Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a picture book...
Along with great photos this book actually gives an insightful view on the Classic Race. I wasn't expecting as much writing as there is but this only adds to the draw of this book. You can quite easily dip in and out of this book which you would probably expect to be able to do from such a large (photo driven) book.
On the whole I really enjoyed reading about the...
Published on 30 Dec 2008 by Mr. C. S. Blake

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, not great.
The Photos in this book are amazing, but quite often the writers go off into long-winded and whimsical tales (no explanation as to whether they are based on factual events) for the first half of the book. After they have settled down, or the hand of writing has changed, the book becomes more about telling you of the route (still a little shady) and about the best riders...
Published on 22 Jan 2010 by Easy Rider


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a picture book..., 30 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. C. S. Blake "''le canard''" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
Along with great photos this book actually gives an insightful view on the Classic Race. I wasn't expecting as much writing as there is but this only adds to the draw of this book. You can quite easily dip in and out of this book which you would probably expect to be able to do from such a large (photo driven) book.
On the whole I really enjoyed reading about the race, the riders that have dominated the race and the weird and wonderful things this race has thrown up.
I would definitely recommend this book and I don't find the price too much of a sticking point. Maybe one negative is the use of 'granny' in a couple of photo explanations which somehow devalues the quality of the book. Bit odd but that's probably the French humour (or me misunderstanding the French!).
In summary, superb photos and writing in a well produced classy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and deeply French, 23 Nov 2009
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
Superb book on the world's most excruciating one-day bike race; a French classic which unto this day continues to make a virtue out of the erstwhile necessity of some of the industrialized world's most appalling road surfaces.
Nowadays there's pretty much no reason for any even of the most minor French back-roads to be paved with cobbles ... except that there *is*, and the Paris-Roubaix is it! So deeply French, so embroiled in the culture of that country is this race, that nowadays local and even national government provides funds to restore and preserve, rather than pragmatically tarmac over, the lumpy cobbles of the traditional parcours. Some of the greatest bike riders in the world have won this event; others have fallen spectacularly by the wayside, as exemplified most recently by George Hincapie, whose handlebars simply gave way under the strain a few years back. Yet top-ranked elite cyclists still queue up to take part, just because of the kudos attached to winning - or even to finishing - this Queen of the Classics.
This is a beautiful and deeply French account of the history of the Paris-Roubaix, complete with hyperbolic language and sensual imagery rendered faithfully into English without regard for the not-entirely-coincident aesthetics of us Brits. However, had some barbarian attempted to 'anglicize' this volume, it would have emerged far the poorer. The French sensibiliity is essential to the full appreciation of this extreme sporting event; and I would suggest that if you can't deal with this, you choose to read something else. Paris-Roubaix is a bike race like no other, and this book is a wholly fitting and appropriate tribute.
And yes - the photographs are nothing short of fabulous. If you are at all a fan of bike racing, and of the Spring Classics in particular, you NEED this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paris - Roubaix, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
I first saw this book in the flesh when a colleague at work brought it in to show it off. The book is incredible ! I just had to break open the piggy-bank & treat myself to this book, the photography really is outstanding & enchanting - buy it & you'll love it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paris-Roubaix, A Journey Through Hell, 11 Aug 2011
By 
denny (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
The book is written by authors who care a great deal about this, the Queen of all one day classics, and that can be seen through their collected writing. There are some classic photos of the suffering the riders have to endure to beat this race, along with many, many photos of some of cyclings legends taking part.
If you are a fan of single day classic races, then you really need to have this book - you owe it to yourself to have it, along with The Spring Classics: Cycling's Greatest One-day Races, just to fill your bookcase with racing quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic..., 31 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. M. M. Bosano "Marcus" (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
I was given this book for Christmas and have to say that it is a fantastic book. Great writing and great photography really bring the history of this race to life.

This is a great book and any cycling fan would love this for their collection or coffee table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, not great., 22 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
The Photos in this book are amazing, but quite often the writers go off into long-winded and whimsical tales (no explanation as to whether they are based on factual events) for the first half of the book. After they have settled down, or the hand of writing has changed, the book becomes more about telling you of the route (still a little shady) and about the best riders of the event - where this book excels. Not an amazing read, but the pictures make up for that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 5 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
Awesome book. A must have for any cycling enthusiast. Photo's and history of the race are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A journey through hell, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
This is one of the best illustrated books on the Paris Roubiax that I have had the pleasure to read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 8 July 2011
By 
Gotte (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
If you love cycling, especially the Spring Classics, and literature, rather than simple writing, this is for you. The text gets to the soul of the race and the racers, rather than just telling you who won, how and when. I love this book about as much as the Paris Roubaix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, but no route information, 31 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell (Hardcover)
I like this book and it has been by the side of my settee for a few months; I dip into it regularly to enjoy the photographs. The overall quality of the book is very high and I echo the opinions of the other reviewers on this page.

The major negative point for me is the lack of a route map. As a cyclist I am always interested in reviewing maps, assessing elevation profiles and so on. This book is seriously let down by the absence of such information in my opinion. I know where hell begins, but am still not very sure where it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell
Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell by Serge Laget (Hardcover - 10 Sep 2007)
25.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews