Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book.
I actually own a G3 so was a little wary of purchasing this book which is specific to the G2. However with this being my first 'serious' camera and Panasonic's manual for the camera being about as confusing as it can be, yes it covers the actual functions of the camera but gives no idea of what, when or where any particular function may be used to best effect...
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by Digger

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for kindle?
The content of this Kindle book is fine and it helped me get to grips with my new Panasonic G3 camera(the G2 is near enough for me to get the benefit.

However I have to say I won't be buying sush a book again. This book was really a camera manual. As such it needs quick access to just about anything. As far as I'm concerned Kindle books are not the best way of...
Published on 28 Oct. 2012 by ll


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book., 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
I actually own a G3 so was a little wary of purchasing this book which is specific to the G2. However with this being my first 'serious' camera and Panasonic's manual for the camera being about as confusing as it can be, yes it covers the actual functions of the camera but gives no idea of what, when or where any particular function may be used to best effect.

This book does exactly that in plain, simple language which at times is actually amusing but direct to the point. For example when explaining auto focus the authors compare it to the human eye which also auto focuses but the human knows what it wants to focus on 'the mountains in the background or your friends in the foreground?'....'the camera has no friends'. The authors also explain that the camera has a plethora of settings (tell me about it) but in reality the majority will never be needed unless one specialises in a particular type of photography. All are explained clearly should you need them but advice is given which to have switched on and which to have switched off for general use. Brilliant.

As I said at the beginning I own a G3 so some of the buttons are not where described by the book but with a little thought it is easy to work out what the author is describing. The G3 also has a few extra facilities, i.e. pinpoint focusing but as this book describes the three other options of focus common to both cameras it's child's play to work out what the extra focus does.

If you own a Panasonic G2 or G3 series camera this book is a must have. Forget the manual use the book. It's much easier.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lumix G-2 Guide., 16 May 2011
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
Absolutely superb. Covers virtually every aspect of this very comprehensively specified camera. Clear illustrations & printed on high quality gloss paper.I wish that all guides were this good & this makes the supplied with camera information appear very second rate. Go ahead & buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on..., 30 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
This book surpassed all my expectations regarding my new Lumix G2 system. The level of detail is superb, but also includes beginners tips for those wanting to get the most from a point and shoot perspective.

It is logically laid out and will offer anyone who owns this excellent piece of kit new insights into how to improve their results

Thoroughly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the missing guide for the G2, 21 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
This is without doubt one of the best guides I have used, it doesn't assume you know about the camera but it isn't condescending either, the level is pitched directly at the amateur user but is good for the more experienced user to fine tune their knpwledge and has good user relevant tips, absolutely the best for anyone who wants to get tbe best out of the Lumix DMC G2 I would highly rcommend this book for any level of user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and inspiring guide to the Lumix G2, 30 Oct. 2011
By 
J. A. R. Willis (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
I started by dipping into this and then read it from cover to cover. Because it is pitched to cover all levels of experience it sometimes seems a little slow and wordy, but in the end it seems a good compromise. I particularly appreciated the paragraphs at the end of many sections when, after all the description of esoteric options, the authors tell us which of the settings they actually use themselves, and which they don't bother with.

The structure is clear, starting with a chapter for beginners, using the automatic settings, then moving on to take more control as you gain familiarity. It is extremely well illustrated with numerous high quality, colour images of the camera's display screen.

One disappointment is that an incorrect URL is given for the supplementary online material - which includes a comprehensive index of options and menu structure (much needed with a camera of this complexity). I have now edited this review to include the correct URL which has been immediately provided by the author in response to my original posting. So this is the correct web address: [...] What a difference that final '/' makes!)

My bottom line is that as a result of using this guide I am using the beautiful little camera with vastly more enthusiasm and understanding, and yes, I am getting much better pictures. An example? : OK - I am getting beautiful, high definition deep-focus flower shots by setting ASO 100 and a small aperture through the aperture priority (A) mode.

Recommended++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most useful resource I have found for my G3, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
After receiving a Panasonic Lumix DMC-G3 as a gift a year ago, I had been struggling with operating it beyond the iA mode. As a photography beginner, the camera manual was not intuitive and sometimes raised more questions than it answered. Although this book is written for the G2, it is perfectly satisfactory for the similar G3. The layout and style of the book is perfect and the authors have catered for everyone from beginners to those who wish to operate the camera completely manually. Since ordering this book, I have made a lot of progress with my understanding of the camera and of photography, and this process has been made enjoyable by the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lumix DMC-G2 - a Guide, 23 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
I am a very novice, self taught hobby photographer and bought this book to bridge the gap between the straight forward instruction manual and a 'how to' book. I actually own a Lumic G3 but figured that the structure of menus would be pretty similar (which for the most part, they are). This is not a 'how to take better photos' book but will show you how to get the most out of your camera. The explainations of every function and setting are covered and well explained. Also included is how to connect your G series to a telescope or microscope which adds a whole new realm of possibilties. If you have one of these cameras, I would thoroughly recommend it. If you have a different camera, I would still say it's worth a read for the explaination of functions, although you would have to find your own way through your cameras menus. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unofficial...should have been the official, 15 May 2011
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
Bought this book to fully understand what I could do with my Panasonic G2. brilliantly written and simplified even for the most technologically challenged. The best part it also gives third party recommendations for additional lenses to try on and also on how to couple with a telescope to take stunning pictures of night sky etc. Would definitely recommend for all panasonic G2 users/owners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also very useful for GF2, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
Ordered this after reading review saying useful for G3. Much, much better than Panasonic Manual. I have GF2 model and virtually everything in the book applies to this model.
Learnt lots and lots, particularly useful are the legacy lenses information and the best options to use. I have old Olympus lenses which can be used with correct adaptors, saving money. The drill down menu descriptions were very useful as you can use the book in one hand and the camera in the other to get to the menu/facility you want. Can definitely recommend this book as a read from cover to cover one, plus keep for future reference. Free delivery in 3 days, outstanding service as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good manual, Author an experienced user. 100%, 12 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide (Paperback)
Having used Panasonic Cameras for some time with much satisfaction. The only item required was a suitable user manual. At present using the DMC-G2 I decided to get "The Unofficial Quintessential Guide", as an aid.
After reading, learning, and discovering several options I had missed previously, I can say that if you own or use one of these Cameras, then this Book is a 100% must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide
The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide by Carol F. Roullard (Paperback - 25 Feb. 2011)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews