Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2012
This is the book that every sewer should have whether they are just starting out or are well into Advanced needlework. It covers everything from basic beginnings such as colour co-ordination, what different fabrics are made of, how patterns affect your body shape, onwards through sewing machines and overlockers, pattern layout and adjustments and making up a pattern. It ends with a host of couture finishing tips to give your article that extra "oomph" when you wear it. It also covers braiding, fringing, working with lace, fur and feathers, quilting, fleece and leather and suede All-in-all a mine of information on almost every subject of sewing you can think of.

The only quibble I can find is that there is no photography - it is all done by diagrams. From a personal point-of-view I find photographs easier to follow as the techniques can be seen in an actual garment and you can see how things progress as you follow the instructions. Apart from this, yes, I would thoroughly recommend you buy this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
I bought this book as I wanted a 'bible' on sewing methods and constructing garments. It is just that. I have some sewing knowledge but not a great deal. this is proving to be an excellent reference when following patterns and choosing construction methods. the writing is clear and simple, and there are lots of diagrams and examples to help you. If, like me, you don't always understand the markings on patterns buy this book.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
Absolutely brilliant one stop guide for all elements of sewing and creating your own patterns and personal style. Really easy to follow and presented in a very informative manner.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2008
Buy this book - it is the only book you will need on sewing. It is suitable for any level of talent and very easy to understand.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
An excellent book in every way - everything one needs to know when tackling a sewing project, and easy to look up a technique if one is unsure when in the middle of constructing a garment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Great reference book with good illustrations and step by step guides. Would highly recommend to the novice and more experienced sewer looking for couture techniques.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Brilliant book. So much to learn here whatever your level of skill. Well set out in logical chapters so it's easy to find what you're looking for. As much a reference book as a nice book to dip in and out of. Well written and informative, it's great for reading up or refreshing the memory before undertaking a new or unfamiliar skill. Covers foundations of home sewing as well as couture skills. Recommended to all sewers who wish to make any type of clothing. Eleven out of ten!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This book has all of the vogue pattern tecniques, how to alter the patterns and how to sew them, it's very helpful for any pattern
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
This encyclopaedia of sewing is good, but I feel that Vogue could have taken more pictures to insert in the book than just doing common drawings to explain techniques. Its a good source of information which covers a very wide terrain of couture techniques and garment formation. It is thick and heavy and makes for some seriously good reading for inquisitive creatives such as myself and things you need to do are explained step by step - Lovely addition to my library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Recommended to me by my sister. Gives clear guidance for aspects of sewing. Covers basic and more complex sewing tasks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)