Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, which may be its Achilles heel
Most people who've bought (invested in) a power meter will take the time to read this thoroughly, but it certainly takes some reading. That said, it is a very comprehensive coverage.

It also plugs their own Training Peaks software, while mentioning a similar - but free - product in passing. I haven't bought their software, but instead use the free Golden...
Published on 26 April 2011 by GerardR

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So overall it's good to have as all the information is presented in ...
The book is very thorough, which it needs to be to fully cover the benefits of training with a £600+ piece of equipment. It covers every known aspect of training with a power meter. I have only given 3 stars because most (If not all) of the information in the book is found WORD for WORD on the internet, a lot of it even on the authors own website (hunter allen's power...
Published 4 months ago by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, which may be its Achilles heel, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
Most people who've bought (invested in) a power meter will take the time to read this thoroughly, but it certainly takes some reading. That said, it is a very comprehensive coverage.

It also plugs their own Training Peaks software, while mentioning a similar - but free - product in passing. I haven't bought their software, but instead use the free Golden Cheetah software, which seems to have almost equivalent functionality.

Having bought an SRM power meter instead of a new bike, it has confirmed that I am middle-aged, overweight (ie. have a poor power:weight ratio) and unfit. Objective measurement can be cruel sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coaching and training book on power usage, 22 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
Having read all of Allen and Coggan books on training I wasn't surprised that this latest edition was the best.
The research and development is 2nd to none when it comes to using power for coaches and for athletes and this book is now head and shoulders above most other books on power.
Sure it can be a little heavy in the reading for those using power for the first time but it is explained in a clear and simple way that most will understand.
If your looking to 'take your training to the next level' using a power meter then this is the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive textbook, not for the faint hearted, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
It's probably difficult to find a more comprehensive book on the subject of power in cycling. It can be very technical at times, certainly not bedtime reading, but if you have the time and interest then all the information seems to be here. I think coaches of elite and professional athletes probably make good use of this book.

I would hazard a guess that a lot of people purchasing are likely to be amateur cyclists (like myself) who have acquired a power meter and need to know how to use it effectively. Again, I would state that all the information is in the book and you can choose how deep you want to get into it. I found it quite easy to pick the bits I thought would be most beneficial for my training and skip the more technically rigorous parts. In practice, I think few amateur cyclists with the pressures of work, family and other commitments, could truly dedicate the amount of time needed to test, record and analyse power data to the depths described in the book (but that's not the book's fault!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again heavy going once past the first few chapters, 23 July 2013
By 
M. Cummings (Sunbury on Thames) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as the other book I had ( The power meter hand book, a users guide for cyclists and triathletes) by Joe Friel, seemed to start easily enough then boom, deep sports scientist speak, which lost me and I put the book down. This one I am afraid to say, is just the same words shuffled about a bit by a different author. Three chapters in and again boom, if your not a sports scientist, you struggle. I am still reading them both, now several times, but stall at or thereabouts the same point. Stuff is beginning to make sense the more I persevere and analyse my ride data, but its real slow going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Train with power, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
bought the book before I jumped in with a power meter and it explained everything I needed to know. if you're not great at the math you can jump bits in the book but it's still worth a purchase as a reference guide. Mine is never far away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars updated and worth a read., 22 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
i read version 1 of this book a few years ago, which was very informative.
things have moved on a bit and this version covers most of the up to date training methods.
well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for cyclists using power meters, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading for cyclists either using or contemplating using power meters in their training. All the important metrics are explained and their use in training is clearly explained. The interpretation of power data and how to use the data to develop training plans is set out together with example workouts to illustrate case studies. Training peaks software is used for analysis; however, much of the same functionality is available in (free) Golden Cheetah software.
I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So overall it's good to have as all the information is presented in ..., 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
The book is very thorough, which it needs to be to fully cover the benefits of training with a £600+ piece of equipment. It covers every known aspect of training with a power meter. I have only given 3 stars because most (If not all) of the information in the book is found WORD for WORD on the internet, a lot of it even on the authors own website (hunter allen's power blog). So overall it's good to have as all the information is presented in a coherent order; however I do feel ripped-off...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bench mark book, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
If you have a power meter then you really should own a copy of this book, packed with back ground information on power meters and how to use them. With detailed training routines and how to test yourself to get find your functional threshold power which is the basis of all power meter training. Then carry out a power profile to find your strengths and weakness's so design a training program to improve your cycling performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough. So thorough., 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training and Racing with a Power Meter (Paperback)
This is a great and comprehensive book. It's quite dense and takes a while to get into, particularly all the acronyms. However, if you read it properly and follow the advice you seem to get faster on the bike, which us what I wanted.

Incidentally, am using this with a PowerCal heart-rate based meter, which is a cheap way to start training with power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Training and Racing with a Power Meter
Training and Racing with a Power Meter by Andrew Coggan (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2010)
£15.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews