Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written and challenging
Straight off, I totally agree with Professor Richard Conn Henry's review in Journal of Scientific Exploration, Volume 23, Number 3, Fall, 2009, page 371 where he agrees that the essence of the book is revealed by the following quote; "the animal observer creates reality and not the other way around." Along this line of thought is the concepts of reality, the inner and...
Published 16 months ago by Sky

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately disappointing
Your reaction to this book will depend very much on whether you have been exposed to the ideas in it before. If you've read speculative books about quantum physics (Paul Davis for example) or on the creation of the universe by consciousness (Dean Radin for example) then you will be used to distinguished scientists stretching your mind a bit. Lanza is a very distinguished...
Published on 10 Mar. 2012 by John Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Idealism for beginners (quantum update), 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
I was ultimately in agreement with the conclusions of the book - however, 'biocentrism' is thoroughly unoriginal yet purports itself to be original, even constantly repeating its principles, as if it were a cult manifesto.

This book is simply a basic explication of the centuries-old theory known as 'Idealism', updated with some quantum physics as further sanction to the theory. Although Lanza does acknowledge this (citing the original Idealists such as Leibniz, Berkeley, Kant, Schopenhauer, et al), he then implicitly claims to have come up with this theory alone! Biocentrism is Idealism.

In those original Idealist works, the authors go into far more detail with regard to their reasonings. In Biocentrism, Lanza only gives the basic outlines of the Idealist paradigm, and so would fail to convince a skeptic to his position. He is also somewhat confused when it comes to the relationships amongst 'time', 'memory' and 'perception'.

Furthermore, there is too much biographical sentimentalism in the book. It detracts from the flow of the theory. I can only think this was added due to egoism and an anticipated mawkish demographic.

Overall, it's an 'Idealism for Dummies' book, with quantum platitudes thrown in. I should recommend going straight for the superior, primary, original stuff if you really want to go through the wardrobe: e.g. Kant's 'Critique of Pure Reason' or Schopenhauer's 'The World as Will and Representation'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all in the mind ., 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much as Lanza's hypothesis is seductive, I think physicists will not be so easily convinced.
My ignorance allowed Lanza's theory to gain traction but I realised I may have been an easy mark.
However, my fears do not mean Lanza is wrong - he could be right, in which case, he's not only a brave man for bucking the easy option of agreeing with the physicists, he's a genius for collecting and arranging the threads of biocentrism that have been laying tantalizingly dormant for several millennia.
This book is a thought provoking journey at worst, a profound revelation at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biocentrism, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic and very interesting read, well worth reading if you have an open mind.I can't get the book back off my sceptical son !Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting ?, 2 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
Robert Lanza in his book "Biocentrism" attemps to explain that the Universe and everything it contains Doesn't exist untill a conscious being (animal or Human) observes it. If nothing conscious is present everything exists in a state of probability waves. a Soup of nothingness that only takes form when a conscious observer is present. He makes a reasonable job of it. How the soup of matter takes on all the specific forms is not explained. Why when we look at the Moon, we see the Moon and not a plate of apples or the planet Mercury. Rabert Lanza will rattle on about the nature of sub stomic stuff then veer of about experiences in his personal life. I get the impression that the man is a bit confused. I didn't buy the book to read about how he pruned a tree in his garden,if he wants to write about that stuff he should write a biography. I bought it for his screw ridden opinions about Science although the book is at times fascinating. Quite a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read for anyone, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
'Biocentrism' is labelled as a "crazy theory" by a few, however I would put this down to a lack of understanding and a tendency to be dogmatic about current science.

Regardless of what people think, this book is a must read for everyone.

It is difficult to describe a theory that seems to go against the norms of everyday life, all I can say is that, finally, science and philosophy are merged in an attempt to understand existence and consciousness.

Buy this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking but maybe they push their thesis too hard, 17 May 2014
By 
Norman Bishop (Aby, near Norrköping, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
Excellent account of quantum physicsand resulting philosophy that weirdnesses in view of the universe. Interesting return to Bishop Berkeley's philosophy emphasising thre importance of perception.and its relation to comscious experience. How shall consciousness be explained - if ever? I am somewhat sceptical to their view that consciousness survives bodily death. If so, where was consciousness before we were born? In short, a number of good questions but the answers given ar speculative and uncertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most progressive philosophical theory!, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rob Lanza proposes a concept called ‘Bio-centrism’ as the key to unifying physics known as ‘The theory of everything’. He describes how human perception and consciousness shape reality and common experience to understand the limitations of science when determining ‘reality and the physical world’ and questions our cultural perceptions. By far the most progressive philosophical theory I’ve heard. Good to see philosophy has re-gained credit in mainstream science. Bought the book, can’t wait to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation!, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been compulsive reading which I think provides answers to many unanswered questions that I've had. Would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most inspiring books I have read in ..., 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the most inspiring books I have read in a long time. Consciousness is usually dismissed by many physicists and some psychologists, and all life is reduced to mindless molecules randomly interacting. Robert Lanza and Bob Berman carefully show that this approach misses out on fundamental findings that are conveniently ignored. The case they make for consciousness being primary rather than matter producing consciousness as an emergent property is stunning and persuasive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concepts., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One more throw into the mix.
T h e search for answers will continue to present more questions as fast as answers are solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Biocentrism
Biocentrism by Bob Berman Robert Lanza (Paperback - 22 July 2010)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews