Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best. Period.
In my opinion, the goal of this book is to give people who want to compete in triathalons a scientific, self-coached training plan. Does it deliver? Absolutely. The book accomplishes this through six, cleanly divided parts.

Part one, "The self-trained triathlete" is concerned with the "philosophical" basis for methodical training. It deals with things such as...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Mark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Happyone
A a bit heavy going but useful if you are serious about training and want to know about the details of training well.
Published 21 months ago by happyone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The content is good but arrived damaged., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
I like it very much I mean content but unfortunatly book arrived damaged was not packed correctly. Hopefully next time willl be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a book innit!, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
Theres a wealth of triathlon information on the market. Some better than others, this one is well worth a read.

However, if like me you're buying this thinking it's going to be the kind of book you can read in one hand while drinking coffee with the other, forget it! The book is a large A4 size thing and quite floppy. So it's one to read at a table rather than in bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect manual, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
This might be the best athlete's guide I've ever read, and not just for triathletes. Super complex set of informations on training, racing, nutrition...etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
Brought as a present for my partner who's just starting to complete triathlons. He loves it and hasn't put it down yet. He says its really useful for those just startng their training and also for those that are use to tough schedules. Its got a lot of good hints and tips of what to do and what not to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Triathletes Training Bible, 19 April 2009
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
At 50 with a busy domestic and work life I needed so guidance to produce a training programme to get the most out of my training time. So having come back to the sport after 20 years this was it. Initial chapters are a little heavy but you need the understanding of the principles behind what you are trying to achieve but once you get into designing your programme it is fun. It seems to be working all the timimngs are coming down but more importantly I am more comfortable in my zone for longer which is what the training is all about. It does what it says on the tin no wonder it is such a popular publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
Did a tri, didn't read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the multi-sport athlete, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
I've not read all the book as yet, but this provides great detail about developing your plans for improving your ability as a multisport athlete. Having started multisports this year coming from a single sport background I can say the information is very useful.

My only complaint is the measurements are in USA, some metric conversions do exist.

Excellent book if you want to be your own coach and develop some focused training sessions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 29 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
Only read the first few chapters so far, but very impressed. It is very clear and accessible, no mucking about and very informative. Very well written and very knowledgeable advice. I have really improved my performance over the last month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the triathlete, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. D. E. G. Cross "Ed Read" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
It is clear why 200,000 copies have been sold. This book covers all I need to know to improve my performance. Very easy to read and straightforward in tone and language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it say on the tin!, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Triathlete's Training Bible (Paperback)
This book covers everything needed to get stuck further into triathlon, more detailed training plans and advise on how to create your own. Diagrams and instructions on form and techniques need to improve.

Absolutely love this book and use it as a reference point for any questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Triathlete's Training Bible
The Triathlete's Training Bible by Joe Friel (Paperback - 30 Jan 2009)
12.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews