Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - thoroughly recommended. Bargain at this price.
Really enjoyed reading this book, can't recommend it highly enough. Worth buying for the pictures alone.
Julian has an easy-going style that beautifully describes the international motor racing scene of 1967 - what a different world it was 45 years ago!
What makes it such an enjoyable book are the many references to other wordly events happening at the time -...
Published 7 months ago by Madgwick

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it
Large type, repeated text, and overall layout attempt to hide lack of content. On top of that many, many quotes from other books.

Lazy work, little content and overpriced. Avoid at all costs.
Published 8 months ago by aglaess


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - thoroughly recommended. Bargain at this price., 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed reading this book, can't recommend it highly enough. Worth buying for the pictures alone.
Julian has an easy-going style that beautifully describes the international motor racing scene of 1967 - what a different world it was 45 years ago!
What makes it such an enjoyable book are the many references to other wordly events happening at the time - this sets the scene perfectly and acts as a fascinating backdrop to the descriptions of Chris Amon & Ferrari's Formula One and Sportscar season.
Add in to this the coverage of the tragic events of Monaco and Spa '67 and, at the opposite end of the spectrum, the sublime sports car successes of the same season with the stunning Ferrari P4 and you can almost begin to understand the roller-coaster of emotions that drivers experienced at that time.
The book is well researched with many contributions from famous personalities of the time.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable look at a very interesting season, 28 Jan 2014
By 
James Pernikoff (Marietta, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
I'm not sure what the first two (negative) reviewers were looking for in this book, but I enjoyed it quite a bit. I have a particular interest in the 1967 F1 season, because it was the year that I really discovered the sport, largely due to a certain well-known movie. I also like it because it was the last year that the cars were unadorned by advertising and unencumbered by airfoils, and for that matter it was the last year that all the drivers wore open-face helmets. As a longtime fan of Scuderia Ferrari, I like that fact that the book tells its story by primarily following Chris Amon's season.

It is true that the author does repeat himself at times, and also presents earlier or later happenings out of chronological order at other times, but in both cases he seems to be doing it to be emphasizing a point. The quotes from other books, mostly period pieces, help describe the times and events, and finding the appropriate quotes undoubtedly took some effort that should merit some praise. There are also excerpts from around 10 current-day interviews (as noted on the front cover) which also help set the mood. The author's references to other events and descriptions of everyday life may seem a bit out of place in a book about a racing season, but again, it's all part of the bigger story, and I think that it all works quite well.

The book is also helped by a good selection of photos, though even a couple of these are repeated to limited benefit. An appendix lists all of the events campaigned by Scuderia Ferrari in 1967 (including those in which Amon was not involved), with the results for each car. This includes Can-Am as well as the expected F1 and endurance events. And I can find no fault with the print quality or other production values of the book.

(The book also contains some well-chosen quotes from that aforementioned movie, but the author does not list the source of those quotes. If he got them from the Internet Movie Database, I should point out that I'm the bloke that put most of them on that website!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, 4 Jan 2014
By 
aglaess (Littleton, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
Large type, repeated text, and overall layout attempt to hide lack of content. On top of that many, many quotes from other books.

Lazy work, little content and overpriced. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Cigar....., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
An interesting attempt at motor racing history which ultimately does not work. Eion Youngs autobiography of Amon gives us some real insight into the driver whilst John Julian seems too interested in seeing his own name in print along with a rather pointless choice of music. There are some decent, if rather too familiar, photographs but the layout, paper and general reproduction are not up to the publishers normal standard.

Read once, back on the shelf and there it will gather dust I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2014
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
Good book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Book, 6 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
John Julian's book is a huge success which will appeal to all motor racing fans who have an interest in the history of the sport. His evocation of Chris Amon's 1967 season is perfect. Whilst it reflects the technical aspects of each race, the book goes so far beyond the standard " the next race was Monza, where we used the long fifth gear" kind of book. This book transports you back - not merely to a long gone motor racing era, but also to a long gone era - full stop. Life was very different in 1967, and not just on the F1 circuit. John Julian's ability to evoke an era is hugely pleasing and extraordinarily effective. I was eleven years old in 1967. This book makes me wish I had been twenty one! Superb photographs and unique access to those who were there at the time makes this one of the very best books about motor racing to emerge for a long time - highly recommended! If you are interested in motor racing - or you know someone who is - buy this book and revel in an era which was more fun, more exciting and, somehow, more honourable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The good days, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously (Hardcover)
Great about Chris Amon a forgotten man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1967: Chris Amon, Scuderia Ferrari and a Year of Living Dangerously
22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews