Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple guidance that helps a great deal
The best thing about this book is that it breaks down the structures and tools found in a screenplay and gives you enough information to feel confident enough to use them yourself.
The examples are clear and all help to illustrate the point.
I found this book extremely useful both for improving an existing screenplay and starting another.
It does not...
Published on 20 May 2003 by mackem1980

versus
9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for Beginners and Not Even All of Them
I found the content of this book to be far too basic for anyone but an absolute neophyte writer. Writers with some experience will not gain much from the material this book presents. I think anyone who is capable of turning out a good script is way, way beyond the scope of this book.
Published on 3 April 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple guidance that helps a great deal, 20 May 2003
The best thing about this book is that it breaks down the structures and tools found in a screenplay and gives you enough information to feel confident enough to use them yourself.
The examples are clear and all help to illustrate the point.
I found this book extremely useful both for improving an existing screenplay and starting another.
It does not dictate how to write, but teaches you the tricks of the trade so that you can use them in whatever way you wish.
A superb structural reference manual - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 27 Nov 2000
By A Customer
I've only read about five scriptwriting books, but in terms of story structuring this ranks top. Great book.
Ignore the previous review. I don't know what magical scriptwriting bible this person's got but, in terms of story structuring, no book I've read goes into any more depth than this, and all the books I've read got 5 star averages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for beginner through to veteran writers., 12 Jan 2000
By A Customer
My writing teacher at uni introduced me to this book and I have been using it to help me through second and third draft stages of screenplays AND novels ever since. This book has given me a tool for navigating the difficulties of dramatic structure and an enhanced fascination with and enjoyment of storytelling. I would recommend it to anyone interested in gaining a better understanding of structure, particularly three act structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read that resolves many problems., 4 Sep 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book I have purchased which deals with the subject of writing and/or re-writing screenplays - I was holding my breath waiting for this to arrive - And when I got it, I didnt put it down - I read it cover to cover - It solved many problems I had with re-writing a screenplay. This is a great book for beginners (Although I have been writing for years now.) - It re-educates but doesnt bore you like your old English lessons did and it is useful to go back to for future purposes whenever you get stuck - I recomend this to anyone who is interested in screenwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inavluable, 28 Aug 2008
By 
Eric Ian Steele (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Truly great advice for intermediate level writers and above. For those of us who have mastered three-act structure and who understand the importance of character development, this book is a welcome breath of fresh air that can blow the cobwebs out of any dusty old script. With detailed notes on concepts such as the transformational arc and "making a script commercial", Linda Seger deals precisely with what many other books skirt around with woolly phraseology. The most useful feature for me was a very practical "application" section at the end of each chapter. I honestly don't know how I did without this book for so long, as it elevates your writing to a whole new level. Well worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile book for beginner or experienced writer., 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Making a Good Script Great: A Guide for Writing & Rewriting by Hollywood Script Consultant, Linda Seger (Paperback)
Linda Seger is half way between the simplicity of Syd Field's "Screenplay" and the complexity of Robert McKee's "Story", making it a great book for those who would like to purchase their first book on the matter, as well as for others who are interested in refining their craft. She is a very intelligent person with ideas that simply work.
It truly is a book about rewriting, which makes it an indispensable asset when you're finished with your first draft - it's the closest thing to having a script consultant. But it doesn't hurt to read it in advance in order to know where you're going with your project.
If you're interested at all in screenwriting, it is a mistake not to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Simply the Best Book on Film Structure, 9 Jan 2010
This book is SO brilliant. It describes in clear detail how films are structured and is a must-buy for any aspiring screenwriter. After reading it I felt fully confident in constructing a script and was able to see why certain films were successful and others were complete flops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb book - the best I've read on the subject, 9 April 1999
By A Customer
I can't praise this book enough. It's totally reader oriented and filled to the brim with excellent advice. Working side by side with this book, you can really improve your screenplay. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What to do, how to do and how to redo it all, Seger is great, 13 Dec 1998
By A Customer
Well If you bought this book or planning to, you must be stuck somewhere along the line or don't have the slightest idea how to tell your story... worry no more! With examples from succesful writer's works and unusually easy methods, Seger takes your hand and helps you cross the street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screenplay structure laid bare., 3 May 1997
By A Customer
Written by a well-known script consultant, this is a valuable guide for writing and rewriting. It's also a classic in the field of structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews