Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sewing reference manual money can buy.
There are many books written on the subject of sewing but few as comprehensive as this one. It takes you from the very basics such as choosing your equipment and fabric right the way through to tailoring and couture tecniques and doesn't miss a thing along the way. Whether you are new to the craft of dressmaking or have been sewing for quite a while this book...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by M. Mccausland

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dated but useful
Obviously written when gels was gels, this is somewhat oldfashioned in both view and sometimes technique. However, it is also a useful reference for a new sewist and helps with learning to think about the construction of garments. It doesn't assume much prior experience and has clear diagrams.
Published on 31 May 2012 by Lulu-innit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A book not to be missed, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
I bought this on a recommendation from a friend whose skills I very much admire. It is a superb reference book and I would recommend it to anyone seriously interested in dressmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK BUT, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
This encyclopaedia of sewing is good, but I feel that Vogue could have taken more pictures to insert in the book than just doing common drawings to explain techniques. Its a good source of information which covers a very wide terrain of couture techniques and garment formation. It is thick and heavy and makes for some seriously good reading for inquisitive creatives such as myself and things you need to do are explained step by step - Lovely addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Excellent book, good price and delivered in pristine condition in good time, Great! This book is brilliant for beginners - covers all you need, great illustrations and clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
i think for anyone who knows anything about sewing would probably love this. I think every fashion student would need one of this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vogue sewing, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
I will use this book the next time I try to make a Jacket. Special hints for collars and cuffs will be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 9 Dec 2012
By 
M. Ulleland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
I love this book. Every sewer should have one of this. Full og tips and techniques, I think it is perfect to read and use for the beginner and perfect for the more advanced sewer to have as an overview of all the techniques. It is very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedic classic, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Love this book! The quality of print and the drawings are amazing. Has encyclopedic value, is inspiring and looks great on your book shelve too. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
great reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dated but useful, 31 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Obviously written when gels was gels, this is somewhat oldfashioned in both view and sometimes technique. However, it is also a useful reference for a new sewist and helps with learning to think about the construction of garments. It doesn't assume much prior experience and has clear diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Revised Vogue sewing book, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
It is a very poor revision of the orginal publication of 1980. I would recommend anyone considering buying this book to look for the earlier publication of 1980. It may be out of print, however a second hand edition might be available through eby, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated
"Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated by Editor: Crystal McDonald (Paperback - 12 Oct 2006)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews