Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
Great book that covers everything needed for maintaining a road bike and more. Easy to use sections cover the major areas of the bike and a good diagnostic section for each chapter is really useful. Most major component manufacturers are covered as well as generic types of components. Didn't find the lack of photos to be a hindrance as the expanded illustrations are...
Published 15 months ago by Will F

versus
4 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average
Was very disappointed after reading the reviews. Have really wasted my money. Just paid out again for the Park Tools book which is far superior for the novice mechanic
Published on 8 Feb 2008 by J. Sawyer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
Great book that covers everything needed for maintaining a road bike and more. Easy to use sections cover the major areas of the bike and a good diagnostic section for each chapter is really useful. Most major component manufacturers are covered as well as generic types of components. Didn't find the lack of photos to be a hindrance as the expanded illustrations are more than adequate. The writing style makes the contents easily accessible for those without any prior knowledge of bike maintenance or without a knowledge of the technical jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
This book is extremely well written by someone who clearly knows his stuff. As others have commented, the most surprising thing is the physical format of the book. It is very big with large typeface and excellent illustrations. I really like the way he has divided the various maintenance tasks into three ability levels and explains what tools and equipment you need.

I struggle to see how you could improve on this book unless you had one written for the precise make and model of bike you own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Bike Novice, 21 Jun 2006
By 
LSG (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Liked this book. I know very little about bikes not having had one since age about 16, many moons ago. Just got into biking again and the book has been extremely useful after only having it for a few days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollin' Rollin' Rollin', 27 April 2013
By 
Thomas Robb "Hobmachine" (Bangor, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
This is a remarkable book: I had the huge tome unpacked and by the end of the second espresso had learned 5 things about chains that so far had eluded me.
Every topic is covered from every angle and there are some very clever "get-you-homes" that I wouldn't have believed possible but are so smart they've got to be true.
Bought as I have just upped my cycling to a second bike and I wanted to learn a little bit more about the mechanics and maintenance of the 900 quid machine I have just purchased: I have already.
It's one of those books that you cannot stop yourself picking up as you go past and selecting at random a topic which invariably ends up illuminating.
It's first use on the workstand will no doubt repay the purchase price and you cannot ask for more than that.
Well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
This book covers absolutely every aspect of road bike maintenance and has very easy to follow instructions which I think even I could master despite buying this for my husband!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 15 Mar 2009
By 
This is the first time if felt the urge - for reasons good or bad - to log on and write a review. The book is simply excellent. Zinn is a journalist, so the writing is clear, concise and easy to read (and even entertaining). The diagrams are great and in my opinion better than photographs because it is easier to highlight detail.

Sections are separated by skill level so the book should be useful whether you've never maintained a bike before or you're a mechanical genius. I compared this book to one of the other popular series, and this one wins hands down. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing if not detailed!, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
To say that this maintenance book is detailed would be an understatement, however sometimes less is more, and although it is infinitely superior to the Haynes manual and several other so-called bike maintenance 'bibles' I have used, I have found that the 'several different options for each problem' approach can be somewhat baffling, particularly for someone like me who is very much a beginner in the world of bike maintenance.
Having said that, if you have even a little knowledge, this is certainly the text that will enable you to build on that, and if you have (a lot of) time to spare, you'll find there's nothing you'll come across maintenance-wise that this bad boy won't have some information or advice on. Plus it's excellent as a door-stop in winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great detail, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
Very detailed. All the information you need, very well explained and I find the drawings better than pictures as you don't have to strain to see what's what.
Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a must have for serious cyclists, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
This is a really fantastic book and a must have for any serious cyclist. Even if you are an amateur cyclist, the sections on cycle maintenance and basic tuning of your bike are extremely useful. In the back of the book there are some very good methods of setting your bike up for optimal performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more encyclopedia than book, 10 April 2013
By 
paul "paul" (cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance: The World's Bestselling Bicycle Repair and Maintenance Guide (Paperback)
this arrived with a real "thud" it's nearly an inch thick and the size of an old encyclopedia brittanica

the contents don't disappoint - everything from what to take on a short ride (inner tube, tyre levers, drink!) through to building your own wheels (which I haven't tested!)

I wanted to look at head-bearings and here you have a complete description of the various systems from the old threaded type to various stem systems in use by different makers

both Campag and Shimano systems are described, right up to the new electronic shifters

diagrams are simple and clear

at the back are torque tables, gear ratio tables and advice on bike fitting

I'll never use everything in this book but rather dip in and out and I'm very glad I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews