Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars12
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2012
If you're even here, looking at this review then well done. The title will scare away most God-fearing people, but you, you are one of the few brave and charming individuals who chose to embrace such an abrasive title and check the book out, give it a chance, I commend you on your efforts and choices thus far. Please, continue and purchase the book, you will not regret it.

You obviously expect weird, twisted, demonic, savage, abusive, and disgusting things to occur, and they do. Perhaps you expect some poignancy, some deep sentimentality and hope, well, there's that too. Perhaps you expect crappy writing? Well, there's none of that. There is the token mad doctor, but he is a "butt-goblin"*, so perhaps its not so bad.

So what has the book got to offer?

Children forced into a labour camp to make toys for the goblins. Painful, humiliating roll-calls, amazingly gross breakfasts and dinners. Strange nazi-experiments on children. Yeah, the books got plenty to offer in the department of shock and disgust. But it also has great characterisation, heroism, strong prose, a moral fibre, action, adventure and a cake floor.

Cameron Pierce is one of the best young writers around, and this book (horrendous though the actions depicted are) proves it: he can take an already absurd and gross thing like the holocaust, and turn it into something else equally/more disgusting while still retaining the sentimentality and sense of loss of innocence, and adding just a sprinkling of humour into the proceedings.

*code to bypass amazon censor
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
It is vile, detailed and goes beyond the realms of what even the most seasoned gore fans might find horrific. The way the horror of the Nazis are portrayed in this book, is nothing short of revolting, as it should be.

This has the potential to be THE most screwed up book, you will ever read in your life. I have now broken all my vital organs laughing in the process, and will go through life existing as a mushy sack of blood and meat.

An EXTREMELY strong stomach is required for this. Warped doesn't even cover it. I don't do spoilers, just pick it up and read it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
If you want to spend days thinking, did I really read that or was it a bizarre nightmare then this is for you, at no point do you know what is going to happen next, this is a good thing :-)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Brilliantly funny and crude. My husband and I love reading it out loud to each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
So weird. Very short, more about the bizarre and silly factor than the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
good satirical​ piece easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
Imagine a "Goosebumps" book written by someone who has just experienced a horrible fever dream in which the Holocaust was re-enacted by perverted Muppets. It's a short (under 90 pages), quick read, full of weird imagery and creatures that'll stick in your mind and possibly haunt your dreams (The "Semen Worms" made me cringe...). My only real criticism is that I found it difficult to get a good mental picture of the main characters- It's easy to lose track of how many limbs they lost and warty orifices they gained over the course of the story. It's pretty cheap, so there's no excuse not to buy it, especially if you're after something different. And that cover illustration is gorgeous!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Definitely one of my favourite books now. This book, although it's weird, made me laugh, cry, cheer and shout. This book is without a doubt one of the best books you can buy. It's not too long, it's not too short and it has a twist and turn on every page, that'll leave you on the edge of your seat. Ass Goblins of Auschwitz is a book that I would recommend to everyone who is looking for a short story. The title may seem weird, and the cover shows a gigantic ass with eyes coming out of its torso, this book is flawless.

Get this book by any means necessary; it's a keeper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
Obviously, nobody is going to buy this for the literary skill of the author - it's just a hilarious sounding book with a funny picture on the front. However, I did expect it to at least be coherent, something which I realised it would not be from the very first page, complete as it was with spelling and grammar errors and written in what seems to be 16 point type. I don't know if the 'bizarro' genre is all like this, or if there are some authors who actually bother to write articulate, vaguely interesting or consequential stories into the mix of ridiculousness and repulsiveness for repulsiveness' sake (something which I am not at all against, as long as there's a basic enough storyline to actually make the read interesting).

I bought two of these, one for a similar-minded (read: slightly perverted) friend and one for myself, but after reading it I did not even give it to him, despite it looking and sounding like the perfect book for him; the complete lack of talent in the writing of it made it a chore for me to read, and no matter how hilarious looking or sounding the book is, and no matter how funny I find over-the-top repulsion, I would advise anyone to not buy this (and perhaps instead to buy a Chuck Palahniuk book (I cannot recommend 'Haunted' enough in this case).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
Thought i would dip my toe into the gore book pool to see if i was missing anything by not reading this type of work.And i am afraid too say it was the biggest load of rubbish i have ever tried to read, The story or attempted story seemed to be made up as it went along which was at least 90 pages too long. The review i read before purchasing the book said it was "side splitting with laughter.The only good thing that came from the book was that it made a nice fire.Never again !!!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.59
£7.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.