling and environmental concerns managing to co-exist happily (& entertainingly) in this story. Throw in some corruption, skulduggery and a very rich ex lawyer and some well crafted characters and it makes for a very entertaining read.

Probably not the deepest book out there but certainly very enjoyable - give it a try if you like comic dark bizarreness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly good read!, 11 Jun 2011
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book's style reminded me of the work of Carl Hiaasen - witty, exciting and a touch eccentric.
Wheras Hiassen's books are set in Florida, this one's set in Mexico and California. We have a lawyer who made billions of dollars suing God and who has had to hide out in Mexico so the enraged followers of pretty much all religions don't find him. We have a drugged up smuggler who doesn't know what he's doing half the time. We have a fishing boat - "Wahoo Rhapsody" - said smuggler is using without the captain's knowledge. We have an intern working on the boat who has a secret. We have a beautiful private eye named Toozie.
I sat and read this book with a smile on my face.
I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wahoo Rhapsody, 20 Jun 2011
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The story is about the crew of the tuna fishing boat called Wahoo Rhapsody and the drug smuggling of Marijuana. The Marijuana is smuggled by the First Mate Weevil Ott inside the yellow fin tuna for a drug lord however Weevil becomes greedy and decides to keep a percentage for himself which is when the drug lord's heavy's show up looking for the missing drugs. Most of the crew know nothing of the drug smuggling going on including the captain of the boat. The part owner of the boat was saved from drowning by the captain and crew which is the reason he invested in the boat and he is a millionaire lawyer who actually sued God and won. Start throwing in some dark comic moments, violence and crime and you have a very enjoyable and easy to read story that is hard to put down. I would like to read more by this author and would definitely recommend this book to friends, a really funny and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, funny, turnpager, 5 Sep 2011
By 
Syd - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great great book. from the word go, it is amusing, easy to read and grabs your attention. the plot is intriguing and takes numerous twists. several laugh-out-loud moments. a genuine page-turner and great for a holiday read. exotic beaches, chalamatous anti-heroes, drug dealers, sexy women, and tuna - it has it all. a light hearted adventourous romp of a book rather than anything too high-brow or meaningful. if you like something thought-provoking, it's not for you, if you like a bit of fun mindless escapism, buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spent several happy hours reading this novel. Highly recommend this and the other atticus fish novels. Do recommend that you tackle them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading this book, quite tongue in cheek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual characters to meet, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story and different characters but I found it did get complicated at times. Interesting enough that I had read the next one as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a daily deal after reading description and reviews. It is a pleasant enough read but I am glad I didn't pay full price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1)
Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel Book 1) by Shaun Morey (Paperback - 24 May 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews