Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Combination!
All three of the books contained in this one volume really should be in the collection of anyone interested in Japanese philosophy, religion or martial arts. It is not often that three really good books get bundled together into one volume but to have three classics together is really extraordinary.

The reflections of a master swordsman, the advice of a proper...
Published on 1 Jan 2007 by Richard York

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Think this through
I feel compelled to tell you that you can buy these three books cheaper as separate kindle items on amazon. Furthermore, Bushido, The Soul of Japan is available for free via Project Gutenberg. Nevertheless, they are definitely three books worth reading for those interested in Japan and its traditions.
Published on 1 April 2011 by Mr. D. J. Hill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Combination!, 1 Jan 2007
All three of the books contained in this one volume really should be in the collection of anyone interested in Japanese philosophy, religion or martial arts. It is not often that three really good books get bundled together into one volume but to have three classics together is really extraordinary.

The reflections of a master swordsman, the advice of a proper old Samurai and the explanations of a well-traveled scholar fit together synergistically; they add up to much more than the sum of the parts. Although the writers were separated from each other in time, they are united in a coherent view of what constitutes proper conduct and honor. There is enough difference in their styles of expression to illuminate points that might otherwise be obscure and at the same time provide some interesting juxtapositions.

Those who are already familiar with one or more of the books contained in this volume will find that having all three of them together is a real plus. Each, on its own, is an important little book; the three of them together form an important big book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classical texts written about the path of the Samurai in Japan, 23 Sep 2011
From the formal teaching style of The Book of Five Rings to the almost conversational tone of Bushido and Hagakure, this book presents 3 of the most important classical texts written about the path of the Samurai in Japan. It is invaluable as a reference tool for the student of martial arts, the zen philosophy, ancient swords or classical Japanese texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best reads I have come accross for a long time. The nthree tittles together make it good value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Series of three exceptional books in one., 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd recommend The Samurai series highly to anyone wanting to learn about the legendary Samurai path and Bushido philosophy.
This series of three exceptional books is an excellent way of obtaining inexpensively the three books in one.

The Book of Five Rings gives great insight into the essentials of individual combat and the essence of being a Samurai. It contains various tales which illustrate their philosophy and practice.

The second book, Hagakure - The Way of the Samurai explains the major ideas and philosophy that are essential to the "way of the Samurai"

Last but by no means least, the third part for which I mainly made the purchase, Bushido - The Soul of Japan. This is a great introduction to the discipline of Bushido. "Way of the warrior knight" This is an exceptional book which I thoroughly enjoyed. We could all benefit from learning about the virtues that are at the heart of Bushido.

With regards to its presentation, this great collection contains a linked table of contents, as well as internally linked tables for each major work and chapter. It is presented expertly and the illustrations look good on the kindle screen.
Overall a wonderful series perfect for martial arts enthusiasts or anyone interested in Japanese history and the spirituality and disciplines of the spectacular samurai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Japanese philosophy at its best, 6 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been interested in Japanese philosophy for some time now so when I saw this collection
in one volume cutting the cost to a fraction of the price of purchasing all 3 separately it was a must have.

The 3 classical texts write about the path of the Samurai in Japan. It`s easy to navigate and I particularly like the illustrations making a great finishing touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pearls of Wisdom, 2 April 2012
This is a great collection of works on Eastern thought, covering philosophy, religion and honor. This is by far the best translation of each of the individual works I have found available on Kindle, and it's also very handy having this three volumes in one collection. The linked Table of Contents is perfect, and I can flip between the different books with ease. Perfect for the student or anyone interested in feudal Japan or the ways of the Samauri. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Think this through, 1 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Hill (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I feel compelled to tell you that you can buy these three books cheaper as separate kindle items on amazon. Furthermore, Bushido, The Soul of Japan is available for free via Project Gutenberg. Nevertheless, they are definitely three books worth reading for those interested in Japan and its traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative if not thrilling., 16 Jan 2010
By 
S. Clarke (Loughborough uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after watching ghost dog. I was originally looking for Hagaure - the way of the samurai and when I saw that this contained this plus two others I thought it was well worth and punt and duly purchased it.

Now for the review: The book is hard going, which is probably to be expected. The three books are written using quotes and sayings of renowned Samurai and telling their stories and the stories of people they met. As most of the contents are transcribed in an informal format and supposedly based on what these Samurai said as they wondered around the countryside it comes across rather jumpy. Also some of the translations don't appear perfect and due to the change in language over time and then the translation as well as the different cultural background, some of what is said doesn't make a massive amount of sense.

If you're interested in Samurai and how they used to live, this is a worth while read. If you're looking for an exciting Samurai story to keep you turning pages, I suggest you try the fiction section, or rent the last Samurai starring Tom Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews