Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wry take on "Catcher"
I feared this book might be one of those sequels-by-another-author which so often don't work. Happily, it's nothing of the kind. Instead, it is the story, set in 2001, of Daniel, a teenager recently diagnosed with leukemia who uses Catcher in the Rye as a lodestone - "what would Holden do?" I suppose you could read Catcher, Caught without having previously read...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Bob Sherunkle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot idea
A really interesting plot following the day to day ups and downs of a young man with cancer and the way it impacts on his life
Published 20 months ago by Jean Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For American teenagers only, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Alun Williams "mathematician manqué" (Peterborough,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catcher, Caught (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This novel is probably mainly intended for young Americans studying "The Catcher in the Rye" in school, and if you don't fit into that category, and haven't read J D Salinger's most celebrated work recently, you may find this book somewhat underwhelming. It is quite well written, and the scenario of a teenager at risk of imminent death from leukemia, because his hippy parents reject conventional treatment and prefer to trust alternative therapies, is an interesting one with plenty of possibilities for biting satire.
Unfortunately the first-person narration by the 15 year old protagonist, Daniel Landon, makes most of the book read like a plot-line from a teen soap opera, with the focus mainly on his relationships, perhaps most notably with his first and probably only girl-friend Meredith. Daniel seems to accept his parents' decisions about this treatment without much question until almost the end of the book. For me, the most interesting parts of the story - when Daniel leaves his home behind in search of treatment - occupied far too few pages; the blurb talks about Daniel's following in Holden Caulfield's footsteps, but this does not take place until the last few chapters. Some of the plot devices, such as Daniel's best friend Mack's increasing problems with illicit drugs, seemed somewhat contrived to me, and I suspected that they had been included to tick boxes of "issues" that teen novels should deal with. Catcher Caught may well appeal more to educators looking for books that teenagers might find relevant to their lives than to the teenagers who will then be forced to read the novel as part of their studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mid teens through the eyes of Mid teens, 27 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Catcher, Caught (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully written book about a book, about times of transition, and about how literature can at times be as real and influential as 'real life'

The central character of this book, Daniel, has acute myeloid leukaemia. And he is 15. With all the confusion, excitement, intensity and change of being 15 anyway, even without a terminal illness. So, there are the relationships with parents, siblings, a best friend going through changes, and of course, girls. There's school. There's the future - except, what if you don't have one, but everyone needs to pretend that you do? And there's this wonderfully cool, confused other boy of your age, a character in a novel, Holden Caulfield in Salinger's Catcher In The Rye, who seems not only to understand so much more than the people around him, but also often understands so much more about you, because in reading about him, you can understand yourself as well as him.

Although this book will I'm sure have an immediate appeal for a reflective mid-teens reader, its also insightful for adults. There are wisdoms and maturities in youth as well as wisdoms and maturities in age.

Sarah Collins Honenberger deftly weaves Daniel and Holden Caulfield together. You don't have to have read Catcher, or be a fan of Catcher, to enjoy this book, though inevitably you are bound to enjoy it more if you do, as it becomes more resonant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catcher, Caught (Kindle Edition)
Must admit I'm really struggling with this book and not desperate to complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holden Caufield is his guide., 21 Jun 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Catcher, Caught (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a contempory novel set in 2001. It is written with the 16 year old voice of Daniel who has been diagnosed with leukemia. Daniel only has a few months to live and he turns to JG Salinger's Catcher in the Rye for inspiration. This is Sarah Collins Honenberger's third novel and I thought it well written and an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I do object to having to write something after I have rated a product. I have expressed my opinion by rating it haven't I?, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. Biltcliffe (Colchester, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catcher, Caught (Kindle Edition)
I do object to having to write something after I have rated a product. I have expressed my opinion by rating it haven't I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catcher, Caught
Catcher, Caught by Sarah Collins Honenberger (Paperback - 18 Jan 2011)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews