Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written and challenging
Straight off, I totally agree with Professor Richard Conn Henry's review in Journal of Scientific Exploration, Volume 23, Number 3, Fall, 2009, page 371 where he agrees that the essence of the book is revealed by the following quote; "the animal observer creates reality and not the other way around." Along this line of thought is the concepts of reality, the inner and...
Published 14 months ago by Sky

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately disappointing
Your reaction to this book will depend very much on whether you have been exposed to the ideas in it before. If you've read speculative books about quantum physics (Paul Davis for example) or on the creation of the universe by consciousness (Dean Radin for example) then you will be used to distinguished scientists stretching your mind a bit. Lanza is a very distinguished...
Published on 10 Mar. 2012 by John Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written and challenging, 26 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
Straight off, I totally agree with Professor Richard Conn Henry's review in Journal of Scientific Exploration, Volume 23, Number 3, Fall, 2009, page 371 where he agrees that the essence of the book is revealed by the following quote; "the animal observer creates reality and not the other way around." Along this line of thought is the concepts of reality, the inner and the outer and the limits of our sense organs. The author's use quantum mechanics as a basis of their seven principles of Biocentrism. I like the way they gradually and carefully build the basis of each of the seven by clearly explaining the results of the experiments using quotes of interpretation from established authorities. One might claim that there is nothing new here. Perhaps, but I suggest that one will find the most clearly stated attempt to make sense of the illogical results of quantum mechanic experiments. This, if nothing else, makes the book valuable to the lay person who may have tried to understand the various findings but had to shudder and put down other books in dismay.
The reader will find an understandable explanation of the nature of time and space. Lastly, the second underlying objective of the book is to explain why consciousness is a necessary factor in making any sense at all of the message revealed in over 50 years of quantum mechanics research.

I wish to quote professor Henry again: "So what Lanza says in this book is not new. Then why does Robert have to say it at all? It is because we, the physicists, do NOT say it--or if we do say it, we only whisper it, and in private - furiously blushing as we mouth the words. True, yes; politically correct, hell no!"

Planet as Self: An Earthen Spirituality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and well written. but not surprisingly, no answers to the ultimate question..., 10 Mar. 2015
The book addresses the issue of the nature of consciousness and reality and unsurprisingly, does not provided an ultimate answer. The authors concede that we are nowhere near knowing what generates the experience of consciousness, what it is that references the visual and other sensory events in the machinery of our brain, yet they tenuously correlate consciousness with other scientific principles. The author's premise is that everything that we know exists does so only through the conduit of the conscious mind without which, nothing exists; not space, not time, not the moon. He supports this biocentrism with reference to relativity and quantum theory and in particular, the dual slit experiments using entangled particles where apparently it is proved that their behaviour is determined by whether they are being measured or not. If he is simply claiming that the sensory and worldly out-there experience we enjoy of the stuff of the universe is generated by the mind, then from childhood, I have always thought that that was obvious, and so the book provides nothing new for me. However, he seems to be saying that if unobserved, then everything, even macroscopic entities, like a chair for example, only exist as probabilistic wave functions and only become defined as objects when observed by the conscious mind. This ignores the fact, I believe, that wave functions collapse when particles themselves interact as in macroscopic bodies, where one particle essentially measures the properties of another. So, for me, reality is created and exists without consciousness but in the untainted, unfiltered entirety of energy and matter of the raw universe. If all sentient beings were to be extinguished instantly across the universe, the unobserved universe would still continue, surely, to exist with as much or as little purpose as consciousness itself. The book did not change my own view if indeed I have interpreted the authors' viewpoints correctly.
The book also alludes to the theory that consciousness is a universal entity and that our brains act as receivers or receptacles for this one consciousness which I believe, is an idea incorporated in the 'dust' of Phillip Pullmans "His Dark Materials" trilogy and is a facet of eastern religions such as Buddhism. Perhaps the universe does need three components matter, energy and consciousness (the elusive dark energy).

I enjoyed the book as it is thought-provoking and it is laced with interesting and moving biographical anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark book., 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The concepts in this book feel like the missing piece in the jigsaw. As uncomfortable as they may be to come to terms with, they point to a new era of understanding that makes sense at the most fundamental level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately disappointing, 10 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
Your reaction to this book will depend very much on whether you have been exposed to the ideas in it before. If you've read speculative books about quantum physics (Paul Davis for example) or on the creation of the universe by consciousness (Dean Radin for example) then you will be used to distinguished scientists stretching your mind a bit. Lanza is a very distinguished scientist himself, and he explains very clearly just how far the reality of the world is different from our everyday mechanistic understanding of it. Briefly, there's no "out there" out there. It's all in our heads.
There are two problems with the book though. On the one hand, Lanza is extremely careful in his arguments, and rather timid in his speculations. You will be disappointed not to have several more chapters drawing out the conclusions of what he has been describing. On the other hand - perhaps to make the book a decent length - there are several unrelated chapters of Thoreau-type folksiness drawn from a life which has obviously been pretty uneventful.
If this book succeeds, maybe something more daring next time? Let's hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
Refreshingly original, visionary, free from dogma, written by a scientist who is both a biologist and a physicist, and yet understandable by a layreader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, challenging, thought-provoking and beautifully written book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biocentrism (Paperback)
Here is a cool scientific account which provides a theory and some evidence from quantum physics to the effect that consciousness does not arise from matter, but that it is the other way around. At first, an astonishing idea, and one that we are ill-equipped in the West to process; but Dr Lanza shows that the idea of conciousness arising spontaneously from inert lifeless matter is no less an incredible proposition (if you analyse it and many people have!), than for life/ conciousness being the basis for reality, including matter, time and space. Basically, as I understand it (and I am not a scientist), our subjective realities come into 'being' through the act of our 'measurement' (i.e. awareness) of them. Put another way, Dr Lanza posits, what would 'be' in the universe if there were no consciousness/ sentience to feel/ see/smell/ measure/ experience it? Dr Lanza does not fall into the realms of mystical speculation, but he does make tentative links between Biocentrism and Eastern ideas/ outlooks and beliefs, including some of those of Hinduism and many of those of Buddhism e.g. re Samsara and the ultimate nature of reality as 'emptiness', the illusion of time and duality. The good doctor, however, errs when he lumps Buddhism in with other theist religions, an odd call, in an otherwise excellent book. Still merits 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biocentrism, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Provokes so much thought. You can't fail to agree, but also to question. Absolutely fascinating. It's a must read. If you know someone who has everything and need to buy them a gift. Get them Biocentrism. You can't fail. If they have a brain they'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling & Understandable, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is cutting edge science as it should be written: intelligent, witty, warm and understandable by the lay-person!

The central premise - that consciousness is the creative force behind reality - is deduced Sherlock Holmes fashion, in the sense that "when you have eliminated the impossible, what remains, however improbable, must be the truth." Probably that isn't going to satisfy the likes of Richard Dawkins, but Mr. Berman stands more chance of making the hard-nosed sceptics think than most.

Engaging and enthralling for anyone who cares or dares to ask, "How come all this is here?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concepts., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One more throw into the mix.
T h e search for answers will continue to present more questions as fast as answers are solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation!, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been compulsive reading which I think provides answers to many unanswered questions that I've had. Would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Biocentrism
Biocentrism by Bob Berman Robert Lanza (Paperback - 22 July 2010)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews