Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book anyone wanting to learn about sound recording could ever want.
I'm a lecturer and film making with some 25 years experience in the industry. In the early days I was a dubbing editor, laying track using 16mm film sep mag tracks. Over the years I wanted to learn more about the sound side of things and simply was not able to find anything substantial. That is until now.

As I am teaching a unit in Audi Production I wanted to...
Published on 11 Nov. 2008 by G. J. Kingsnorth

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are a filmmaker and want to learn about sound, start here.
Firstly the criticisms:

Not that this matters but the pictures and graphics are all black and white. Makes it look like a facelifted old book.

The equipment list only goes thus far and could be expanded upon. (to Aaton for instance)

The chapter about designing your own studio should be in a different book.

The chapters on Foley...
Published on 9 Jan. 2010 by Alastair Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book anyone wanting to learn about sound recording could ever want., 11 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
I'm a lecturer and film making with some 25 years experience in the industry. In the early days I was a dubbing editor, laying track using 16mm film sep mag tracks. Over the years I wanted to learn more about the sound side of things and simply was not able to find anything substantial. That is until now.

As I am teaching a unit in Audi Production I wanted to have something substantial to back up my limited knowledge of Audio Theory. This book is it. Yes it says 'The Sound Effects Bible' and this is literally what it is, a manual for all things audio. It covers everything from the science of sound, the quality of audio you get from different microphones, assessories, recording devices, building a recording studio and post-production. A section I really enjoyed was 'The Ten Sound Editing Commandments'. It is obvious the depth of knowledge and wealth of experience the author has in a craft he really enjoys.

The chapters are easy to read and treat the reader as an intelligent human being. The diagrams are informative and specific to the task being discussed. I will be recommending the college to get their own copy and only regret I did not have this book three years ago when I was making my own feature film. Well I have it now and see the book as much a tool as my Final Cut Pro, Marantz recorder and Sennheisser microphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love audio? love this book!, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
This is a fantastic read and is clearly a must for any one that has any budding interest in audio/ sound design. The name sound effects bible is slightly misleading as it is not just a book on sound effects (although there is a large portion to do with this subject) it does touch base on a lot of topics such as hardware and software that is used professionally.

I highly recommend this book as its relatively inexpensive, compelling to read and is going to be my 'go to' book for resources in the future - so why not let it be yours too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honestly the best book on the subject!, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
Full on interesting stuff! Great for both beginners and more experienced engineers! I wish id of got this book a few years ago!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend you get this book, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
This is the first non-fiction book I just sat down and read cover-to-cover. The author's style is honest and engaging - he meets you eye-to-eye rather than taking an aloof position. The book covers the basics of sound theory as well as guiding you through the creation of a plethora of sound effects. Anyone that knows everything in this book will be well established in the sound effects business. For everyone else, I recommend you get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really great, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
this is a must read for anyone interested in sfx and fancies a bit of geeking out on the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful resource for sound designers anywhere!, 23 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
Drawing examples from film but with an eye firmly on the future of multi-media, this book shows you how to record and build sound effects from scratch. Even if you don't intend to make this your career, if you make sound effects for theatre or video you'll find this book very useful, from choosing your equipment to editing your final output. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done!, 18 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
Rich of useful information about the world of sound fx, really helpful for beginners, advantageous for experts. Simple and essential to read, is the go-to resource for anyone interested in the creation and manipulation of foleys in a professional way. Absolutely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
Nice tips and tricks into foley and fx recording. Easy to read book, practical and handy to newcomers! This is the perfect starter book for sound design and foley fx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect book for anyone interested in sound effects, a lot of great information! Definitely worth the money I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the sound designer, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects (Paperback)
got some nifty little tips in here. if you're creating your own sound library for sound effects then this will help you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound Effects Bible: How to Create and Record Hollywood Style Sound Effects
£14.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews