Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game
Qwirkle is another of those "simple yet complex" games. All you get in the box are 108 wooden squares, a bag to hold them in and the instructions. You play with 2-4 players (more players is better) and then you have to start placing the tiles down to try and gain points which are toted up at the end. Each square is one of six shapes in one of six colours (there are 3 of...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by Richard Kelly

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple concept, good strategy, flawed design.
Purchased this for a friend. Any game which wins the Spiel De Jahres must be good, and it is. The fact that it is such a simple concept is a good thing, not a weakness. Nice that the pieces are wooden, and not cheap plastic. My only complaint, mentioned elsewhere in the reviews, is that the manufacturers have given no thought to those of us who are colour blind...
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by B. Cole


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Qwirkle Game (Toy)
Qwirkle is another of those "simple yet complex" games. All you get in the box are 108 wooden squares, a bag to hold them in and the instructions. You play with 2-4 players (more players is better) and then you have to start placing the tiles down to try and gain points which are toted up at the end. Each square is one of six shapes in one of six colours (there are 3 of each tile) and the main aim it to try and make lines that have either the same shape in each colour, or the same colour with one of each shape. Each player has 6 squares and you take it in turns to play. It sounds both uninteresting and boring, BUT it is a very tactical game - you end up making a huge crossword puzzle type shape and as the game goes on more possibilities appear. I've played it with adults, kids (from 7 upwards) and everyone has enjoyed it. The game can take quite a long time to play (the last game with 3 people took 50 minutes to complete) but it is enjoyable and you need to concentate on the board between rounds to see if you can get your pieces in.

My family (and extended family) enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all ages, 15 Jan 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the only game that ever comes out of the cupboard anymore and we've already had it for two years. The kids loved it from the age of five and adults also love it. The good thing is that kids and adults can play against eachother without the kids being overly handicapped. Buy it and you can kiss goodbye to that old Monopoly set!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good family game, 15 Sep 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
With Qwirkle you have to build rows of six squares of the same colour or shape. We bought it for our 5 year old and we all find it quite addictive. It really gets the brain cells working and is one that parents and children won't get bored with. This is one of our favourite games and definitely brings out the competitive side in our family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer delight, 21 Nov 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Qwirkle Game (Toy)
Was introduced to Qwirkle in America, it kept 3 senior citizens very amused and in fits of laughter for whoe evening. Cannot wait to share it with younger members of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game for all ages., 3 Mar 2009
By 
S. Stanley (Cramlington, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I played this game at a friend's house with a 6 year old and a 10 year old and 2 adults and we all enjoyed it. I then bought the game for myself and have played it with various adult/child combinations. The game can be a bit long for younger children but they still enjoy it. The pieces could also be used to do colour/shape matching with very young children. Qwirkle is also still fun to play without scoring which is helpful with a wide range of ages. Now if only there was a travel version.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game, 2 Jan 2011
By 
M. Dunn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Qwirkle Game (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old daughter for Christmas based on the reviews on Amazon. I was aware that on being opened it probably wouldn't have the appeal of (yet another!!) Barbie or Polly Pocket set but was hoping it's appeal would grow and I was not disappointed. On its simplest level it is game that involves matching either colours or shapes. However, there is also the strategy element of avoiding leaving a line of tiles which your opponent(s)can complete and maximise their score. Simple rules - you can have a maximum of 6 tiles in any one line. You cannot repeat a shape in a shape line and you cannot repeat a colour in a colour line. You score a point for each tile put down and if you place your tiles carefully you can maximise your points if you add to other lines. The player who completes a line of 6 tiles (a "qwirkle")gains bonus points, scoring a minimum of 12 points for completing a qwirkle. This is a quick game to learn and set up and our games have lasted about half an hour so not too lengthy. In my view there is nothing worse than a game where the rules are complicated and take ages to understand - particularly if you have a child desperate to get on with the game. A couple of run throughs and we got the hang of it. My 14 year old who is now a bit sniffy about board games and would rather play on his xbox played with us and enjoyed it as well. It is a great game that all ages can enjoy. The other point I would make is that this is a lovely, solid game. The tiles are nice chunky wood and even the box is robust. A game we will play time and time again. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qwirkle game, 9 Mar 2009
By 
J. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent game for both children and adults, a mixture of soduko, scrabble, dominoes etc. Easy to do, quick and maddening at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble for Neanderthals..., 20 Nov 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Qwirkle Game (Toy)
...was how the guy in the game store described it to me, and that's a pretty fair and accurate description! :)

Qwirkle is a fun, family game, that is simple enough to teach to children, but, like Scrabble, has the potential for either 'nice' or 'nasty' play, thus keeping things interesting for older players.
On a basic level, players will simply attempt to lay down as many pieces as they can and hope to win as many Qwirkles as possible - older/nastier players, however, will also be looking to block scoring opportunities that they themselves cannot capitalise on.

Simply put, pieces have to be played in rows/columns, where every tile in that row has ONE feature in common ie all the same colour but different shape, or the same shape but different colours (check out the picture of the game and you'll see what I mean). A Qwirkle is an extra bonus score for having a 'completed' row (there are 6 different shapes/colours, so one example of a Qwirkle would be a row of 6, differently coloured stars) - the Qwirkle bonus points are given to the player who completed the row (even if he only placed one out of the six tiles).

I have played this game with a range of people, from regular gamers thru to casual 'well there's nothing on the TV so I'll grudgingly give this a go' types, and all have enjoyed it (although it did take the introduction of the house rule whereby 'whoever scores a Qwirkle gets to take a mini-chocolate cake' to finally convert a few people lol).

The chunky, tough, tactile pieces (and the handy fabric bag that's included to chuck them in) make it ideal for taking on family holidays, or even down the pub for a quiet Sunday lunchtime pint ;)

Anyone looking for an engaging, family activity, should definitely consider grabbing a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qwirkle is great for all ages, 4 Oct 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Qwirkle Game (Toy)
Brilliant game. Great for all ages. It can be as intense or relaxing as you like. An average game can be around 1 hr between 2 people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Entertainment, 21 Aug 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic family game in which all ages can compete. This was recommended to me by a friend and I feel obliged to pass on her recommendation to a wider audience of games' lovers. My only gripe is that the wooden pieces are too heavy to take the game on holiday - I would certainly buy the travel version if it ever came on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Qwirkle Game
Qwirkle Game by Green Board Games
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews