Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best
Over the years I have owned several Nikon DSLRs, D40, D80 and now the superb D7000. I thought I had pretty much got to grips with most DSLR settings but the D7000 added a whole new slew of options and so after reading other reviews of "super-manuals" succumbed to Darrel Young's as my guide. What a great choice. As my wife will testify, I keep exclaiming. Wow I never knew...
Published on 26 Dec 2011 by Hotwired

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Well written but doesn't add much to the supplied user manual
This book is well written, however, it does little more than put the camera's instruction book in a different way. If someone struggles with reading the supplied manual then this is a good alternative, but If you already operate the camera and have some experience with medium level DSLR's then you may find this book a bit basic. The one good thing is that it is...
Published 26 days ago by CloudR


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 26 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
Over the years I have owned several Nikon DSLRs, D40, D80 and now the superb D7000. I thought I had pretty much got to grips with most DSLR settings but the D7000 added a whole new slew of options and so after reading other reviews of "super-manuals" succumbed to Darrel Young's as my guide. What a great choice. As my wife will testify, I keep exclaiming. Wow I never knew you could do that, what a cool feature etc etc.

Darrel's incredibly thorough, patient style takes you through every detail of this camera with some excellent general commentary on key topics, eg histograms and HDRI, fastflash sync etc. This really is a masterwork which will satisfy the relatively inexperienced user seeking a rapid but pleasurable ride up the learning curve right up to the highly experience user wanting to flesh out understanding of every buried menu feature, why it's there, what it can do togther with a well informed reccomendation for initial settings.

The space devoted to the various Auto and Scene functions is perfectly adequate but fortunately takes up only 22 of the book's 479 pages. You can see where the emphasis is here, if you simply want a beginners guide this is not it. I am so impressed with this book that I shall be buying a kindle version to ensure I am never without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent title from DarrelYoung., 29 Oct 2011
By 
Richard D300 (Denbighshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
Having bought "Mastering the D700" which enhanced my experience with that camera greatly, I bought the D7000 book and was not to be disappointed. At 479 pages, a full 240 pages longer than the D700 book, it is a one stop reference for anyone struggling to master their D7000 and the more experienced user alike. I was not exactly struggling, as I am an experienced Nikon user, but the book is crammed full of top notch advice written in real English that even the newbie to world of the Nikon dSLR can understand. Buy this book and you'll need no other. It's a large book, but that said it's an essential reference for users of the D7000 at all levels. If only books like this could be prepared and published at the launch of the camera, it would be wonderful. Of course that's unrealistic unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is 2nd to none!, 26 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
I would say this book, is more ideal for someone that has already learnt DSLR photography, and then changed or upgraded their camera to a D7000. So when they pick this book up and start reading what is being explained about the camera, they are fully aware, and fully understand what's being demonstrated. On that note, the book is absolutely brilliant, and covers completely everything hassle free. So if you are looking for a book to take you through every menu, button and dial etc. Then i would seriously look no further. Mastering the Nikon D7000 is superb! 10/10 for Darrell Young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
Digital SLR cameras are much more complex than their analogical counterparts we used to know until a few years ago, so they need to be deeply understood to make the best use of their amazing possibilities. This book not only provides a clear and detailed description of all features of the D7000, but also some theory about digital photography in general, to make the reader better understand how and why make use of this or that function provided by this powerful camera.
As a bonus this book is never boring to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best camera guide that I have read, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
I've been using a D80 for about four years and am very familiar with all of its controls and menus. Having just bought a D7000 I was struck by its manual having 325 pages compared with the 149 pages in the D80's manual. This led me to buy `Mastering the D7000' by Darrell Young and I'm very glad that I did. The book covers all of the buttons and menus. It's written in a clear language and gives an in depth explanation of everything that you need to know. At the end of each section Darrell Young gives his recommendations for the best settings.

When the book arrived, I sat down and started reading it with the D7000 to hand. It took me about a week to read the book and I now think I've got a pretty clear idea as to how to set up and use the camera for my style of photography.

The book itself is 479 pages and is printed on good quality paper with excellent photographs of the all the settings and of every menu. One of the things I liked about the book was that he did not pad it out with loads of basic things such as how to remove a lens or charge up the battery. The book assumes the D7000 is not your first DSLR. If it is, however, he gives a link to the publisher's website from where you can access and download 10 different pdf files which provide a wealth of additional information. For example, there is a fifteen page file entitled "Understanding Depth of Field, Aperture and Shutter Speed"

I was very impressed with this book and it is certainly the best camera guide that I've read to date. Highly recommended regardless of the level of your experience with other cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well reccomended, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
A very well produced and wide ranging manual style book that includes just about everything a new owner of the Nikon D7000 might need to know. Over twelve chapters it covers every aspect of the cameras operation and then explains in some detail how each relevant control and function can be adjusted, the effect these adjustments have, and what that means for the final image. Even though the book has to cover an awful lot of material (the D7000 is a complex camera ) the liberal use of photos and notes makes it easy to follow, and the excellent table of contents and detailed index makes it simple to find stuff.

For those (like myself) who have just upgraded from a D90 its pretty much the perfect way to get to grips with this top end camera, although I suspect newcomers to the DSLR game might find it a little overwhelming. Its also worth noting that in a couple of places (interval timer, Auto focus modes) you have to work quite hard to understand exactly what the author means, but other than that it does what it intends to do and is fully worth its four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agree with the aforementioned reviews, 26 Jun 2012
By 
P. Whelan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
I was impressed with this lavishly illustrated, well written book. I can only say that the five star reviews reflect my own opinion.
:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a must buy., 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
At last an easy to follow and intuitive book that's not only related to the actual camera in focus but very hard to put down. The author keeps the readers attention and provides quick and easy tips / solution to the d7000's many settings.

Buy it, read it, mark it and put it in your camera bag for quick reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
Excellent in every respect. This book covers in detail the hundreds of settings that enables each user to personalise the camera to acheive the best results. Each setting is discussed in detail and explained in an 'easy to understand' way. Where there are several options, Darell explains which one he recommends and why. The D7000 Nikon manual covers each setting but does not explain all the practical issues that someone 'new' to Nikon cameras can easily choose which one to go for.

There are also lots of photographs that help and guide you through the process and lots of additional down-loadable resouces from the publisher's website. Well worth the investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering D7000 Manual, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Nikon D7000 (Paperback)
This book is excellent. I am not a DSLR expert and have just upgraded to the D7000 and this book is written to allow anyone to get the most from their camera. It is easy to read and provides a wealth of recommendations for settings and more importantly what the settings mena and do. Would definately recommend this to anyone, beginner or expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering the Nikon D7000
Mastering the Nikon D7000 by Darrell Young (Paperback - 20 Aug 2011)
15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews