Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh and true
Zoe Strauss is one of those photographers who casually accumulates hundreds of incisive and brilliantly composed photographs with apparent ease. Her first publication, America, is a clear-sighted indictment of the American dream finally woken up to the sad reality of suffering and deprivation on its own back door. But fortunately this vision is not without irony and wit,...
Published on 30 Jan 2009 by Lancelot Knightly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Zoe Strauss - America: Mediocre
I bought this because I was interested in the layout and ordering of the photographs (based on the picture thumbnails).
While some of the pictures are good, they on the whole seem pretty mediocre e.g. the 'Freeze block wall' is (surprisingly) a picture of a wall... boring. Portraits are definitely her strong-point however, and the signage is an interesting...
Published on 4 May 2012 by T. White


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh and true, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: America (Hardcover)
Zoe Strauss is one of those photographers who casually accumulates hundreds of incisive and brilliantly composed photographs with apparent ease. Her first publication, America, is a clear-sighted indictment of the American dream finally woken up to the sad reality of suffering and deprivation on its own back door. But fortunately this vision is not without irony and wit, leaving the viewer at least some kindling for hope.

The opening shot of Vanessa, the cool-eyed transvestite, invites us into the book, seeming to warn us too that this journey's not going to be pleasant - certainly not what we might expect. From the fake uber-burlesque Amy Winehouse, to the twin tobacconists, to Victoria showing off her hysterectomy scar, everybody is either apathetic or shocked into submission, apparently indifferent to their fate. Even the "man shot in leg in Gurnsey" finds time to sit back on his stretcher for a calm consolatory cigarette while the medics carry him away.

It is clear from her introduction that Strauss allows these characters room to pose as they desire, so we have a set of clues about the personality of each one set against the neighbourhood where they live. Many of her subjects are involved in drugs or guns or overawed by life's urbanity. These themes are not new of course, but Strauss' images are refreshing and deftly avoid cliche. She displays her subjects against sparse backgrounds - wasteland, tower blocks, walls, dark space, overgrowth - so driving home the idea of restricted social and infrastructural environments, and leaving the viewer to add the biographical detail. One remarkable portrait is entitled Dawn, Philadelphia, PA. Dawn shows off a tattoo on her chest, her expression seeming to say "look what this place has made me do", and when we do look over her shoulder we see the peeling and grimy white paint of her wooden home, plastic flowers in the window, limp lace curtain. The ghost of Evans, Lange or Shahn moves in this picture. "Here today is the new Depression", Strauss seems to say.

Set between the portraits we have a collection of broken American symbols or signs: a crushed yellow MacDonald's M high on a pole, roughly daubed warnings and threats, shot-up fridges in the desert, a full frame close up of scratches on a surface somewhere in Indiana, half a house seemingly split apart by a chisel, smoke stacks ominously looming from behind a field of golden corn, dismantled signs with "satisfaction guaranteed" and "the future starts here" visible only as vestigial stains. All these images add up to a sense of futility, as if everything of quality is winding down and promises of the nation's greatness are being rescinded daily, one by one. It's an apocalyptic vision, reminiscent of Dylan's Desolation Row where "the fortune telling lady has even taken all her things inside"

The book moves restlessly around the States, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York, Nevada, looking for a reprieve to the hopelessness but never finding it. As befits this restlessness, there is no discernible order to the images and they pile one on top of the other, much in the same way consumer culture of America accosts its citizens.

Here is an exceptional first publication from a young photographer with political nous and understated visual wit. Think of Frank's The Americans uncut, uncensored and replete with colour. All this, and it comes at a refreshingly modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vey pleased as per comments, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America (Hardcover)
Went to New York and actually went to Zoe Strauss Exhibition - Loved the real thing and purchased the book as a stocking filler for husband for Christmas. He LOVED it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 24 Jan 2013
By 
adrian capps (london, england United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America (Hardcover)
I was disappointed by this book, after having it recommended by a friend. Some of the photography is interesting but the overall layout and presentation is poor. I personally would have liked to have seem more creativity put into the end product, showing the photography to it's maximum advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Zoe Strauss - America: Mediocre, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America (Hardcover)
I bought this because I was interested in the layout and ordering of the photographs (based on the picture thumbnails).
While some of the pictures are good, they on the whole seem pretty mediocre e.g. the 'Freeze block wall' is (surprisingly) a picture of a wall... boring. Portraits are definitely her strong-point however, and the signage is an interesting focus.
It looks like Strauss shot on film, with digital scans and printing, but the quality of the prints is poor, some images lack detail (almost as if pixelated) - diagonal lines can be jagged etc. What's more, the quality of paper is pretty crap too! I'd perhaps underestimated what a big difference it makes to the look and feel of the book. Stephen Shore's 'Uncommon Places' uses much thicker paper - how different it feels to the thin, lustre finish this book has.
On a final negative note, my book arrived with scratches to the image wrapped cover and 'frayed' corners (probably due to shipping) - a cellophane wrapper would be very much appreciated!
All in all, I gave this book 3 stars because, while some pictures are effective in Strauss' portrayal of America, I felt that the quality of production (on AMMO books' part) is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has America found 'The Americans' for the 21st Century?, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: America (Hardcover)
This is an unsettling view of America; not so much a portrait of the margins and underside of America, but a view *from* the margins and from the underside. America constrasts with Franks's The Americans in just about everyway, though capturing America with the frankness of an outsider who is an insider from the other side of the tracks. The images are in highly saturated colour, and where Frank had to sneak around taking photographs surreptitiously, Strauss has encountered her subjects head on, let them present themselves to the camera the way they want to, without patronising them (as with Diane Arbus). For all that, the images in the book are not lacking in spontanaity, or at least timing. One of my favorite images is of kids playing on mattresses on the front street. One of them, doing a back-flip seems to be posed hanging upside down, half out of the frame. The book is absolutely brilliant and deserves to become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America
America by Zoe Strauss (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2008)
18.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews