Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the scary people
This book is a revelation.

It gives an amazing method for constructing a training year. Don't expect a series of pre-set training plans. This book expects you to spend some time off your bike, with a pencil and paper, or a spreadsheet, and to actually absorb what the book says, and use the info and the methods given to build your own structured annual training...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. P. Lewis

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit over complicated and too repetitive
Could be more concise. Goes over the same things too often.
Confusing at times, one minute it's power zone 3, the next CP30.
More training session examples would be helpful.

Otherwise it is a good book. Plenty of useful information.
Published 8 months ago by J E FELLOWS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exasperatingly long-winded and over-complicated, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Maplo (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cyclist's Training Bible (Paperback)
I don't doubt that, if you work hard enough at wading through it, you can get some benefits from this book. But the author goes "round the houses" to make some very simple points, and makes everything far more complicated than it needs to be.
This is reflected in the various graphics, many of which are completely superfluous (I often found myself spending inordinate amounts of time trying to decipher the graphics, when the underlying concepts which they were supposed to be illustrating were far easier to understand than the actual graphics). Also very repetitive and poorly structured: I was often thinking "you have said that about ten times already".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waffle, no structure, very little practical advice, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Cyclist's Training Bible (Paperback)
The style and structure of this book are terrible. Its 90% waffle and just 10% substance. Those expecting concrete training plans and direct advice will be let down, you can read a whole chapter and at the end not have learned anything at all.

For anyone with less than 15 hours a week to spare on training The Time Crunched Cyclist is far better (with much less waffle). For those with more than 15 hours, you might get some benefit but you'll have to invest huge amounts of concentration and patience just to understand it and turn it into an actionable training plan.

It could do more with just 1/4 of the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am fairly picky about my training reference. Joe Friel gives the detail needed to build my own training schedules. I highly recommend this book it is my go to source for building my schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah only okay, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cyclist's Training Bible (Paperback)
It covers everything that you will ever need to know and more. But it does become very wordy, seems to give you too much information. Very hard to take it all in. Not really aimed at beginners. But excellent if you have been at it for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some excellent advice, mainly for serious racers, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very detailed and comprehensive book, aimed primarily at people who race seriously.
There is plenty of information to help you design your own training schedule around your own needs and abilities.
For the recreational cyclist, or someone like me who is interested primarily in long-distance semi-competitive events, much of this material is more details and sophisticated than necessary - I won't be making a detailed training schedule just yet!
But some of the advice and the general principles of training & recovery are very useful, and I may come back to this book again as a reference source in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rethink your training, 18 Dec 2011
By 
P. M. Noone (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cyclist's Training Bible (Paperback)
I have been racing bikes for over 40 years and after reading this book never realised how wrong I was in my training, goes in to detail on lactic testing and in depth training for young and old, tells you how to produce a yearly plan tailored for your needs, all in all well worth the money, brings Joe Friel into your living room and makes him your personal trainer, any issues you have Joe is also on line to help, great motivator and inspiring, no nonsense training for the serious cyclist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is without doubt THE BIBLE, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Cyclist's Training Bible (Paperback)
If you want to structure your training and get better results get this book. Absolutely the best self training book out there. Its an easy read and written with normal people in mind i.e you've got a full time job, family and still want to compete at a decent level. So the training is tailored to get the most out of the limited time you have. Can't rate this highly enough and my own improved results show me how this really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at the road racer, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Ian Moralee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cyclist's Training Bible (Paperback)
A very good book that is aimed at the serious competitive racer. Gives clear advice about how to train for a specific event and many other topics. General topics covered were very useful such as establishing ATHR and then building a training plan around that will appeal to all cyclists. The book is aimed at training with a power meter rather than heart rate meter. Power meters are expensive 700-800 although they can be hired. A good book that makes you think about your body, your aims and objectives and how to achieve them. I understand more about training and the intensity at which I should be riding. By understanding about HR and intensity I realised that I was riding far too easy and my training is now done at an average of 18.5mph- 20mph rather than 14mph. This book won't be for all but if you want to know about training then there's nothing missing from it as far as I can see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa637d1b0)

This product

The Cyclist's Training Bible
The Cyclist's Training Bible by Joe Friel (Paperback - 15 Feb 2009)
15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews