Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to this topic
My job involves energy markets so I found this book invaluable to get me up to speed on the basics of the shale gas revolution.

The contents are very US specific. There's possibly too much discussion of policy choices the US government should be taking (in the opinion of the author). Apart from that the book is excellent, short and concise.
Published on 16 Mar. 2013 by W. O. Smith

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Largely ill-informed - needs updating and co-authoring with someone who has experience of the industry
Published 1 month ago by Anthony J Grindrod


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to this topic, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
W. O. Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shale Gas: The Promise and the Peril (Rti Press Book) (Paperback)
My job involves energy markets so I found this book invaluable to get me up to speed on the basics of the shale gas revolution.

The contents are very US specific. There's possibly too much discussion of policy choices the US government should be taking (in the opinion of the author). Apart from that the book is excellent, short and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and informative book, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shale Gas: The Promise and the Peril (Rti Press Book) (Paperback)
Although written by a former exec of Haliburton, this book does bring light to the positive and negative aspects of shale gas and fracking. Extremely informative and quite easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good information for those on both sides of the fence - and those on it, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shale Gas: The Promise and the Peril (Rti Press Book) (Paperback)
This book is excellent in that it certainly points out dangers of hydraulic fracturing in shale gas whilst correctly addressing and mitigating with the primary fears which plague the mainstream perception of fracking.

The book addresses not only the immediate concerns of water pollution, excessive nuclear elements etc but also accounts for the overall economic and transport difficulties of shale gas.

There were some areas which I wish the book had such as a section describing the fracking process a bit more in depth and the size and length of fractures produced.

Also the economic situation of shale gas is developing quickly into one of calamity in the US, and that perhaps may need to be addressed in due course in the next revision of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found this book to be a useful introduction to the shale industry. It is very US centred but can applied to other plays. I have recommended this book to colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Shale Gas: The Promise and the Peril (Rti Press Book) (Paperback)
Largely ill-informed - needs updating and co-authoring with someone who has experience of the industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shale Gas: The Promise and the Peril (Rti Press Book)
Shale Gas: The Promise and the Peril (Rti Press Book) by Vikram Rao Ph.D. (Paperback - 13 July 2012)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews