Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!
This book is full of new recipes for preserving food without canning/bottling or freezing.
It explains all the different types of preservation: Salt, Oil,Sugar, Alcohol, Vinegar, Drying, Cold Storage and Lactic Fermentation. Each is covered in a separate chapter.

All the ingredients are easily obtainable but the idea is that you are preserving in times of...
Published on 16 Feb. 2011 by Mrs. J. Shelley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but a lot of repetitive information
I bought this because I thought it would have more unusual country style recipes, but a lot of them were of the "shred vegetable, add salt" variety. The little stories attached to the recipes were often more interesting. It was a very small book and expensive for the amount of information
If you have "Nourishing Traditions" I wouldn't bother with...
Published 20 months ago by Anakei


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Shelley (UK Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
This book is full of new recipes for preserving food without canning/bottling or freezing.
It explains all the different types of preservation: Salt, Oil,Sugar, Alcohol, Vinegar, Drying, Cold Storage and Lactic Fermentation. Each is covered in a separate chapter.

All the ingredients are easily obtainable but the idea is that you are preserving in times of glut so assumes you are growing your own or willing to go out foraging.

The recipes were compiled after a request to readers of a French Organic Gardening magazine produced recipes which had never been published before. The criteria for inclusion in this book is that the preserving is done as naturally as possible, maximum flavour and nutritional value are retained, methods are tested and easy, ingredients are whole or minimally processed and locally grown or gathered and as little sugar as possible is used. Try the sugar free jams!

It's entertaining to read as the text is in the first person so you feel the personality behind the recipe and many of the contributors personal comments are there even if there sometimes aren't that many instructions. This is the joy of it - if it doesn't need many instructions you can't go wrong. I've tried quite a few of the methods, including lactic fermentation and have a cupboard full of last summer's bounty and I haven't had anything going bad yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional techniques for preserving, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
This book is not only informative but is an interesting historical read for techniques that we considered old fashion with the advent of refrigeration. Now that we are looking at alternative energy saving, they may well come back into use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading ~ 'old solutions' to new (upcoming) challenges, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
I think that many people looking to buy a book like this will be aware that our planet is changing. From peak oil to climate change ~ and everything inbetween ~ some of us are thinking that life is likely to be very different at some point in the future, and best we prepare for how to adjust now!

This book will not disappoint such folk as it contains a host of energy efficient (indeed, many require NO energy!) concepts & recipes, and it is all soooo simple to follow. Ingredients are, for the most, readily available in your average pantry/local store and even measurements are not that necessary for many of the ideas.

I also love the way that the contributors personalities shine through each recipe, and the little snippets of history that can be gleaned from them.

All told, this is a wonderful, useful book which I've already given away to friends living off-grid in Eastern Europe to help them store this years crops (they loved it, so I couldn't leave them without it!), so I'm off to purchase another !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US measuremens, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
Although originally French and presumably in metric this is an American book and all quantities are in US measurements. This means US pints (more often quarts) and the American "cup", a measurement that varies in weight depending on the density of the material being measured!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 11 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
I was impressed with this book. All the recipes come from people who have used their methods of preserving, and learned them from their parents, etc. The directions are clear and simple. It is an American book, but the conrtents are actually from a group of people in France, real food lovers! We have made sourkraut and put some soft cheese in ashes to keep it for three months.
A lovely book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complete yet brief, 25 May 2014
By 
B. Geeraerts (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
On the whole I found "preserving..." to meet most of my expectations. It features most of the techniques I was looking for but because they simply copied and translated the original 'recipes' sent in by readers of a French publication on ecological gardening it is occasionaly somewhat brief in its explanations.
Overall an interesting read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but a lot of repetitive information, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
I bought this because I thought it would have more unusual country style recipes, but a lot of them were of the "shred vegetable, add salt" variety. The little stories attached to the recipes were often more interesting. It was a very small book and expensive for the amount of information
If you have "Nourishing Traditions" I wouldn't bother with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars preserving food, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
haven't used it yet but it looks exactly what I need. Excellent book design also ( says husband who trained half the graphic designers in the country!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful book indeed, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
A very useful book. I live without mains electricity, so anyway to preserve food using other methods is useful to me. This book is full of good ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it arrived on time and in good condition. its a great idea and a great ..., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning: Traditional Techniques Using Salt, Oil, Sugar, Alcohol, Drying, Cold Storage, and Lactic Fermentation (Paperback)
.it arrived on time and in good condition. its a great idea and a great product. good quality and value for money.and I recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews