Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to using VueScan
I have used VueScan as my main scanning software for a number of different scanners over the course of several years and have nothing but praise for the application.

The only problem I have ever found using VueScan has been the difficulty in fully understanding some of its complexities as many of the settings are quite different to those found in other imaging...
Published on 18 Mar. 2012 by EricG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Images in Kindle Versions
I was interested in this book in Kindle version as it is a lot cheaper than the paper version but was a bit wary as no-one else had mentioned how well it works as a kindle book. I have two devices, a Nexus 10 (Android 10 inch tablet) and a Kindle Keyboard.

Nexus 10. Yes you do get nice colour images which at first appear far too small on the screen. If you...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to using VueScan, 18 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
I have used VueScan as my main scanning software for a number of different scanners over the course of several years and have nothing but praise for the application.

The only problem I have ever found using VueScan has been the difficulty in fully understanding some of its complexities as many of the settings are quite different to those found in other imaging and scanning applications.

This useful "Bible" certainly helps enormously and will be my permanent reference to this excellent application. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New life in old technology, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
D. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
Great book to complement great software that extends the life of otherwise great hardware made virtually obsolete by the manufacturer's refusal to update drivers from Win98 and WinXP to Win7. Mr. Hamrick's software is actually better than the OEM's. Thank you Mr. Steinhoff; thank you Mr. Hamrick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vuescan the mysteries unravelled:, 16 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
I am not the worlds expert in matters relating to technology, and so was quite pleased when this book launched, having taken my time to read it through I now feel far more confident in downloading the software to allow me to begin the mammoth task of digitising a lifetimes collection of negatives and tranparencies, some dating back to 1965. I have read on many occasions that Vuescan is the must have software for compatibility with the majority of scanners, and I only hope that the software lives up to my expectations, the book certainly gives me the added confidence to take the scanning bull by the horns so to speak, and it makes for more confidence to have a step by step guide easily available when dipping ones toe into the water that is photographic scanning for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The essential companion to VueScan, but not as comprehensive as you might wish, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
VueScan is an odd piece of software - it works with just about every scanner, takes full advantage of each scanner's facilities, and is constantly being improved. But ... its help system and online manual is most kindly described as "minimalist".

As others have said, "The VueScan Bible" is the manual that should have but did not come with the software. The book author has had assistance from the VueScan author, Ed Hamrick, and provides a much more detailed description of the various functions as well as advice on how to use them.

However, "The VueScan Bible" is not entirely up-to-date, not least because the Hamricks are constantly changing the program, especially in respect of some of the more esoteric functions. Generally, the further you move beyond relatively routine scanning tasks - the point at which detailed explanations begin to become more valuable - the less information it provides.

More positively, Steinhoff is not afraid to take a slightly critical line and admit that VueScan has its deficiencies, or to recommend that you use a different application for some tasks. For example, he suggests that black-and-white prints should be scanned in full colour and then processed in Photoshop, which was exactly the conclusion I had reached myself through experimentation, before receiving the book.

In summary, recommended to all VueScan users, but don't set your expectations too high!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you got Vuescan get this book, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
This is a great book if you use Vuescan software, as Vuescan is great software for using old scanners on the latest windows OS like windows 7 ect.I us this software on my epson V750 pro and it works just as well on my old epson perfection 610.
This book is like a bible as it covers all aspects of scanning and really does show you how to get the very best results out of your scanners when using this software, full marks to Sascha Steinhoff for producing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make the most of the world's best scanning software, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
David Slater (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
Vuescan is a brilliant program. I have been using it since 2000. With each new version of windows or Mac OS trusted and expensive peripherals like scanners are suddenly junk until you discover Vuescan which supports just about every scanner on the market. The Hamrick's turn out a new version regularly and their email based support is brilliant. Buy the professional version and you can look up their database on line for your serial number to reinstall when you upgrade your machine. It even unexpectedly finds networked multifunction printers to use the scanning element. One licence allows you to use the software on Windows, Mac or Linux The software does have a different interface to most scanner manufacturers simple but deceptively deep in functions that only appear when you need them. That's where this book helps enabling you to find all the hidden elements. It's also very strong on defining efficient work flow patterns for different tasks,crucial when you have volumes of materials to scan. So buy Vuescan plus this book and you will have a brilliant scanning solution that won't go out of date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have to work properly with VueScan, 13 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning (Paperback)
If you have a scanner and use VueScan to work, well this book is really a must have. It explains carefully all those strange functions which are present in the software and gives plenty of good suggestion. I found the workflow examples very useful as well. I don't rate it 5 star only because the part covering the color management in my opinion is very poor and there is some confusion about terms like gamut, color spaces and device dependent/independent color space. That part of the book need a deep review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Images in Kindle Versions, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was interested in this book in Kindle version as it is a lot cheaper than the paper version but was a bit wary as no-one else had mentioned how well it works as a kindle book. I have two devices, a Nexus 10 (Android 10 inch tablet) and a Kindle Keyboard.

Nexus 10. Yes you do get nice colour images which at first appear far too small on the screen. If you pinch or try to zoom the text changes size but the images stay far too small. You can, however, double tap on the image and it gets blown up to full screen. Most of the images are ok when blown up but there appears to be some variability in the quality of the images. If you use the "click to look inside" on the amazon web site, kindle version, and look at the image just under "Try before you buy" within the book you can see the quality of the image. I think this is the poorest, most unusable, with the rest being like the one in the "Advanced / More Full display of all options" section which are passable.

Kindle keyboard. Images do come through but obviously in black and white. If you use the cursor to move up onto the image you get a little magnifying glass and a single press on the ok button (the big square one) enlarges the image to fit to screen. Often the text is not quite readable. A second press of the ok button allows you to select 150%, 200%, 300% and actual size. At 150% the images were bigger than the screen, just, but were readable. On the kindle it is a bit more awkward than on the 10" tablet but still readable. Presumably later versions of kindle will do the same and possible give you better contrast.

So my 3 stars is only based on the usability of this as a kindle book with respect of the images. It is ok but not perfect. As you will probably be using the book in conjunction with the software itself, it is not a show stopper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what is needed, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded the Kindle version and although I have not read it cover to cover yet I contains a wealth of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 4 Aug. 2013
It is a good general guide for VueScan but It is more like a user manual. I was expecting more tips and in depth techniques about using Vuescan for instance the scanning distance between the holder and the scanner etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning
The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning by Sascha Steinhoff (Paperback - 3 July 2011)
£23.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews