Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book.
I am a little suprised at two comments in other reviews.

1 Korsun was a little known battle ?!

This suprised me, I had long known about the battles at Cherkassy/Korsun (depending on your national viewpoint). But as a wargamer it may be because of the board games available on the subject and I've played.

2 A reviewer complained the book...
Published on 17 April 2012 by PT

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars korsun pocket
after an initial honeymoon period with the beginning of this book, the whole thing quickly became a slog... it lacked any human interface or characters. it concentrated wholly on battle manoeuvres and tactics and trying to remember the small towns and areas (which, frustratingly, were not always detailed on many of the maps) made it a chore to read. i have read many books...
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by gary marto


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a little suprised at two comments in other reviews.

1 Korsun was a little known battle ?!

This suprised me, I had long known about the battles at Cherkassy/Korsun (depending on your national viewpoint). But as a wargamer it may be because of the board games available on the subject and I've played.

2 A reviewer complained the book contained little in the way of individual accounts and the flavour of the battle on the ground. That may be a valid comment but this isn't that kind of book and anyone knowing Zetterling and his excellent attention to detail in orders of battles (Normandy 1944: German Military Organization, Combat Power and Organizational Effectiveness) and statistical info (Kursk 1943: A Statistical Analysis (Soviet (Russian) Study of War))would know this.

So warning, if you want to know how Rottenfuhrer Schultz felt and what he saw on January 31st 1944 it's possibly not the book for you. However if like me you want to know how many Stug III's 5th SS had and how many were serviceable before the attack on ..... this is the book for you.

I found it well researched and detailed with enough personal stuff to keep me interested with the detail on tactics, battles and statistics that I love and want in a book. Be warned though the maps aren't great and on the kindle version are difficult. To truly follow the intricacies of some of it a good map of the area with German and Russian names will help. This was however all that stopped me giving this book a 5*.

Great value on the kindle and nice to see some well researched WWII stuff becoming available on the platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good account of a small (for the Eastern Front) battle, 4 April 2009
By 
I. R. Manton (Northampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
By the authors own admission this book is written predominantly from the German viewpoint due to the lack of accurate information available from the Russian side.

Don't let that put you off though. The book is well written. It contains enough (sometimes a little to much) information on detailed positions. It weaves nicely between strategic and tactical descriptions of what is happening entwined with personal accounts.

I do have two (minor) gripes. The book is well furnished with maps to describe what is happening, however the text that normally goes with it uses place names that are then not mentioned on the map. This makes them slightly harder to use to follow what is happening. There is also a marked lack of photographs.

I have to admit I was swaying between 3 and 4 stars for this book. In the end I did not feel the two minor issues mentioned above were significant enough to warrant it being 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Korsun Pocket, 19 Jun 2009
By 
J. Lomas (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought it a very good book detailing what it must have been like on the eastern front. My only fault with it is that sometimes its difficult to picture where the differentr army units are in relation to the maps. All in all a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of an interesting Campaign, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: Korsun Pocket (Paperback)
The authors of this book start by admitting it is largely written from the German point of view, largely because most Soviet sources tend to read like propaganda rather than useful unit diaries.
This ia shame as the incredibly useful tables of German losses, tank type used and other items that occupy the last fifth of the book give a very clear picture of how units rapidly lost strength in the glutinous mud of a Russian Spring.
The Book covers the encirclement of two corps, designated Gruppe Stemmerman, by the Russians in early 1944, and the subsequent German decisiion to break them out (The prospect of another 'Stalingrad' type surrender was considered a real danger to German Morale)using all available Panzer reserves.
That this battle takes place in the latter stages of the war is obvious as German formations that should theoretically have disposed hundreds of tanks struggle to field 20 owing to breakdowns battle losses and the all pervading mud.
The Luftwaffes contribution to the battle is noted and seems to have been surprisingly effective, clearly given a manageable number of troops to supply they were up to the task, also dropping fuel to the spearheads of the relief force.
The book also has several 'worms eye' accounts of the battle, the main theme of which seems to be the steady disentigration of German units under steady pressure and the critical importance of effective leaders.
There are few illustrations in the book, which is a little disappointing and while the maps are useful there could do with being more of them as they are sometimes hard to relate to the text. The text itself is sometimes a little confusing too, I did sometimes find myself stopping to check which German unit was with which arm of the relief force.
As I noted the book ends with an extensive list of German units involved, their strength and equipment levels, plus tables of losses incurred, breakdowns and fires accounting for far more Germnan tanks than enemy action. This sort of detail should endear the book to wargamers. 'It's the 10th Panzer division! What all 10 tanks?'
To conclude this is a good book, but the occasional poor mapping and lack of illustrations are the only things that stop it getting 5 Stars (I'd happily give it 4.5 if I could)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book on a topic not discussed much, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Korsun Pocket (Paperback)
Good book that gives more depth into a battle that has not received much publicity through the years. If you want to see how a battle went for the Germans at the end of World War 2 on the Eastern Front that is not discussed much elsewhere, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book for this Battle on Eastern Front in 1944, 21 July 2012
By 
David I. Walker (Galashiels) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Korsun Pocket (Paperback)
This is highly recommended -
I found it to be very well written , and informative
I compared this account with the description of this battle in
'Ostfront 1944: The German Defensive Battles on the Russian Front 1944 '
[published by Schiffer military history in Hardcover]
written by Alex Buchner ( which is another great source - get it if you can )
and for me ' Korsun Pocket ' passed with flying colours , with added detail galore
- this was a wise investment for my bookshelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Korsun Pocket - The encirclement and Breakout of a German Army in the East, 1944, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Korsun Pocket (Paperback)
Korsun Pocket

The Korsun Pocket is a thoroughly researched book describing a pivotal battle on the Eastern Front in 1944.
The Korsun battle took place between January and February 1944 in the Ukraine West of the Dnepr River. Soviet forces under the command of Generals Nikolai Vatutin, 1st Ukrainian Front and Ivan Konev, 2nd Ukrainian Front had launched a series of offensives in the latter half of 1943 which produced a German held salient by early January 1944. Both the Russians and the Germans realised that if the salient could be cut off and encircled, then the German Army would face another Stalingrad situation. Unfortunately for the Germans, the 1st and 2nd Ukrainian Fronts met in a pincer movement on 28th January 1944 at Zvenigorodka, trapping two Corps/six Divisions of around 55,000 men and their equipment. The surrounded German Corps were commanded by Generals Wilhelm Stemmermann XI Korps and Theobald Lieb XXXXII Korps.
Despite the best efforts of the soviet forces, their stranglehold on the German forces was broken by General Breith's III Panzer Korps thrusting North East towards the pocket, supported by Generalleutnant Von Vormann's Panzer XXXXVII Korps on the eastern flank. The breakout began on February 16th 1944 and resulted in the escape of roughly 36,000 soldiers over subsequent days.
The authors have used both German and Soviet sources for their research for this book, however they stress that the German sources were more reliable, as the Soviets seemed to widely overestimate the strength of the German forces.
The book contains a number of first hand accounts of the battle by mainly German combatants, one of whom Anton Meiser, a German Artillery NCO, whose recollections feature prominently throughout the book.
The ferocity of battle on the Eastern front is vividly described, including heavily outnumbered Panther and Tiger tank duels with Soviet T-34s and savage hand to hand combat during the breakout. The deprivations of the German soldiers are highlighted as they faced severe weather conditions of snow, rain and deep mud, lack of fuel, ammunition, food and the effects of disease, in addition to a determined enemy.
The small number of photographs in the book seem to be rather generic Eastern Front and are not labelled with date and location. More pictures would have been better, especially some showing the personalities involved. The maps are useful but I did find myself going back through the book to try and locate where the units mentioned were located. I found the map on page 150 especially useful for the lead up to the breakout.
The appendices run to forty one pages and include Orders of battle for both German and Soviet forces and a complete listing of all German Combat Units in the battle.
I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the German Army on the Eastern Front in WW2.

374 pages, 6 Photographs B&W, 27 Maps, 8 Tables
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Korsun Pocket: the Encirclement and Breakout of a German Army in the East,1944, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Cameron Aitken (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This short and well written account of a battle during the German withdrawl through the Ukraine. On Hitler's orders a German Corps of nearly 50,000 men had been left holding a stretch of the River Dnieper. The The book is an account of how this group were cut off around the small town of Korsun and then broke out towards a releif force at the village of Lysianka. The authers give a griping account of the action, the appauling conditions in which even tanks got stuck. It is well provisioned with maps and the reader can suplement these by accessing Google maps so giving a very detailed picture of where the actions took place. If I have a criticism it is that the authers have laid aside to much space to the battle orders of the two sides. I know military historians love doing this kind of thing but shurly it could have been posted as a seperate item on the web and the space devoted to an up to date account of what the area looks like now.

Cameron Aitken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book cant fault it, 23 Aug 2009
By 
R. Packham "Ray Packham" (Brighton Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent book cant fault it descriptive informative and easy to read with numerous maps that are easy to follow in all makes this book a must for the military reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars korsun pocket, 23 Mar 2010
By 
gary marto "marto" (warrington cheshire uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after an initial honeymoon period with the beginning of this book, the whole thing quickly became a slog... it lacked any human interface or characters. it concentrated wholly on battle manoeuvres and tactics and trying to remember the small towns and areas (which, frustratingly, were not always detailed on many of the maps) made it a chore to read. i have read many books regarding the eastern front and specifically stalingrad, because i like to try to understand the the inhumanity, the hardships and the personal sacrifices the men on both sides made(ironically for the benefit of two of the most paranoid, dysfunctional and certifiable dictators in modern history). and i achieve this understanding by reading of the personal experiences and quests of individuals from both sides. i didn't get that with this book. it is obviously very well researched and well written, but blandly repeating battle strategies without involving individual adventures makes it more an academic tome than a good read that would appeal to a mass audience. the disappointing thing was that i was looking forward to reading and enjoying it. sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Korsun Pocket
Korsun Pocket by Niklas Zetterling & Anders Frankson (Paperback - 1 April 2011)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews