Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to give to clients.., 19 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. M. P. Tullett "twelve20" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
What more can i say about this book that hasn't already been said.

So far i have recommended this book to 3 people who after reading the first chapter have gone out and bought it for themselves.

It's written in a easy to read way and i was able to absorb everything and take on board the advice given. Being a designer i thought i had a clear idea of how websites work and even though this book did go over areas i knew and reaffirmed them about it also opened my eyes to areas i didn't know about.

I'm in the process of buying some more of these to give to new and existing clients as i think they will explain to them far better then what i could and also becomes a reference for us all to refer to.

Buy this book you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good all rounder, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. J. Sarjeant (Dover, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
The website owners manual is an invaluable part of the website process covering everything except how to build the code. Building sites is well documented but here Paul Boag has covered everything else from proposals through to design, testing and accessibility and future steps. Each section is written in a witty but informative style and explains things that most unsuspecting people would not have considered. Whether you are a seasoned designer or developer, you are just starting out in the industry or you are embarking on a project involving a site which you are not building this book will cover all you need to know.

From this book you can easily create a checklist and set of procedures which will ensure any project you work on will run smoothly, I think a list like that was the only thing not covered in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are responsible for a website then this is a great reference, 15 Dec 2009
By 
P. D. Morriss (the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
This isn't a manual for web designers, it's for those people who are responsible for a website in any way. It covers pretty much everything non-technical you need to know - setting up a project, overseeing direction and design, testing, launching and monitoring. From comments I've heard Paul Boag make, as a web designer he wrote this for his clients, so he wouldn't have to keep on answering the same questions over and over!

Each chapter has a helpful introduction, and at the end some actions points as to what to do next. This is useful as there's so much information in each chapter that it can seem a bit overwhelming, especially if you've been landed with the job of managing a website without much previous experience. I really can't find much to criticise in this book - it has a really wide coverage of most of the things you need to know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 23 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
Having recently taken over the management of a web site and with no previous experience, I wasn't sure what my role should be. Although I've read only the first three chapters I feel more confident already. It's pitched at the right level and doesn't assume any previous experience in this area. I like it and look forward to reading the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for website owners, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
I really like this book. The right level of detail to get you into the subject area but recognising you will have to go elsewhere if you want real detail. Really focused on website owners rather than designers and developers - which makes a pleasant change. Paul writes in an easy to read style not too technical for us "stupid" clients but enough detail to really help develop our sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference resource, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
I work in the public sector with a lot of people who own websites, but aren't specialists. I'm recommending this book to all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, easy-to-use manual, 6 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
A really clear manual which will be of great value to newcomers and experienced website owners alike. A valuable computer-side manual!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fully fledged consultant on your bookshelf, 19 Mar 2010
By 
M. Bee (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
You can't know everything when running your web site. Even if you do by some miracle know everything about a successful web site, I guarantee you're not putting it all into practice. This is where this books comes in, due to its full scope from planning for a web site to future concepts, there is something in this book for everyone.

If you are a web site owner or manager, it will quite simply make your job a lot easier and you more successful as a result. I really think this book is a must for any person responsible for a website, due to the wide range of topics covered. Although not all chapters will be relevant to all website owners, there will be more than enough for the book to be a really valuable resource. I like to think of it as a fully fledged consultant sitting on my bookshelf.

There were real moments of enlightenment about how I can help clients really grasp the requirements behind an effective site. I hope this will dramatically improve my client communication using Paul's thorough but clear explanations of the concepts required for a successful website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 8 Mar 2010
By 
S. Ellis (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
I have been a long-time listener to the author's podcast ( boagworld.com ), so had heard some snippets from the book already. The final product lived up to its initial promise.

It is for people who will be creating and managing the web sites from the client side point of view - and as such it is a very useful tool fully explaining the entire process of running a website, choosing people to build it for you etc. i.e. it does what it says on the cover.

All the way through there are some (pretty rough looking, hope the second edition ones are better) cartoons that illustrate each point

If you are responsible for your company's website, buy this book -- even if you think you already know it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bursting with useful infomation, 28 Dec 2009
By 
M. Stride "skaterboy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Website Owner's Manual (Paperback)
A real 'dip in' 'dip out' book. Packed full of useful ideas, hints and analysis that makes you consider all aspects of running a website. Covers everything from working out what you want from your website to how to improve existing ones.

Paul Boag manages to write from not only a website owners perspective, but also that of the end user. This emphasis on useability makes the owner consider important aspects of a websites function which often get overlooked.

Now, how can I stop my competitors reading it??? !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Website Owner's Manual
Website Owner's Manual by Paul Boag (Paperback - 11 Dec 2009)
22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews