Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the only sewing book you'll ever need
I am studying dressmaking by correspondence and I bought this book to assist me with the materials I receive from my college and I have to say it is the best investment I have made in a long time. The book is comprehensive, the pictures clear and the explanations are clear. I refer to this regularly in my studies and don't think I could live without it now!
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Book Worm

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dated but useful
Obviously written when gels was gels, this is somewhat oldfashioned in both view and sometimes technique. However, it is also a useful reference for a new sewist and helps with learning to think about the construction of garments. It doesn't assume much prior experience and has clear diagrams.
Published on 31 May 2012 by Lulu-innit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Needlewoman's Bible, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
This is the book that every sewer should have whether they are just starting out or are well into Advanced needlework. It covers everything from basic beginnings such as colour co-ordination, what different fabrics are made of, how patterns affect your body shape, onwards through sewing machines and overlockers, pattern layout and adjustments and making up a pattern. It ends with a host of couture finishing tips to give your article that extra "oomph" when you wear it. It also covers braiding, fringing, working with lace, fur and feathers, quilting, fleece and leather and suede All-in-all a mine of information on almost every subject of sewing you can think of.

The only quibble I can find is that there is no photography - it is all done by diagrams. From a personal point-of-view I find photographs easier to follow as the techniques can be seen in an actual garment and you can see how things progress as you follow the instructions. Apart from this, yes, I would thoroughly recommend you buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Deserves The Title 'VOGUE', 15 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
I cant think of enough/better words to describe the full content of this book! Most of it, have already been covered by other customers... I guess it means & helps a lot when the very same book is revised and updated! For a novice like me, I kept opening this page and that, when it comes to forgetting things...there is so much to remember when one is new (just like other things in life!) but this book does help and is now my sewing companion. Not only it gives me ideas on sewing, it also helps build my confidence and appreciating my shape more! I do not feel guilty anymore standing in front of a mirror in a fitting room and wondering why the lovely looking jackets, skirts, tops or coats just do not look right on me, though they are actually my size. The secrets are (which of course are among many more tips given!)having an accurate measurement to your own body shape/size and also the right pattern to work on that 'special' you.. which obviously, can only be achieved when you put on bit more effort into learning to make your very own clothes. So ladies, do not worry if those clothes behind the shop window do not meet your expectations, its not you, its just your unique curve which is too hot for the clothes to handle!Thanks again to all that made this book a success and must say, I love the illustrations and the colour code for the pages! Excellent VOGUE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sewers must have!, 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant one stop guide for all elements of sewing and creating your own patterns and personal style. Really easy to follow and presented in a very informative manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vogue sewing, 6 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Buy this book - it is the only book you will need on sewing. It is suitable for any level of talent and very easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sewers Bible, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
An excellent book in every way - everything one needs to know when tackling a sewing project, and easy to look up a technique if one is unsure when in the middle of constructing a garment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vogue Sewing, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Recommended to me by my sister. Gives clear guidance for aspects of sewing. Covers basic and more complex sewing tasks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vogue sewing, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
This book has all of the vogue pattern tecniques, how to alter the patterns and how to sew them, it's very helpful for any pattern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 29 Aug 2011
By 
D. Pemberton (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Great reference book with good illustrations and step by step guides. Would highly recommend to the novice and more experienced sewer looking for couture techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what you want :), 3 Sep 2010
By 
N. Henderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
This is brilliant. If you want to make your own clothes this is a great book. Talks you through mostly anything you could want to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaint store of knowledge, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated (Paperback)
Everyone interested in sewing should own a copy of this book, from novice to the more experienced sewer there is a wealth of information on garment construction and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated
"Vogue" Sewing - revised and updated by Editor: Crystal McDonald (Paperback - 12 Oct 2006)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews