Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading through this book by Terence Parr and started it when only halfway through his other book "The Definitive ANTLR Reference". "Language Implementation Patterns" I would say is a better starting point and makes for easy reading, the writing style is very approachable. It feels very much like a distillation of notes that Professor Parr has collected from years of teaching students computer language topics. Structured in a similar way to the influential Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software book it breaks down Language implementation into discrete but related patterns using Antlr grammar and Java code in the examples. I can not express how well he breaks down this highly technical subject into clearly defined patterns while gently and progressively introducing you to the Antlr language tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, clear and well written, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
This book is a good introduction when you want to write your own Domain Specific Language (DSL). I have several books about compiler writing and this has turned out to be the most directly useful. If I were doing this as part of a degree course, I would probably choose the Dragon book. But for my purposes, Language Implementation Patterns is far more useful. If someone wanted to learn how to implement a compiler for an actual project and just wanted nuts and bolts without too much theory, I would choose this book. It is easy to read and it concentrates on actionable programming steps rather than compiler theory. That allows you to get programming early on with small projects to get experience. Then it uses a popular compiler generator tool, ANTLR, to build more comprehensive examples. This made sense to me.

In my experience of writing compilers, the tool you use for the lexer and parser parts is only as important as getting you past those steps in the development. The more difficult part of writing a compiler is usually what you do after your language is parsed and you now have to do something with the parsed tokens. This book describes that stage as well. The book is well written and easy to read, which helps a lot. The book is medium thickness so not too daunting but substantial enough. I would recommend this book for a programmer who needs to implement a compiler or interpreter and doesn't want to get too bogged down in academic theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good if you already know about the topic, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
Very useful book for people with a computer science background. Lots of things are taken for granted (Java, grammar definition, data structures, ...).

If you have used flex/bison (yacc/lex) this book will open your eyes to new modern technologies for language implementation

I find the writing style quite refreshing. I never felt bored while reading the book. The way the book is organized into patterns make it very easy to consume. Once you get used to the structure it is very easy to jump back and forth looking for the pattern that will solve your problem.

I'd recommend it to professionals rather than programming hobbyists.

Perfect in combination with the "dragon" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Language design made clear, 8 April 2010
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I have a degree in Computer Science and yet a very confused mind when it was about designing languages for my applications.
I particularly liked the systematic decomposition of problems into patterns. It finally brings clarity to a subject
without resorting to more theoretical texts, leaving to the curious readers the option to deepen their knowledge, but providing all the necessary tools to those interested in
a principled yet immediately applicable solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've never considered creating a custom programming language until I read this book and my projects benefited a lot since then, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Michal Pryslopski (Warsaw, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
The biggest gain from reading this book is that it adds to your toolbox of programming techniques one often not even considered: custom, domain-specific programming language.

Creating a language seems at first like a daunting task that takes a lifespan but this book shows that it is not, especially if you need it just for giving some extra power to configuration scripts, in-application macros and the like.

This book presents in details, one by one, all the algorithms needed to read and execute a source code written in your own language.

You don't need knowledge of formal grammars and the like to use this book but it'd help. Or this book might be an inspiration to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My "go to" book whenever I need to parse data, 2 Jan 2014
More and more software applications these days need to be able to receive data in a variety of weird and wonderful formats. Some are also complex enough that implementing a DSL for configuration is worthwhile. For both of those tasks, you will need to write a parser. Every time I need to do so, my reference of choice is Language Implementation Patterns.

This book is very clear and well written. You will learn how to build a language parser and compiler from first principles in easy steps that build on top of each other. Even though all code examples are in Java, the explanations are clear enough that you should be able to convert any of them to your language of choice: I've written versions of the parsers in the book in both Python and Erlang even though I am far from an expert in either language.

In short: if you have any interest in domain specific computer languages or data parsing, get this book. If you want to go further and create a parser and compiler for a general purpose programming language, get this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb book, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
Thanks so much Terence for writing this book. I thought my own 2-month effort hacked together dsl could 'cut the mustard' but it's really rather feeble compared with what i can do now with the patterns taught in this book. Quite literally gobsmacked by what is achievable now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Language Implementation Patterns: Create Your Own Domain-Specific and General Programming Languages (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I found this book really helpful for getting back into compiler development. I definitely recommend it for beginners wanting to understand how to implement a compiler or DSL. It is also good for people with previous compiler dev experience who want to get back into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews