Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for anyone wishing to explore real Kyoto.
We (myself and my wife) visited Kyoto and used this book as our tour guide. The book is excellent with a detailed description of the various walking routes and places worth visiting. The book also offered a fairly detailed insight about the actual places themselves making it self-contained. We did not need to look at any other book or even visit the tourist information...
Published on 20 Oct 2001

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but...
If you want to spend all your time in Kyoto exploring temples and shrines then this is the book for you. The walks are well thought out and the commentary is very interesting. However, there is more to this city than torii and stone lanterns (they are fantastic though)! Use this book alongside others to give you a more rounded feel for the place. Kyoto is a very...
Published on 30 May 2007 by Griff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for anyone wishing to explore real Kyoto., 20 Oct 2001
By A Customer
We (myself and my wife) visited Kyoto and used this book as our tour guide. The book is excellent with a detailed description of the various walking routes and places worth visiting. The book also offered a fairly detailed insight about the actual places themselves making it self-contained. We did not need to look at any other book or even visit the tourist information centre. We enjoyed the sights of Kyoto usually overlooked by other guides or books e.g. the walk up to Mt. Daimonji, the visit to Ohara, the less known temples in Ohara which offer wonderful views of the valley, and many other lovely walks. We recommend this book to anyone visiting Kyoto as a must-have. We did not really agree with the author's recommendations of restaurants but attribute that to personal taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., 30 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to spend all your time in Kyoto exploring temples and shrines then this is the book for you. The walks are well thought out and the commentary is very interesting. However, there is more to this city than torii and stone lanterns (they are fantastic though)! Use this book alongside others to give you a more rounded feel for the place. Kyoto is a very interesting city, but there's more to it than ancient monuments. It's a modern lively town with some great bars, restaurants etc - and one or two oddities.

I can recommend this book, but not as your sole guidebook.

Enjoy your trip - with luck you'll fall in love with Kyoto like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exploring Kyoto, 5 May 2012
This review is of the Kindle edition. While the book is well written in the Kindle edition all maps are omitted. This effectively renders the book useless and an almost complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and useful., 30 Oct 1997
By A Customer
As a resident of Kyoto, I found this book invaluable in locating hidden spots not on most tourist maps. There is a painful lack of information in English about Kyoto, and this book takes a large step in correcting that. Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from perfect BUT the best available!, 4 Dec 2008
By 
W. K. Majad - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring Kyoto: On Foot in the Ancient Capital (Paperback)
There isn't many books about beautiful Kyoto in terms of "maps" and "streets" in "graphical layout" so this was the best option for me and after going to Japan and beautiful Kyoto I can recommend this book to anyone wanting an insight into what is on offer with great historical detail of its attractions along with that mini maps which are not too hard to read and follow, so over all this was a very good guide in terms of theoretical read up and visual look up on locations and nearby attractions, I will recommend this to anyone wanting to spend more than 2 days in Kyoto!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly edited, text heavy and antiquated, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Holger (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exploring Kyoto: On Foot in the Ancient Capital (Paperback)
Exploring Kyoto is a text heavy read that provides a lot of background information but very little in terms of a practical pocket guide.

Since there are almost no pictures in this book - and the few existing ones are small and black and white - don't expect to be inspired by visuals.

Even worse from a practical perspective: there's no graphical layout, no quick-guides and no summaries. The maps are horribly rendered and intentionally don't cover the central part of Kyoto. To make matters worse the index is missing several entries or fail to index alternative names for places which means you're very likely to toss the book in frustration.

Out of the three guide books I bought for Japan this was the worst and in general it's a poorly edited and antiquated book that reads and looks like it was printed directly from a word processor.

Search elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring Kyoto: On Foot in the Ancient Capital
Exploring Kyoto: On Foot in the Ancient Capital by Judith Clancy (Paperback - 1 April 2008)
£10.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews