Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I bought this as a Christmas present for my son who is a big Apple/Steve Jobs fan. He had already read Steve Jobs recent biography (which he also enjoyed) and so I wasn't sure how interesting/informative he would find this book. I needn't have worried! He loved it. A definite 'must' for any Apple/Steve Jobs fan!
Published on 17 Jan. 2012 by C. Dul

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you might expect
This smells of being a hastily put together cut and paste job.

I had come across most of the quotes before. If you have read any of the more detailed biographies of Jobs you won't find much new here.

Possibly worthwhile as a very basic starting point if you want something to dip into but don't fancy reading a full biography.
Published on 28 Dec. 2011 by S Hogg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you might expect, 28 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This smells of being a hastily put together cut and paste job.

I had come across most of the quotes before. If you have read any of the more detailed biographies of Jobs you won't find much new here.

Possibly worthwhile as a very basic starting point if you want something to dip into but don't fancy reading a full biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what i was expecting, 14 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I probably didn't read the description too well before I bought this, but I was expecting a biography of some kind. It's actually a collection of quotes and bullet points in history around Steve Jobs and Apple. Interesting but not really a "good read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insubstantial & overpriced, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: I, Steve: Steve Jobs in His Own Words (Paperback)
Many quotes mentioned here are already well documented, not much new here. Also, although it is 160 pages, many pages are just references or url's where he got the quotes from, so for the price, it is not good value. Also there is a Jobs timeline that wastes many pages, that you could get from Google news or Wikipedia. There was not much effort to collating some quotes & creating this book & it seems the author is just trying to cash in on Steve's death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cut and paste, 5 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a bunch of clippings, waste of money. You could find as much and more interesting info on Wikipedia And that's free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
C. Dul (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my son who is a big Apple/Steve Jobs fan. He had already read Steve Jobs recent biography (which he also enjoyed) and so I wasn't sure how interesting/informative he would find this book. I needn't have worried! He loved it. A definite 'must' for any Apple/Steve Jobs fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very bity piece of work., 13 Jan. 2012
this item is done on just selected disjointed pieces taken verbatim from JOBS spoken or writen items. Though his words do make sense on his opions of the work force of to-day it seems the author of this piece rushed to get it into publication and it seemed that he repeated many of the sections. I enjoyed the jist of all pages but it did become slightly boring after a while and thus i have laid it down to maybe rejoin the book at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A handy collection of "Steve-isms", 11 Oct. 2012
Nothing new here but still a handy collection of "Steve-isms" from across the years, and a quick timeline of Steve/Apple. Could do with a little more editing, and some of the citations are incorrect. For example, on page 45, it's unlikely Steve would be talking about "Internet Theft and Motivation" in Rolling Stone, 16 June 1994!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars :), 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read for those whom are interested in his ideas and work!

Worth a try if you like autobiography's. :)

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Steve - what a con !!, 4 Jan. 2012
I received this book as a Christmas present and settled down to enjoy Steve Jobs lifestory. No such luck, it is just a string of quotes from previously published material !! A large portion of the book (28 pages) is just credits and acknowledgements. The title is very misleading - when you see something advertised as 'xyz in his own words' you expect if not an autobiography at least something which has been 'ghostwritten'! Sorry would not recommend this, rating minus 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iSalute, 21 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is easy to get hung up on the euphoria that is Steve Jobs and recently the whole Apple corporate machine. I have owned Apple products since 1991, so you will realise that I am converted - and why not. Don't get rid of the stuff that you love and is a pleasure to use. If you do not use Apple products, I am sorry that you may feel in the minority. Make the change before you miss out all together. I have many of the books written about Steve Jobs and the foundling company. The book ,I Steve - in his own words, is a reminder just how enthusiastic one man could be about the products that he knew others would want to own and use to enrich their lives. It is a book to dip in to, but there is probably a saying or soundbite that relates to something in your life or business. The potted history of milestone events at the back of the book is a timely reminder that the company has been around for 35 years. Long may it keep inspiring us to do more with their great technology which is becoming an expression of a person's lifestyle.I, Steve: Steve Jobs in His Own Words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Steve: Steve Jobs in His Own Words
I, Steve: Steve Jobs in His Own Words by George Beahm (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews