Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
My review-in-three-words is: great. Get it.
Hibernate and Object/Relational Mapping are very complex subjects, yet Christian Bauer and Gavin King with this book are able to explain them in a so easy and clear way. The first five chapter in particular are really well-written, so that you can start using Hibernate in no time. With chapter six the complexity raises, but...
Published on 18 Jan 2005 by Filippo Diotalevi

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
Not knowing anything about hibernate when I bought this book, I had no idea that the xml file configuration methods explained here have now been outdated in favour of using inline Annotations.
Most of the concepts introduced are still fine, but if you want to learn the coding as well as the concepts, look for a more modern book.
Published 10 days ago by Andrew Davie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Jan 2005
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
My review-in-three-words is: great. Get it.
Hibernate and Object/Relational Mapping are very complex subjects, yet Christian Bauer and Gavin King with this book are able to explain them in a so easy and clear way. The first five chapter in particular are really well-written, so that you can start using Hibernate in no time. With chapter six the complexity raises, but it is unavoidable since they start talking about complex mappings and query optimizations.
My personal suggestion to the reader is: at first, read the first five chapters; then, start writing your application with Hibernate; use the other chapters as a reference when you experience some problems while mapping complex class associations, or if you want to refactor/optimize your code.
I really appreciate the fact that the authors put a great effort in explaining not only the tool itself, but also the underlying concepts of ORM and database in general. So, even if you have only a basic knowledge of database, you will be able to understand the book.
Two others goodies: chapter 9 has some great sections explaining who to write code using tools like Middlegen and XDoclet; on Appendix B you can find a nice description of "ORM implementation strategies".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book..., 24 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
I read this book when I was in quite a hurry to apply hibernate. I basically read it in all kinds of ways like one chapter at a time and also jumping from section to section in almost random order. What I found was that the book is very clearly written (the authors clearly explain the concepts behind hibernate). Also, the book is useful both for reading front to cover but also extremely useful as a reference. Very well structured and readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, 7 April 2014
By 
Andrew Davie "AndrewDavie" (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
Not knowing anything about hibernate when I bought this book, I had no idea that the xml file configuration methods explained here have now been outdated in favour of using inline Annotations.
Most of the concepts introduced are still fine, but if you want to learn the coding as well as the concepts, look for a more modern book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not exciting - but indispensable!, 14 Jan 2011
By 
R. Spencer (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
I've been spoilt the last few months with some extremely readable (relatively speaking, of course!) programming textbooks. This book on the other hand is soundly rather than excitingly written. It covers the source material thoroughly and clearly, and has improved my knowledge not only of Hibernate but also more general issues of database and software design.
An excellent purchase if you are a developer wanting to know more about persistence strategies in general and Hibernate in particular, but probably not the one for your beach holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way too basic, 21 Dec 2007
By 
FJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
I have to disagree with all other reviews on this book so far. We have two copies in our office, and while I was new to Hibernate, they provided valuable information. However, the examples are overly simple, and as soon as you want to go into any detail, you are out of luck with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Book, 26 Dec 2006
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
We're using NHibernate on the project i'm working on and this book has been a big help in letting me understand both the theory and the usage of NHibernate.

I should also say that if your going to use NHibernate you'll need a book like this as the quality of the NHibernate documentation and error messages is appalling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Hibernate, 17 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping (Paperback)
This is the best book on hibernate. Covers all the fundamental concepts required to get you started and then covers the hibernate's features in detail. If you are working on hibernate, buy this book. It is worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafd9b84c)

This product

Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping
Hibernate in Action: Practical Object/Relational Mapping by Gavin King (Paperback - 1 Aug 2004)
28.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews