Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful treat!
Being an owner of the original Sailor Moon Manga I along with many other people jumped for delight when Kodansha announced they were re-releasing Sailor Moon. I was just as excited that they said they would be brining Sailor V into English at the same time.

I have to say, Kodansha know what they're doing, they haven't disappointed. This Manga is very high...
Published on 17 Sept. 2011 by Book Obsessed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A welcome re-release of the original
This is the first volume of a series which started before Sailor Moon. The first few chapters are a little rough, but the author's skill improves with practice. You could imagine this as "practice" for Sailor Moon.

Prior to getting this and the first volume of Sailor Moon manga my only exposure to the story lines had been seeing the Sailor Moon anime. In the...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by AJR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful treat!, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
Being an owner of the original Sailor Moon Manga I along with many other people jumped for delight when Kodansha announced they were re-releasing Sailor Moon. I was just as excited that they said they would be brining Sailor V into English at the same time.

I have to say, Kodansha know what they're doing, they haven't disappointed. This Manga is very high quality, the first few pages are in colour and the first black and white page is printed with the same glossy paper the colour pages are in.

We get introduced to Mina and in this volume and find out how she becomes Sailor V. I'm not sure why but it is some-what refreshing to see old school art again, whilst Naoko does use a lot of screen tones there is just something about it that makes it feel like a breath of fresh air from the big eyed Shoujo we get now.

Another treat is longer than the standard Manga! I'm not going to say much about the plot because it is really something to find out for yourself. Sure, it's not as good as Sailor Moon but it is defiantly a treat. If you are a Sailor Moon fan I say buy it now (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A welcome re-release of the original, 25 Nov. 2011
By 
AJR "cynical" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
This is the first volume of a series which started before Sailor Moon. The first few chapters are a little rough, but the author's skill improves with practice. You could imagine this as "practice" for Sailor Moon.

Prior to getting this and the first volume of Sailor Moon manga my only exposure to the story lines had been seeing the Sailor Moon anime. In the anime, Sailor Venus first appears several episodes in (Sailor Mercury and Sailor Mars appear much earlier); then, Sailor Venus is already experienced, but we hear very little about her prior experience. In this volume we get to see how she started.

There are a number of parallels between the beginnings of Sailor Moon and Sailor V - a clever cat and a reluctant heroine being the most obvious.

In later chapters of this volume we see cameos of familiar characters from Sailor Moon.

This is fun, and interesting as background to Sailor Moon Sailor Moon Vol. 1 (Sailor Moon (Kodansha)). I wouldn't bother with this completely standalone, but if you are reading the Sailor Moon manga (which I recommend), then this is a pleasant adjunct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Sailor Moon Fans, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
As the original concept before Sailor Moon, this really is a must read for any hard core fan. Its great to see where Naoko started and where she ended up with the Sailor Moon we love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point :D, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this manga :D its basically the back story of sailor V, I think if your a sailor moon fan you will enjoy it :D :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Mizz Amanda (penwortham, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
love the story and caricters. will get my mother and frinds to read this. then we can chat about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The prologue to Sailor Moon, 23 Oct. 2011
By 
Star_Sea "Xing" (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
Published before her worldwide smash "Sailor Moon", Naoko Takeuchi's first magical girl manga focuses on the story of Aino Minako before she became Sailor Venus. For some reason, it was never translated into English when the Sailor Moon anime became famous, so this is the first time it's been officially translated into English! This first volume shows how Minako meets her counterpart Artemis, why she began tying her hair back with that red ribbon, and details her never-ending quest to find a cute boyfriend and avoid studying. There are also cameos from the other sailor senshi. The translation notes at the end are very helpful, as they show just how tomboyish Minako is compared to other girls and give a lot of necessary background information about everyday life in Tokyo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Code name sailor v, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
K. bailey "Kai" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
I have been waiting many years to see this properly released in the uk and finally its here with a great translation and nice inside colour pages first being the original cover of sailor v and the other the first page of the comic all beautifully done.

The story is wonderfully entertaining and a fantastic read it is well worth reading as well as the book being decently thick as the volumes have been combined so it has alot more value for money this is a fantastic book for people of all ages so buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1
Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1 by Naoko Takeuchi (Paperback - 13 Sept. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews