Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
James World "Whirly" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
This book gives one of the best explanations of Dependency Injection you will find. Given that DI is applicable almost everywhere, this has to make it one of the most important books for any .NET developer to read.

I thought that with over 15 years of OO coding experience there wouldn't be much for me here, but I couldn't have been more wrong. Somehow, although the vast majority of the text seems familiar, the clarity of the explanations have had a revitalising effect on me - coding the right way just seems to be so much clearer now! The exposition is brought to life with a set of example code that is simple enough not to cloud the issues at hand yet complex enough to translate easily to real-world applications. This is a difficult balance to strike but Mark has really hit the nail on the head.

I found the sections on Anti-Patterns particularly enlightening - the description of each explains why these anti-patterns arise in a way that reinforces the understanding and motivation for the Patterns covered in the preceding section, and provides you a clear refactoring path towards a better solution.

I'm not ashamed to say that reading this book has had a significant positive impact on my application design and also improved my approach to Test Driven Development. I've found myself detecting and correcting code smells far more efficiently than I was previously able to.

If you are completely new to DI, then your experience may be harder going. This book does assume a fair degree familiarity with OO concepts - and references to ideas like SOLID code and refactoring are brought up without going into too much background detail. However, there are plenty of links in the footnotes to informative blog posts and books. If phrases like "coding to interfaces", "pattern", "anti-pattern" and "abstract factories" are only vaguely familiar to you, then you will have some reading around the subject to do to get full benefit from this book.

The benefits of understanding the ideas so well presented in this book cannot really be understated. Mark Seemann has created a book that ranks alongside the works of Bob Martin, Eric Evans, Jon Skeet and Jeffrey Richter in terms of its potential impact and importance to C# developers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
'Dependency Injection in .NET' is not only about dependency injection but about designing your application in general. The book is a real roundup of design patterns and good practices for (future) software architects. I highly recommend this book for developers who have never heard about IoC and for those ones who have been using IoC for some time. I have been using a few different IoC/DI containers and thanks to this book I realized I was doing it wrong.

Author focuses on desinging loosely coupled applications and he shows how DI can help us do it. He mentions a lot of design patterns and explaines how they are associated with DI. He also provides a reader with a lot of examples using different IoC containers.

Tha last chapter contains a catalogue of a few popular .NET IoC containers (StructureMap, Castle Windsor, Autofac, Unity, MEF).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone building any kind of software should read this book, 1 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
In this book Mark Seemann describes Dependency Injection into great detail and guides you on how to architect and develop a real world application, the right way.

You will get detailed information on most popular DI containers in .NET with lots of useful tips for each one. Even more, you will be able to see Dependency Injection applied with plenty amount of high-quality source code available - from simple samples to complex real-world ones! And it goes even further by including high-quality unit test code from where you may see how you can efficiently focus on the essentials of each test case and how everything play nicely when you have followed the catalog of DI patterns described.

This book can definitely make you want to go back in time and re-write all of your applications! Everyone building any kind of software should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
Relatively new to .NET, I recently joined a project team who were well under way developing a large solution which uses DI all over the place. I immediately recognised the need for me to learn about this, and all roads point to this book. The early chapters offer an excellent introduction to the subject matter and explain the basic concepts clearly and concisely.

On the containers front, I have only read the chapter about Castle Windsor as that is what we use, however it did wonders for my confidence and knowledge in setting up and configure solutions to use Windsor.

Much of the book is excellent to read chapter by chapter, plus more focussed sections offer good reference material which I'm sure I'll be going back to time and again.

If you're a ,NET developer using DI, buy this book - its that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 6 April 2013
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
Probably the most useful and well-written computing book I have had the pleasure to read. It's detailed, well thought out and pretty comprehensive. One of those rare books where you find any questions you have answered a page or two later. This book will teach you a lot - not just how to use DI but how to write good, loosely coupled code. I found it a revalation.

If I had a criticism it would be that I didn't really need a full life history of a made-up character nor imaginary conversations with office co-workers. But this is no "Heads-Up Design Patterns" - this is a serious book and it's well worth your time if you have any interest at all in this kind of thing. Also it would have been nice to see Ninject in the DI containers roundup, but that's just being picky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
Great book on a difficult topic. Of course requires medium to advanced knowledge of C# language and OOP techniques. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
I don't think i need to add anymore to the 5* reviews this book has already got. Brilliantly written, detailed, explained well. Easy to follow examples. Definitely recommended! This book does deserve 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dependency Injection in .NET (Paperback)
Great Service that was quick and easy with really good quality books. Would definitely use again as and when required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dependency Injection in .NET
Dependency Injection in .NET by Mark Seemann (Paperback - 10 Oct. 2011)
£31.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews