Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Iranian cooking
The only fault I can find with this book is that none of the adverts for it on Amazon tell you that it is intended for the US market, so the section on suppliers is irrelevant to UK cooks.The section on measurement is, however, very clear.The section on ingredients is quite good but is vague on alternatives for the rarer ingredients and makes no allowances for the use of...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by Border Reiver

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Garlick overload
I brought this book hoping to learn some tasty dishes to make for my Iranian husband. I guess there will always be different variations of dishes but according to my husband and sister in law - both of whom are great cooks - many of these recipes have garlick as an extra and unnecesary ingredient. So although the book has a good range of recipes and lovely photos if you...
Published on 11 July 2011 by Pinkblue21


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Iranian cooking, 22 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine (Paperback)
The only fault I can find with this book is that none of the adverts for it on Amazon tell you that it is intended for the US market, so the section on suppliers is irrelevant to UK cooks.The section on measurement is, however, very clear.The section on ingredients is quite good but is vague on alternatives for the rarer ingredients and makes no allowances for the use of pomegranate molasses.
The book is attractive, well printed, easy to read and clearly laid out, very much in the DK style. One curios omission is that there is no section for either breads or baking although a couple of cake and biscuit recipes appear in the deserts section.
This sets out to be an introduction to Iranian cookery and does that well for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cookery book, 27 Oct 2009
By 
F. Zarkesh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine (Paperback)
I am Iranian and I can tell you that this book contains the most popular Iranian recipes and it is well written and, to my mind, correct. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Garlick overload, 11 July 2011
This review is from: A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine (Paperback)
I brought this book hoping to learn some tasty dishes to make for my Iranian husband. I guess there will always be different variations of dishes but according to my husband and sister in law - both of whom are great cooks - many of these recipes have garlick as an extra and unnecesary ingredient. So although the book has a good range of recipes and lovely photos if you are cooking for Iranian friends they might not agree with the author's tastebuds. I have a sneaky suspicious the author's husband runs a garlick shop so she is trying to increase his sales by adding to every recipe :-)

I can't tell you what to buy as an alternative - I am just adapting these recipes according to the feedback of my family.....The cultural introduction is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best all-round Iranian cookery book, 16 Jan 2010
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine (Paperback)
This is probably the best "all-rounder" out of the range of Iranian cookery books I have, a fine balance of the range, complexity and taste of recipes and of presentation, ease of use and cost.

There are plenty of recipes here to delight. Try the "tas kebab", a casserole with layered onions, lamb, quince (or apple), eggplant, carrots, tomatoes, potatoes, prunes, apricots and flavoured with rose petals, cinnamon, cardamom, cumin, verjuice and lime powder or sumac. Or how about the "koresh-e fesenjan", a stew with duck in a sauce of pomegranate and walnuts, and flavoured with cinnamon and saffron.

The same author has also written a more comprehensive volume, New Food of Life: Ancient Persian and Modern Iranian Cooking and Ceremonies, which I recommend if you want to splash out a bit more. I also recommend Margaret Shaida's The Legendary Cuisine of Persia, whose recipes tend to be considerably simpler than Batmanglij's but is good for information on ingredients and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine (Paperback)
I got two of her books and I love all the recipes
Very easy to follow and amazing pictures
I would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for a beginner, 13 Aug 2005
By A Customer
A very good introduction to persian cooking, even for a novice chef, the recepies are consice and easy to follow and are usually accompanied by a photo of the end result so you know how it is supposed to look like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine (Paperback)
Love the photos for each recipe - very clear to understand and follow. Look forward to trying some of the recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8b0e58)

This product

A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine
A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine by Najmieh Batmanglij (Paperback - 6 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: 25.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews